Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

NeonDX

by thalesalex - Jam Entry

PLAY HERE: https://thalesalex.itch.io/neondx <3

NeonDX is a game inspired by Tetris (background music is directly inspired by the original Tetris' theme)

We are all stundents of Master JMIN at CNAM-ENJMIN - France

LEADERBORD (SCORES)

BUG LIST

- WASD doesnt work
- it lags on full screen
- memory problems

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#18Fun(Jam)4.12
#55Overall(Jam)3.98
#100Audio(Jam)3.79
#127Innovation(Jam)3.71
#217Mood(Jam)3.56
#421Graphics(Jam)3.55
#459Theme(Jam)3.45

Comments

VapeurTeam says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:46am

Nice Job!

Garazbolg says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:14am

Nice guys, I think I could get stuck playing this for way too long !

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Nice game!

remiv says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Nice addictive game. You need to be realy quick.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:01pm

Great concept! It gets a bit tricky after a while (but I didn't play in fullscreen, so I was experiencing the scrolling issues at the same time, which complicated things even more), but it has a lot of potential for getting hooked and in the zone while playing.

Awesome job!

dtap says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Really good aesthetic, gameplay is tight, took me a while to realise I could go outside the 3x3! Solid effort all round, nice job.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Tetris meets ddr. My face just melted. Wonderful. Absolutely wonderful.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Really nice entry, sort of reminded me of Lumines.
Might be nice to change the controls to act more like a 'select wheel' than direct movement for speed of control as the game heats up...?

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:38am

Really fun game and cool graphics

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:39am

Very nice graphics, and the gameplay was tight and felt good. It was a little fast past right from the start - maybe could have eased us in at a slower pace to get used to it first. But, overall a solid effort with a good hooked factor.

Lumicgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:43am

Awesome game!! Heaps of fun, I could see this being big on phones with a few changes to the controls.

ayewyn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:36am

Great game, you really have something here.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:26pm

What a great concept!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Superb. Simple idea, very well executed, and challenging without being inaccessible. Very well done.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:39pm

This is not the first Tetris inspired game I see for this LD, but this one is very neat and clever, I really liked playing it ! Good entry !

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:43pm

Oh man, I was set to have a chill Lumines-style experience, and I surprised at how execution-heavy this was!

Really fun and intuitive (once you realise you can move outside the shape - I'm slow).

The music's great too - I particularly love the scoreboard theme.

Fuchter says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:58pm

+ Very polished
+ Creative Concept
+ Lots of fun
+ Online Leaderboard
+ Nice cheesy Music
- Ugly font, looks low res
+ Nice Aesthetics

Good jog guys, hope to see you next ludum dare

vootele says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:41am

Very cool idea and i personally like neon themes... looks and music give oldschool feeling. Good job!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Great game! It becomes really challenging at the end but still nice job :)

Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:45am

Great! Hard and addictive xD. Music is awesome.

VividReality says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:52am

I really enjoyed playing this game. It was a fun challenge and it worked just fine for me! Good entry!

marmpa says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:53am

Nice game. At start i thought it was difficult but i was suprised to see it was really easy and fun.Good job!

apalade says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:49am

Really enjoyable! Liked the music a lot!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:34pm

Really well done game, starts pretty easy but gets harder fast and I like that. Nice clean and polished look and the music is very nice. Congrats!

siczecheg says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:33pm

using classical elements, but very original, cool !

shapemorph says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Nice job!!!!!!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:53pm

This is great. A really creative fusion of puzzles and quick-paced gameplay.

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:27pm

pretty fun game! Very nice job

thedashdude says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:14pm

A really fun game. I have no complaints besides perhaps some more variety on the shapes.

eott says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:17pm

Nice concept, great game. :)

LimeniusTeam says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:11pm

Very well done! It is fun, and gets you hooked. Nice graphics, music... Love it.

Alphish says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:57am

That's pretty cool take on the theme. In principle, it's kind of like those shape-shift gate-crossing endless runner, but here the shapeshifting process itself is handled in an interesting way; especially when you get to play with the different switcher patterns. The later levels get too quick, though, as in, "I instantly know what pattern to make and still can't click my way to make it" way; perhaps at later levels set the minimum based on the keyboard-presses required to complete a segment? ^^'

The audiovisual side doesn't fall short, either; the graphics are pleasing, the sounds appropriate, and the soundtrack is my favourite (it indeed has that Tetris feel), I'd like to see a double-looped version of it (which totally has nothing to do with me having a program that finds loops in tracks to then play them indefinitely, nope; and I definitely don't have DDRKirby's entry soundtrack on a playlist in that program).

Overall, a really cool entry, one of the better endless-hiscore type of games I've seen this Jam. ^^

May 7, 2016 @ 5:42am

Fun concept, liked the puzzle aspect and how well the visuals worked on getting across the gameplay.

01010111 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Man! This is a really solid game! Really frantic gameplay, awesome visuals and audio as well! Great work :D

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:07am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]