Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Ninja Pet Changer Adventure

by davidkanc - Jam Entry

OBJECTIVE:
Ninja Pet Changer Adventure is a little quest where you have to escape from this weird bluest world.

HOW TO DO IT:
There are some rooms and each one contains a ninja skill but to reach it you have you use one (or more) specific skill so, there are rooms where you can't do anything if you have not the correct ninja/skill.

But there are a skill you can get without obstacles, the Running skill which is in the Yellow room (Each Ninja has a color).

You will find info zones at the entrance of the rooms with some clues.

CONTROLS:
WASD to move. Mouse to control the camera, 'Space' to perform Ninja action and 'Q'/ 'E' to swap between ninja types. 'Escape' to exit to main menu.

NINJA SKILLS:
Default (No ninja): Can highlight the especial zones (only once at time)
Rabbit (Red): Jump*
Rinno (Green): Break walls using a charge*
Tiger (Yellow): Run faster (Be careful!, sometimes is too fast)
Bull (Blue): Attack the enemies

*You can combine Rinno charge and Rabbit Jump to Perform a Super Jump. Good to reach difficult places.

TIPS:
Ninja Runner is very hard to control because is very fast so be careful in some platform zones and use highlight skill to see special blocks.

Ninja Jumper does not jump as Mario Bros, it use physics for jump, so you need some velocity to perform a good jump but some times can be too much speed. Be paused and think about you next jump.

Art, coding and design: David Escalona
Engine used: Unity 5.3


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#142Theme(Jam)3.91
#208Graphics(Jam)3.96
#252Humor(Jam)3.10
#329Innovation(Jam)3.30
#393Overall(Jam)3.39
#511Mood(Jam)3.14
#528Fun(Jam)3.13
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:34am

Soy el primero en hacer rating! yeah!

Creo que, hasta ahora, el juego que más me ha gustado de todos los que he probado en esta ludum dare... Me encanta! Enhorabuena tío!

Rey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:58am

Just wanted to say that I love the character design!

RoboOggy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:00am

very nice, i liked the style of this game, a bit confusing, but im glad you included the instructions. Kepp it up!

VapeurTeam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:30am

A bit tedious to loose your progress once you die, especially since it took me a while to even understand where to collect the first ninja. I would say navigation is made difficult because of the dominant white, though overall the concept is quite nice

davidkanc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:11am

@VapeurTeam You are right, I have to put some info indicators in the level. About to die, at least you don't lost the skills you got. Thanks for playing!

Ildfuglen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:40am

The artstyle of this game was really cool! At first, the game was confusing (I went in blind, heh) but after reading the instructions I managed. Thanks for the entry :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:44am

I like the idea. Was a bit hard to figure out at first. I wish I could do something right away first rather than have to find a ninja first.

Srednuht says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Muy chulo. Me ha encantado el diseño de personajes. ¿Los has hecho tu solo? Jugabilidad muy interesante y las mecanicas de transformación muy bien usadas 4/5 en general. Enhorabuena.

Very nice looking. I love the character design.¿Did you do this alone? Interesting gameplay and shapeshift mechanics are nicely applied. 4/5 at overall. Congratz!

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:00pm

The graphics for this game are nice, but the character moves a little to slowly, maybe speed him a up a little bit? Other than that the game seems pretty good, impressive for such a short time period!

ManuSaiz says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Very good concept but it's hard to understand at first. Maybe the Q/E keys are bugged? I can't swap between the ninjas!

davidkanc says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:45pm

@ManuSaiz I suppose you have collected the ninja skills before use it. If not you have to do it, the first avaliable skill is ninja run which is at the "yellow" room. Then you can go to "red" room to collect the jumper skill...

I have tested right now the web version and skill swaping is working properly.

Thanks!

seveca95 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Molan los modelados y las partículas, pero no he entendido muy bien como cambiar de personaje.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Nice idea and character design

DrillerDev says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Really hard, but VERY cool!

Took me a while to realize I needed to find the transformations :p

midgard says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:39pm

The game is a bit confusing at times, I hated when the yellow walls appearead after getting the running skill

Buen trabajo

Arvydas says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:12pm

This game has a lot of potential. It was a bit frustrating to loose the jumping skill after trying awhile to get it. The level itself needs more to it. It's too plain. The character designs are great! Love the sound and music as well. Good work for what you have done so far :)

muraisama says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:00am

Overall nice concept, the characters are cute and I liked the Shapeshifting idea. If the levels had a similar style like the characters it would be a perfect small game :)
But I had fun nonetheless.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]