Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Chromeshift

by diesel - Compo Entry

Your goal is to is to rotate the square so that the flying rays hit the area corresponding to the color of the square. You can do that using LEFT and RIGHT arrows. To get more points try rays boost using SPACE bar. Boost makes it all becomes more: points, shakes, rays speed, difficulty level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#410Graphics3.15
#411Humor2.33
#412Fun3.22
#499Mood2.89
#536Audio2.44
#554Innovation2.96
#578Overall3.08
#844Theme2.58

Comments

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:02am

This was a good challenging game! Wish there was moire to it! Good stuff

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:14pm

Simple concept, not sure how it's liked to shape shifting, but it's fun, addictive and can be challenging.
Didn't even dare try using Spacebar as the shape barely had time to rotate in time by default.

As a note, I'd scale down a bit the overall resolution to make default simple blobs easier, allowing for harder versions of them in between.

Otherwise, does what it says it does and does it well enough. Kudos.

JJJANEE says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:48pm

This is such a simple but cool concept! I would totally get it for a mobile app. The graphics were simple, but really soothing. I love it!

Fuchter says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:52pm

+ The concept was simple.
- The box rotation too slow.
- There wasn't too much gameplay
- Fun for a only a couple of minutes
+ Very Polished
- Not very risky game
- Repetitive
+ Nice sounds, although there weren't many
+ Nice Aesthetics

CasualCat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:57pm

I got a high score of 41. It's pretty fun! But I think you should make it to where the main object sets a target rotation instead of just rotating it 90 degrees in a span of time when I hit left or right. if you make a variable for a target and then have the input change the target, then the square will always rotate to it in Update() and then if you need to rotate it 180 super quickly, you can hit right or left arrow two times really quickly and it will rotate accordingly. Also maybe zoom the camera out a bit and make the square rotate quicker, or use Mathf.Lerp. But still its a good game, it just needs some tweaks.

mooncalf says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:17am

Liked the way it looked. I think it could be an idea that could be built upon.

zzapp says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:17am

Nice graphics and sound and a really clean look overall. The concept is simple yet challenging, I wish you could double rotate the cube a little faster though, as a color on the opposite side of you usually means death.
Nice work overall it was a fun game.

siryakko says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:19pm

I want more! so sleek and fun, some minor improvements on difficulty scale can be good.

tomdeal says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:21pm

Interesting idea, simple but compelling.

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:23pm

The slight delay in turning the cube kept making me lose. But that is user error it would seem. Great game!

Drkr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Little too hard I think, if only you made each color play a different note it could have been a lot more fun.

torcado says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:50pm

nice game! liked the design, could be more to the game though.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Neat game ! Maybe a bit difficult, and it lacked a little of audio, but nice anyway !

taviandir says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Nice design. Alright gameplay.

Would have liked more consistent rotation - sometimes it feels like it gets stuck when I try to rotate (even when i pause a little bit between strokes).

Good entry.

blackname says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:15pm

It is simple but funny, I won't use the spacebar because the square rotates too slow.

ryjcio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Very nice game! I see a harmony in this little thing. I wish I would hear some music! Maybe it would be nice if controls were more responsive.

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:16pm

Nice simple mechanics. Good Challenge.

God bless you for web game! (not exe)

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:53pm

nice game. good idea. :)
try out our game please :)
dungeon of the shapeshifter
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

plko says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:21am

Chrome logo? lol

indieyp says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:25am

Nice concept

conno1234 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Another difficult game, but another fun one! Nice work!

DrPetter says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Looks good, and the concept is pretty solid for a quick little game. I had a lot of trouble accepting the slow constant rotation speed of the box though. Most of the time I feel like it's the rotation that loses the game for me, and not my inability to select direction fast enough. Would be better if it spun much more quickly (3-4x as fast) but that you instead ramp up the rate or complexity of incoming rays to keep a good challenge.

It also felt strange that the rays are sometimes allowed to pass inside the box before they hit, kind of like it's done to compensate for the added difficulty of the rotation delay.

Gord10 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:34pm

Controls could be more responsive. I died several times, because the cube either didn't rotate or was still rotating.

tompudding says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:46pm

Very slick and well implemented, but super hard. That might be because I'm colourblind though, I found the yellow and green very difficult to distinguish

terop says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:49pm

nice idea for a game. it was pretty difficult though.

3rdChance says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:56pm

I love the minimal idea! Add some juice and it could be a great smartphone game!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fy0aCDmgnxg

leffe108 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Wished it was a bit easier at start. You could make it progress to harder, but currently it is hard already at the beginning.

One way to make it harder is to slow down the movement or make the travel distance longer so you as player get more time to plan ahead and there is room in the beginning of the game to make an erroneous movement without loosing. At least to me, rotating using arrow keys doesn't feel intuitive which one to use to turn in which direction. You could perhaps show an arc with arrows below or above the circle that illustrates in which direction the cube rotates using left and right arrow key?

The graphics was nice and clear. Audio was simple. Maybe next time try to add some music. (although if you like me isn't good at it, you can get reviewers complaining about the music not being the best part of the game :-) )

NightShadow0 says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:26am

Damn, that starts off quick and stays quick, might want to introduce a slower difficulty curve, or increase the rotation speed. I'm color-weak so i had a little difficulty with the colors, found them a bit too desaturated. Solid entry regardless.

JNI says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Really simple but nice idea! I enjoyed plaing, it wasn't to easy :D

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:40pm

ToT highest scores is 37.... really difficulty! but the space bar could help to get a high scores...always want to hit up/down buttons unconsciously!
i love this glow effect and hole tone adjustment. also it a little bit similary with my last ld game(about the mechanism,so very fantastic feeling to meet your game today)
love this solid entry with the high rhythm,i think it could exercise my limit of reaction rate, Cheers!

AinoraZ says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:48pm

The controls are a little too slow for my tastes. Very hard to do a 180 and very small gap for mistakes. Game lacks some sort of music with a beat as well. Would really improve both the audio and the mood. Other then that, the concept is great, the art seems soothing for a game this simplistic, and this could easily be implemented to touch, with a sick audio and a way to just hold down a finger and spin the block around, giving a lot more responsivnes. Idea has potential for sure.

danielilett says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:56pm

I really like the gameplay - it's simple, but it's just stripped to the bare essentials. It's a really well-executed, distilled gaming experience. Same with the graphics - simple, but nothing is wasted - none of the in-game elements or UI is irrelevant. In that sense, if you removed anything, it wouldn't be the same game. Great job! I would say to make the box spin a little faster so that you don't *only just* make it if a colour spawns that's on the opposite side on the cube, but apart from that, there are no problems (although even that one is just me nitpicking).

OnlySlightly says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Wow that was nerve wracking :) Clever simple mechanic which your simple minimalist aesthetic matched up to. I enjoyed things like the trail that followed the circles and the subtle glow of the shapes. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]