Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Shifts

by htspencer88 - Compo Entry

My first ever submission to Ludum Dare!

I had an absolute blast making this, I hope you enjoy.

WASD or movement keys to move.
Space to jump.
Shift to shift to the next shape.

Good luck!

Shape Shifts is a top down platformer where you attempt to collect fuel in order to "shift" to the next shape. All while the clock is ticking down. Each shift grants you more time but will take you to trickier places.

The next shape appears above the current shape allowing you to plan ahead.

Smart manoeuvring twinned with skilful shifting will get you very far!

Updates:

Uploaded new versions of the standalone clients that actually close when you click exit (Horray!).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Innovation3.88
#205Mood3.32
#224Overall3.50
#288Fun3.38
#422Audio2.79
#543Theme3.25
#580Graphics2.79
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:15am

Very Interesting, like the concept. Took a while to wrap my head around what's going on, still not sure about everything, but managed to work out the basics (I think). Nice atmosphere and sound. A more detailed explanation of what's going on might be helpful for others. Fantastic effort for your first entry. Congratulations.

pixlark says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:16am

Pretty fun game! It took a minute to get used to, but once I did I spent a good 10 minutes straight playing it.

jdmazz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:16am

This actually felt kind of innovative in it's minimalism. Very interesting. And I actually feel like it has a cold feeling/mood to it, as well. Good job!

htspencer88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:19am

Hey guys, thanks for the really great feedback :D

I've added some more info in the description that is otherwise on the instructions screen so its more up front and centre. Glad you like it!

Dasginger says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:42am

I think some of my confusion came from not realising that the semi transparent shapes are the next layer, until I'd died a few times. I didn't mind though, it's got a good mix of reflexes and strategy, fun game!

Karl Schmidt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:46am

Very interesting game! A tutorial would have helped, but some trial and error + instructions did the trick too :) Some notes: I think the compo requires all the audio to be original, I noticed attribution in the credits. Also the Quit button doesn't seem to work on the OSX version :) Great work, it's definitely fun!

htspencer88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:51am

Hey Karl, I used the Otomata page to procedurally generate the music based off its little cellular automata tool(check it out, its pretty neat!) for the two tracks. Is that ok do you think? I assumed it was kosher due to bfxr being allowed/encouraged.

And I shall look into the Quit button not working on mac, thank you so much for the heads up as I can't test on that platform! Glad the game itself works :D

Karl Schmidt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:18am

Oh I think that's ok then - I didn't realize that's how the sounds were made :) Glad to help with the Mac testing ?

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Better instructions in the description has helped - this is pretty fun and challenging. Really pretty too :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:27pm

In my opinion the controls could be better, because somethings I just fall because I could not control the ball, but maybe that was intentional, then ok. But nice game.

htspencer88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:01pm

Hyoga-3D: Yeah I know exactly what you mean! I was really struggling with the controls and I can totally understand how they would feel slippery.

My issue was that I wanted to ensure enough acceleration that a player could still make big jumps but not too much that they would overshoot most smaller jumps.

I combated this a little by having full air control and let you jump before shifts in order to get the placement better but its not a perfect solution.

I wish I had more time to fiddle with it but this I think struck the best balance given the time constraints. It also is something the player can get better accustomed to so I took that into account when designing the rest of the game.

Thanks for the feedback!

Headmade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Nice idea but I had a hard time getting it. It's hard to read which platform is solid and which is not. Also I didn't understand what relevance the shapes have.

I read the description twice but it didn't help much. Maybe I'm stupid or still tired from the jam but I would have appreciated a step by step introduction to the mechanics.

Still it's a very nice entry for your first time. Congrats!

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:31am

This is a cool little game. It feels very arcade-y in a lot of ways. Like a difficult system where each time you go in thinking you might make it a little bit farther.

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:11am

I liked the concept, It's quite logic but i don't like sphere as a main character :)

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

TheCams says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Really nice concept. A tutorial would have been awesome, but still managed to get it thanks to the instructions

OddballDave says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:35pm

It took me a while to get the hang of it. Nice game.

Good stuff.

Ludipe says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Nice concept, though some feedback to point out the height of the character would be cool, maybe a simple shadow so it's easier to measure jumps.

haveric says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:17pm

I had a hard time with the learning curve, and the instructions didn't help all that much. Once I figured out what I was doing I really loved the idea. The timer gives great urgency and tempo... but I wasn't sure what I was trying to accomplish. good use of simple graphics, good use of simple sound. controls felt floaty and combined with the lack of depth and height perception was frustrating. Still, lots of fun. A little work and it'd be great.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:21pm

Really cool mechanics at work here. Took a bit to get a hang of, but afterwards I really felt in tune with the game and got faster and faster at pulling off the jumps and shifts mid air. Great job!

brandann says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:29pm

Very fun game, a little too easy to run off the edge but that is OK. had a lit of fun playing, A tutorial would have helped a lot in the beginning to know that the faded platforms were the ones I was shifting to.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]