Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Cult Quest

by solkar - Jam Entry

Cult Quest
========

Find your way through the corridors and gather the power of the ancient ones.

---
[Instructions]
Press space to change shape

[Credits]
Lorena Soriano - art and music
Karlos Zafra - code

---

[ v0.1.1 ]
- improved level generation
- increase scroll speed as the game progresses

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#63Graphics(Jam)4.38
#235Audio(Jam)3.44
#354Mood(Jam)3.34
#435Theme(Jam)3.47
#616Humor(Jam)2.29
#737Overall(Jam)3.03
#861Fun(Jam)2.71
#983Innovation(Jam)2.42

Comments

brainybeard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:53pm

Interesting game man, nice smooth animations and graphics look great too. Easy to understand concept and overall a great entry!

Fumiko says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:27am

Nice little game, with amazing work put into it to create a mood. I really dig the soundtrack and art. From a gamedesign standpoint I soley would wish for a way to win your game and have something like a progress-meter. Also I think I found a visual glitch. I was playing the 720p Version of the game and was chased by a giant blue square! D: http://imgur.com/R4z3Wj0

solkar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:52am

Thanks for your comments.

@Fumiko, I'll look into that glitch. And yes I decided to sacrifice (to the ancient ones) some of the mechanics I had in mind: new obstacles, boss fights; just to showcase the artwork better.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:19am

Whoa, the art is really great! I'd prefer if the game was a little faster/harder, with less empty space, but it's already fun as it is. I'd love to see this developed further with scores, leaderboards etc.
Anyway... very nice entry, congrats!

fatsopanda says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:12am

The game looks, sounds and feels really great. It's a nice little game with potential to be developed further :)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:15am

Great graphics, if the shapeshift was controlled using more buttons will be less frustrating. :)

solkar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:23am

@MightyToastStudio: do you mean one button for each shape?

Heiky says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:29am

Amazing, and smooth game. I think it would be interesting if the speed could be increased over time. Good work.

Nesferjo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:20pm

It's interesting, but could be better if the speed was faster. After a couple of minutes it gets repetitive and needing some challenge.
The art is nice, I love the character and the masks look pretty cool! :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:16am

A good entry! I really liked the animations

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:17am

Hiya,

Graphical assets are top notch, I really liked them, but animation seemed a bit choppy. Sound was great!

Gameplay I think could have used some difficulty curve, maybe make the player run faster after a while? Gradually acquire new mask shapes? etc.

Cool entry overall, good luck!

solkar says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Thanks everyone for playing and for the valuable feedback. I've fixed a couple of problems with procedural level and now it should show some variety. Also the game speeds up a bit after some obstacles have been passed. You can find the updated version in itch.io.

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:36am

Would be nice if it got gradually more difficult. Also I wish that I could change to any shape directly (with 3 buttons for example). The art and music is nice.

Decentsauce says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:40am

Can't get past the first few obstacles. It is impossible to change that fast. (At least for me? :s) Great graphics though.

solkar says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:54am

@Sheepolution, @Decentsauce : thanks for your comments.

Post jam version has a small challenge: more obstacles variation and speed increase overtime.

I will probably drop the single control to change shape, in favour of a multibutton controls using on screen button so it will be playable with the mouse (or a tap). I knew I was not gonna be in time to implement so it was left out of jam version.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:06pm

Very simple one-button game with cool graphics and nice dynamics.

webadev says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Graphics just kick asses. Like the ambient sounds. But game lack of a various gameplay, and hard to know which is the next form. My game's gameplay look like your, had the same problems than you :)

johnasebok says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:23pm

I really liked the character design and the over styling of the game. The one button control lends this game well to a mobile port.

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:31pm

I really like the one button mechanic. I definitely got too easy once I figured out how to play though, although I see you added something to counter that in the post jam version. Nice art!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:08pm

The difficulty did not ramp up fast enough but it is a good idea and it looks very polished

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:43pm

I enjoyed the sprites!!!

DifferentName says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:09pm

I love the art, but there's not much of a game. There's way too much downtime between gates (just 3 gates and then wait), and it doesn't feel as good using a single button to cycle through the shapes as it would to use two or three buttons, or some other shapeshifting mechanic.

siryakko says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:42pm

some balance on the difficulty, but overall it's an awesome game. Great graphics! Just continue working on :)

bytegrove says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:07pm

Nice design on the character and environments! I really like your art style. Could use some more more gameplay elements to spice it up.

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:12pm

This was a neat little game. Quite a classic infinite runner take on the theme, but a well made one regardless. The graphics were really nice and reminded me of a well made cartoon show. While the music was fitting and not bad, having 8-bit sound effects really did not fit in with the general aesthetic, in my opinion. In terms of gameplay, the mechanic was easy to understand and get into and quite fun for how simple it was. However, I do have some constructive points to make about it. Number one is the smoke effect around the character's head when they switch forms. It may not seem like much but it almost ruined the game for me. I would very much like to see the head I have equipped immediately after equiping it rather than waiting a second or two for the smoke to clear up. Especially as the game gets harder and a difference of a split second can mean a tonne. You may say it's my fault for not memorizing the order of the heads, but I say the more information you give to your player, the more fair your game will feel. The game also would have gained some value with a couple more obstacles to face and such as you're running along. I do understand time limits are a thing, but keep that in mind if you feel like going further than a LD entry with this. Constructive criticism aside, I enjoyed it and it was well made for the time limit, so good job!

MalyTimi says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:38pm

We came up with similar ideas :D BTW Cool Graphic bro, can i see your other art somewhere?

Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:17am

The art in this is fantastic. Did take me a few seconds to realise my head was changing shape. Maybe if it also changed colour slightly it could help distinguish it a bit more. With more variety I can see this working really well on mobile. Nice polished entry.

mkghoster says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:14pm

pretty cool one!

knason says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Really lovely graphics, a nice looking game! Really arty and the mood is really good :) congrats on your entry.

solkar says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:01pm

It's pretty clear what the game needs at this point: more gameplay!!! I hope to be able to find the time to do it soon.

@pirate_shell you made a very good point about obfuscating the cultist head, you're completely right. In the future I will consider how to spice up the change without hiding it.

okoto says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:41pm

the current shape could be clearer , moreover this well polished , loved art

Rock Eaters says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 12:35am

nice but i always smash against the first gate...i think i dont get it... but really graphs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]