Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Geometry Shifter

by gustavopereira1 - Jam Entry

In this game you need to collect the falling geometries with yours in bottom of screen.

Commands:
A - D | Move catcher (your geometry)
Arrows (LeftArrow,UpArrow,RightArrow & DownArrow) | Shift your geometry

Developers:
Gustavo Paião
Jackson Willrich

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#24Audio(Jam)4.18
#216Theme(Jam)3.76
#216Fun(Jam)3.52
#216Overall(Jam)3.62
#266Graphics(Jam)3.83
#283Mood(Jam)3.44
#648Humor(Jam)2.23
#650Innovation(Jam)2.93

Comments

htspencer88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:26am

Catchy tunes!

Enjoyed the game flow but it got a bit repetitive after a while. Also the WebGL frame is a bit borked but thats not really your fault :P

I really liked the aesthetic, and would love to see more of it. Good job!

AlmightyTuna says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:26am

Fun and flowing, albeit repetitive gameplay. Great visuals too. Good job

norseware says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:24am

Really fun! It has reminds me of Guitar Hero, with a twist. It has nice progression in difficulty, and the controls are clean. Great work! :)

brunocoimbra says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:30pm

Great game and concept, but very unfair at high levels. I've because appeared objects at both side and I was too slow (not me, but the object) to reach the other side.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:47pm

I will let it faster(the player) ty for feedback xD

AlexLamarche says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:04pm

I made it to level 23 with a score of 4980. Great game!

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:47pm

This game is awesome! The graphics and audio is great!

Lagoe says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:53pm

I can't tell whether it was meant to be like this or it's a bug, but when i press left or right arrow 2 times, it moves.
Great game anyway.

aemiliu5 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:31am

well done mate! music and graphics are just awesome and i really enjoyed the gameplay too!

WeirdMind says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Very cool game, nice theme nice job. And also awesome music

11Schotter says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Really fun to play! Nice graphics

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:01pm

I think it was a mistake to have the arrow keys also move the catcher along with A+D. Killed me many times.

terryg says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Nice game, it's very addictive! Fits the theme well.

May 5, 2016 @ 12:29am

Its awesome, I liked so much the music and art.

TheCain says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:57am

It was fun, but the arrows underneath the shapes made it easier. Perhaps you could add a hard mode that removed the arrows. And some menu music would be cool too.
To fix the odd webGL frame, resize the ludum dare game window in page options.

nihilaleph says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:07am

Nice concept! Music and graphics are nice too! It could maybe be a rhythm game? Just an idea... Anyways great work!

Reiv says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:25am

I had fun with this game! Very addictive. The graphics and audio fits really well.

legavroche says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 5:32am

Awesome graphics and audio. Liked the ramp up in difficulty, it was a good pace

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:26am

super hot (rhythm&music) and super cool(ambient + the art)
love the glow light verymuch, music level up the main feeling!
very wonderful and fantastic entry

Catwheel says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:23am

Pretty fun submission. Idea was cool and audio was fantastic. I'm really think you could have majorly kicked it up in a notch with a cool looking background and some small camera shake and just more input feedback in general. Anyways, nice game!

yuigoto says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:29am

Love the neon-styled graphics and the overall concept, but it starts to feel repetitive after a while, though it DOES get challenging.

Controls are pretty responsive and fast! :) Good choice for a soundtrack too, really sticks in your ear after some time, it made me feel like playing an old demo. :P

Cheers! :)

curtamyth says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:42am

Pretty looking and great music! I feel like I've played 20 games like this so far in the jam so it's a little bit tiresome, but this is one of the better implemented of these types of games I've seen though so points for that!

retrograze says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 4:39am

Loved the music and the awesome glowey but simple art direction. It's just a fun game, simple as that. I would loooove to see an internet or even just a local high score board though! It sure would bump up the replayability. Great game though!

Miziziziz says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 5:24am

Good simple game, I feel like it would make a good mobile game if you could figure out controls for it

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 7:06am

Great entry! I loved the aesthetics of the shapes. At first I thought it was really simple, but then when it started to speed up, it was suuuper fun! I was impressed. The music was super fitting as well. Great job! :)

3T3A says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:57am

Nice game, i like the idea and i don't know why but it can be a very good rythmik's game. The music is very good and you can develop it.

jonnopon3000 says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Really great music, and a good difficulty curve. It was fun for a couple of plays, but expectantly got a bit stale after that. Good job!

May 7, 2016 @ 1:21am

The audio and visuals are really nice! The game itself feels simple, but really enjoyable. I could see you going further with this on a mobile platform.

StrayCat says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:35am

Control was a bit confussing (ingame instructions would be nice), with double arrow shifting and moving. The game is nice, good job!

StrayCat says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:37am

Nice job!

alyphen says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:56am

Pretty addictive and nice take on the theme.
Making the gameplay fit better to the music would be nice, although after having done audio games in jams before I know this is hard.
The music is very well done, and the game plays pretty well.
I noticed my controller vibrating but couldn't figure out the controls for changing shape on the controller.
Would be really nice to have some sort of competition, either online highscores or local multiplayer would be really cool.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]