Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Realm Shifters - Collect Orbs Edition

by mkghoster - Jam Entry

Realm Shifters - Collect Orbs Edition

Mighty, the dragon, Berserk, the Viking and Coward, the Cow are walking in the Enchanted Forest of the Autumn Elves. Three body but one shared mind. They are collecting Magical Orbs to shift to the Abyssal Realm where they can gather the Soul Orbs to fully charge all of the Ancient Runestones to open the Really Dark Purple Vortex of Darkness. You know. Because reasons.

Realm Shifters is a third-person adventure game where you can shapeshift your avatar to overcome obstacles and switch between the natural and the spectral realms. With using the optimal shape you need to collect enough blue orbs to shift to the abyss. There you have to fill up the yellow runestones' energy to open the final vortex.

How to play
1. Collect blue orbs to fill up the bar
2. Shift to the Abyssal Realm with the 'F' key
3. In the Abyssal Realm collect yellow orbs
4. Bring yellow orbs to the yellow runestones
5. Fill up all three runestone to open the Vortex

+1. Enjoy unconditional realm shifting

Controls
- Mouse: Look
- WASD: Movement
- Space: Jump
- 1, 2, 3: Avatar shapeshifting
- F: Realm Shifting when available

WebPlayer version: Windows + Firefox recommended.

Use headphones for a better experience.

Have fun! :)

-------------------------
Follow us on Twitter:
Kornel Meszaros @mkderin
Tamas Szucs @tomfurrier

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#37Graphics(Jam)4.49
#260Mood(Jam)3.48
#296Audio(Jam)3.34
#308Theme(Jam)3.64
#330Humor(Jam)2.87
#381Overall(Jam)3.40
#671Innovation(Jam)2.90
#768Fun(Jam)2.83

Comments

kariamoss says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:42pm

Wow, congratulation, your game is very beautiful !

sudorossy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:18pm

Really beautiful! The cow made me laugh!

The realm shifting looks really cool!

ketura says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Nice visuals, but the core is a bit weird. Why does the Viking exist? It's faster to get around as the cow, and the dragon obviously lets you jump high, but this guy just seems to exist to remind me why I should be in some other form.

I do enjoy that your camera work actually helps me feel larger or smaller depending on form.

Kinda laggy.

2011petia says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Nice Graphics

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:31pm

Nice game, the mood is good when shifting to the abyssal realm, very relaxing to play

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:32pm

Looks awesome! Good job.

guin36 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:35pm

The graphics are gorgeous, but unfortunately I wasn't able to play much of the game, as for some reason the controls were totally broken for me.

apalade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:39pm

The cow made me laugh. It made no sense and the proportions were completely out of whack but it was funny.

I really liked the aesthetics and the mood. Great work on the lights, fog and the rest of the visual polish. The gameplay isn't revolutionary and the theme seems more like an afterthought but the style makes up for it.

kostasvs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Graphics were gorgeous, atmosphere was great too! Didn't really see any need for the shapeshifting as I used the dragon almost exclusively, and the end was a bit anticlimactic, but the looks of the game are commendable by themselves.

Dreschler says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:39pm

What?! It's so unfair haha look at those graphics! Congratulations :D

unit684 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:43pm

Short and simple game which looks really nice and has some good sound effects! Some more levels or new mechanics would be nice though :)

Palys Plays says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:52pm

Baeutiful game with very nice audio! Altrough, I didn't found a reason to be not a dragon, but overal game is great. Congratulations!

xWarZonex says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:32am

WAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY too laggy to play. It looks nice though.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:41am

Graphics are really great, only thing the framerate is really low, the game is simple and effective, nice job!

TeamSoulmyst says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:12am

Great graphics, enjoyable game, it is unexplainably laggy on my home pc tough :(

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Really cool concept.

Avon says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Great visuals, and amazing sound effects(which is rare for LD games). It was very relaxing to play, great atmosphere. Funny parody on generic RPGs.

There was no challenge from the gameplay though, a couple puzzles to solve would have helped a lot.

mkghoster says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Thank you for all your support and awesome feedbacks! :)
We are sorry to hear that some of you may experience slow framerates. Please try running the Windows desktop version and with 'Fastest' graphics quality (can be set in the configuration window when starting the game).

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Really nice mood. The cow was funny. I wasn't sure what purpose changing into different forms served.

sumguy67 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Very cool looking game! Love how it looks when you shift realms

2Bit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:11am

Got some nice effects happening in this one. Particularly the shift between realms and playable characters, how'd you do that (source :P)? Audio was well done too.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Damn those graphics !
Too bad there's no music, i would have seen so much genre here !

Folztarg says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:15pm

this game is absolutely beautiful, congratulations

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:57am

Definitely deserves a high rating when it comes to art and atmosphere in the game, enjoyed playing it.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:34pm

Graphics and audio are good, and the realm shifting effects are cool!

I don't know why you need the viking and the cow, because shapeshifting between them is not necessary.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Wow, the graphics are simply amazing!!! Excellent job on your game

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:27pm

WOW i'm just stuned by the graphics. really great game overall. good job

Aaranos says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:45pm

I was really hoping the dragon could fly but a long jump is good I suppose. The viking didn't really have a purpose. I enjoyed it and it was aesthetically pleasing.

Lullaby says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:51pm

I'm not able to launch your game at the moment, but I'll definitely give it a shot asap! Graphics looks definitely cool, though!

fenwick says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Very beautiful and lots of nice details to the shifting world mechanic. The gameplay was really shallow though and I didn't feel challenged at all. And the shapeshifting felt a bit tacked on.

Farelle says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:21pm

nice and relaxing. The controls felt a little bit late to respond, but graphics were amazing :o

Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:22pm

very beautiful game !

teamross says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Nice look! It's quite well done!
Congratulations!

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:28pm

Presentation looks amazing, my only advice would be to perhaps look at the timing between the key press and shapeshift and perhaps make it bit faster just to let the player know the key press registered.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Awesome implementation of the theme! the graphics are awesome and I love how the environment shifts as well as the character. Really well done!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Game and controls are a bit laggy. Graphics are amazing, though. Maybe you could reduce lag if you used baked lightning, graphics would not be exactly the same but since you are focusing on color and solid shadows I think you could achieve something similar and have a lot higher framerate.
Audio is good too. It is a cool entry overall.

AnMorfeusz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Incredible graphics, and atmosphere!

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:32pm

nicely put together game, though i don't see the necessity in shapeshifting... I mean, 100% dragon-run is the way to go.

Manou says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Nice game and funny. Did you make the models yourselves? Just asking.

MrMordem says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Nice looking game, plays really smoothly, although i had a bit of lag when i tested it (Web version)

and the shifting between the 3 forms is a bit slow, at first i thought it didn't work but it's just the transition is a bit longer than i thought.

Other than that good job, it's a nice entry :)

The Salt says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:02am

I liked the concept, and overall it was pretty good. I'm going to have to omit a score on the graphics though, as they're from here: http://u3d.as/gmF I will commend you on good taste though, as I have that pack as well. Keep it up!

Uson Chen says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:57am

The visual effect is very cool, but seems some UV issue on web version when I play on Safari. What's more, I don't know what the goal is.

wavertron says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:36am

I didnt quite see the point of the viking. But the realm shifting was nice. I think its a great concept, but needs polish and more refinement in the game mechanics. Graphics were sweet

Xanjos says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:02pm

I really like the visual effects (although it seems unoptimised at the moment as it's a bit taxing on my graphics card) and the concept is fun and interesting (it was pretty hilarious turning into a cow). My only gripe is that the forms you can shapeshift into could be slightly more fleshed out in terms of mechanics.

May 5, 2016 @ 3:10am

Atmospherically, graphically, and aesthetically fantastic! Unfortunately the game mechanics weren't PARTICULARLY compelling, so that could've used more thought, but this is a GENUINELY impressive entry nonetheless. Well done.

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:12am

Good job. I wasn't sure what to do at first but when changing the realm I got it ^^ The 2 doesn't seem to cause a transformation. The atmosphere and graphics were great. The theme was used well :)

jk5000 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:40am

A really beautiful game. Well done.

Molpe says ...
May 11, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Woow, this game is GORGEOUS! I didn't know what am I doing, but I did it! And I enjoyed it! xD

I've made a short let's play, if you want to check it out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lrz3oT0Q2UA

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]