Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Town

by guin36 - Jam Entry

It's a game about a town and the people that live in it.

This game was created for my first Ludum Dare (the file is named ludumdare2 because I messed up the first project). The theme was "Shapeshift". I did not know the rules and was too excited to read up on them early on, so please forgive the use of unlicensed sprites.

The characters are named after some members of the Game Development Club at the University of Maryland College Park. Selection was prioritized by who went to Unity class, who went to our meetup for Ludum Dare, and who went to club meetings. All personalities in the game have little to nothing to do with actual namesakes's personalities.

It's a short game with no saving, so play through to the end in one sitting, please. The gameplay is simple, talk to all the townsfolk, go to sleep, then repeat for the next day. Alt+f4 if you need to exit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#404Humor(Jam)2.69
#485Mood(Jam)3.17
#600Theme(Jam)3.28
#629Fun(Jam)3.00
#683Innovation(Jam)2.89
#827Overall(Jam)2.94
#1754Coolness33%

Comments

FerraWare says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:11am

Love these kind of non-mainstream games, keep it up! (I also love Zelda :P)

FBJazz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:51am

The game had a solid story and a great escalation at the end. Overall a really cool game, and I really enjoyed it, even if it's not conventionally "fun". A couple times I didn't talk to all the townspeople; it would have been nice to have maybe some kind of arrow pointing to the remaining ones.

fizzhog says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:10pm

Enjoyed this a lot. But then my taste in games is not very mainstream. I look for new experiences and I'm less concerned with gameplay. There is an audience for this sort of game, I'm just not sure that's it's a very large audience:)

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:11pm

Good on you for not including the art category, honest mistake. There is a joy in exploring the town, well done.

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:52pm

This was cute and funny... yet grim. Not much gameplay, really, but I did enjoy the story.

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:56pm

How fucking big is this file! I am still waiting with my shitty internet. I am not in the right mood for this type of game. Sorry devs

Swynfel says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:43am

Hey !

Cool game. I can understand this type of game isn't for everyone, but I was very happy to get to play something "different" for a ludumdare.

The gameplay could be reworked a little (too long distance between certain villagers, strange collisions), and your own assets would have been a lot lot better. I understand you didn't have time, but it would have improved my impression a lot. But it's true making very cool sprites that have impact are hard to make along the rest of the game in 72h.

Cool story, but I expected the "plot twist". I still cried at the end.

Thank you for this experience, it was completely worth my time. Good luck for your next works.

El Cabaro says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 12:58am

Really took a dark turn towards the end. I predicted it once Joey started talking about shapeshifters.

The undertale music was really grating until we put on some polka, which we had to turn off once we started going around and mauling the townspeople to the merry tunes of Weird Al.

Cool game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]