Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The duck Reborn

by TheDuckCompany - Jam Entry

Endless Runner with quick time event where you have pick the right shape for each obstacle !

We let you discover wich shape go with wich obstacle !

Each key is Randomly set before each QTE so pay attention during the slow motion !

Hope you will enjoy the game

It was our first partitipation to LD and was great, will definitely do this again !

We made some of the graphics (we're not designers) but not all and we did'nt make the sounds but all the rest was made by us !

Tell us your highest score !

The game was made in C++ with SFML library

===LINUX INSTALL===

Sorry but we could'nt share the libraries.
In order to run the game you need to install SFML2 (download the sources from the http://sfml-dev.org/ or with your favorite packet manager)
Then you can use the makefile with g++
Sorry again ! (any tips on this is welcome !)


The duckduck

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#281Humor(Jam)3.03
#544Theme(Jam)3.35
#764Mood(Jam)2.80
#798Innovation(Jam)2.74
#814Fun(Jam)2.78
#957Overall(Jam)2.76

Comments

mutonizer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:47am

"Concept" sounded fun but controls made it impossible/frustrating to play.
- Jumping's way loose and weird and "collision" with obstacles felt odd.
- QTE events slow everything, are very hard to comprehend and so fast you lack context to make a choice. Plus they seem to "slow down" things, which, when it happens when jumping, slows that too and kills you.

Like the idea, couldn't play it proper :/
++

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:56am

Hi, thank's for your comment I've juste change the QTE event so the slow is more smooth

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:05am

Hurry up with that Linux version!

TideS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:28am

duckduck

mutonizer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:00pm

Tried again with new build.
Managed to go past 1 obstacle, up to around 200 score I think, then same thing happened: QTE slowed time above fire while jumping, which slowed the jump and caused death :)

I'll check again later this week, in case.

FenyesJ says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:52pm

10/10

Autovelop says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:54am

Funny game, enjoyed the different morphs. Was a bit hard to figure out at first. I suggest gradually speeding up the movement to help new/young players get use to the mechanics. I respect that you guys did it in C++ for Windows and Linux

RockNRedPanda says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Its not bad. A skater that turns itself into a duck is a cool concept but the controls aren't really smooth.

Would keep working on it though.

aCoupleGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:58pm

I loved the idea but the gameplay could have had a little more refining

Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Very challenging game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/Q_baWrdQ2o4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]