Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Mr. Purrgalar

by KairosXIII - Jam Entry

Here it is, my first entry! Mr Purrgalar is a color base puzzler. Cross the lasers by switching colored costumes with the arrow keys. Get Mr. Purrgalar to the diamond, Enjoy! So excited, so tired, and learned so much.

If you get stuck, use the pause menu to restart

Controls:
Arrow Keys

Credits:
@kairosxiii
@t_jerzee

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#156Innovation(Jam)3.65
#393Overall(Jam)3.39
#445Fun(Jam)3.25
#455Humor(Jam)2.61
#711Mood(Jam)2.88
#741Theme(Jam)3.06
#753Graphics(Jam)2.99

Comments

distemp7 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:45am

This puzzle is interesting but player can't restart level when stuck. I liked concept of the game, it's worth further developing.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:47am

I probably should have labeled it "menu" instead of "pause". Doh!

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:02am

Fun! I like the game but it is frustrating when you get stuck.

ayewyn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:08am

This is a great game. I love the puzzles. You should move forward with this.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:24am

Thank you for the kind words.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:34am

A great puzzle game. I haven't played a puzzle like it. Fun.

Kazetsukai says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:38am

Nice puzzle. I don't think it is necessary to take away the arrows showing you the directions, it feels like a needless obstruction as the player can just write them down. Also at the moment it is pretty straightforward to just work your way back from the finish point to the start, something to mix that up would be awesome.

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:53am

Very nice shapeshifting)
Really cool!

okoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:14am

Very good, I really liked the puzzle mechanics, mixing with a few more would make a great game mobile very easy ...

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:15am

Very cool game! When I would finally figure out the way it was quite rewarding ^_^. Collisions aren't always that consistent but meh, I liked it a lot!

ThommazK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:45pm

I like the puzzles' concept, it's a really fun game, but I want my cat videos!

Found a collision bug when I was about to cross a line and quickly went back: it deactivated all barriers. After three stages like this, character started to shapeshift every time I moved.

Rakowu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:25pm

Nice. Good idea and concept. Good job

matt beckett says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Great game! Non game-related tip - check these instructions to embed an itch.io game perfectly in the LD page:

http://blog.itch.io/post/142973948229/introducing-game-embeds

MurderPunch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:03am

Great idea but would benefit from further development.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:31am

I got trapper in one of the rooms and could not continue playing, but nice game, it has a simple logic, but can produce some very complex puzzles, good use of the theme.

plaguespark says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:35am

Animated switching Background would be totaly nice here!

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:51am

Thank you for the tips. I was looking for something like that Matt, thanks.

dwemthy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:56am

Really solid entry, nice concept. The pause menu has a great style.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:04am

This is really cool way of laying out a maze. I enjoyed trying to figure the levels out, and I stopped myself from using the trick of just working your way backwards from the gems. Since you can only move from one grid cell to another, it might be worth removing free movement, and instead having the player move only along straight lines between the squares. That way you avoid the slight annoyance of colliding with corners. Nice work!

reheated says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:49pm

Nice idea and puzzles. I laughed at the menu!

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:58pm

Thank you for the kind words. That's a good idea Meorch, thanks.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:47pm

Pretty neat concept, though kind of buggy. There was times I was the correct color to move through, but I still would not go through. I liked the music and sound! Should be an audio rating

lkr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:16am

Nice puzzle game, with nice art and music :)
Mixing it up with the pickup that changes the walls around was a nice touch.
Would have liked a keyboard shortcut to reset, but I didn't get stuck that often. Probably would have missed it more if there were more and/or harder levels.

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:16am

Brilliant idea for a puzzle game. Could easily see this expanded and pushed to different platforms especially mobile.

Krammetje says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:39am

I like this game, it's a pretty fun puzzle game.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:47am

nice game here and interesting concept!

play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Interesting concept, but the execution could use polish. I was clipping on corners like crazy. Not quite shifting any shapes either...

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:38am

Cute idea, works reasonably well. I thought I wasn't going to be able to play it because I'm colourblind, but I got through it ok up until the level without indicators and that was just too difficult to process. It doesn't help that if you are in a collider before you finish changing you cannot pass thorugh it.

I like the music but it got irritating quickly, particularly the way it looped.

I'm seeing room for more mechanics, but I'm pretty sure a fully fleshed out version of this is something that I could never play.

rayman1900 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:07pm

The puzzle are really good. It's just that I wish to have a button or a quick way to restart if I'm stuck somewhere you know. Overall, neat game !

APantaloni says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:52pm

Nice puzzle game. The collision with the pillars can be a little irritating at times, but it's no big deal.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:25am

i tried to play this, but had javascript issues loading it. is there a windows release?

tomlum says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:09am

Cool concept, some well thought out puzzles. UI was really clever with the watch.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:59am

Very cool game, interesting idea, i found my self playing a lot more time than i expected, some minor collision problems (bounding box is to big), and maybe a restart button in the main screen instead of the menu would be better, but in general pretty cool, really good job a nice entry.

LinealGames says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:48pm

I thought it was very fun and the switching color costumes looked really cool!

monetai says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:19pm

Really nice, but where are the cat video?! =)

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:34am

Thank for all the tips, will work on it.

@monetai Never got a chance to any cat videos. Ran out of time :(

m3games says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:21am

Fun concept, I made it through a few levels. Although I'm sure it would be exponentially harder to do (or more time consuming) it would be cool if you could never get stuck in a level.

eott says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Interesting concept, solid execution, overall great game! :)

Foxarya says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Nice puzzle game, but is too easy to get stuck.

Wefiends says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Not entirely sure this fits the theme greatly, but it was a really clever puzzle game. If you move forward with this I would definitely get rid of the free motion and make it tile based.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:00am

Like the puzzle idea, has lots of potential! I say go with it and develop it further! Thought the GUI for the pause menu was cute. Biggest gripe: Cat video link doesn't work. *cry*

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:59am

Thank you for the kind words.

@Wefiends I started moving forward with this project yesterday and that's exactly what I did, thanks for the tip.

@Fabraz Sorry didn't have time ><

medidog says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:12pm

I really like the idea. Was quite fun to play. I just wish there was an indicator of which level I am playing, and maybe a way to load into the specific levels we've already unlocked?

TheBreakfast says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:10pm

I love the puzzle mechanic. Very interesting idea. The music works well, but maybe something a bit sneaky would have worked better for the mood / humor of it. The graphics are great (love the smoke effect) and the core mechanic is solid!

My only major complaint is that the "cat videos" button doesn't do anything :P

Aaranos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:19am

Nice puzzle design. I liked the difficulty as you went forward. It was kind of like a maze you trace a path through but with an added level of complexity.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:06pm

Very good puzzle game. This could be a good initial point for a tablet game. congrats.
Only a little tip : maybe a autorespawn when you "die", you only need to check if player is on dead end situation and count a few collisions for release the event.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:21pm

Good game!

avinashd says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Fantastic idea! The learning curve is really short and the game is well tutorialized!

May 2, 2016 @ 10:06am

Super clever puzzle game. The concept is innovative, theme-related and well executed. I've never played a maze game like that and enjoyed it a lot. Love the "elegance" of your mechanics : they are simple but allows you to create interesting and complex and fun-to-play levels (great difficulty and learning curve BTW). The character was cute and audio was pleasant.

leo_p_mahon says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Really enjoyed the puzzles and I like your sense of humor! Would be interested to see what game mechanics you could add to make it less calculable. I like how the pause menu is Mr. Purrgalar's watch :)

MegaBrutal says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Excellent game, liked the concept! :)

Sometimes I get stuck on the white squares, so I can't go in the direction where I am supposed to go.

I didn't head any sound and the „Cat Videos” button doesn't work.

AnaGF says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:12am

Gameplay is interesting, and it has a lot of potential.
It needs some polish, and difficulty changes a lot on the fourth/five level, but it is a good entry overall and it would be great if you keep developing it :)

Xanjos says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Some minor issues with collisions but I like the mechanics a lot and the puzzles were pretty well designed.

leffe108 says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 9:54pm

Interesting puzzle. I read now that there is a restart, but having it non-easily visible to player make you have to think through and plan before you move which I think is a good thing. I liked that there was no time limit.

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:36am

It was a nice game.
The shifting was weird. I would have to do a little shuffle every time I wanted to go through a different color.
I beat it.

jk5000 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:32pm

A simple and great puzzle game. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]