Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Polygon Phase

by ArcticPuffin - Jam Entry

This work is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. To view a copy of this license, visit http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/4.0/.

Control a shape attempting to remain within the bounds of a playing field. Other polygons bombard your humble shape, trying to force you off of the screen. You must remain strong. You have one tool at your disposal against the onslaught of geometry, you can shape shift. You may pass through polygons of similar shape, destroying them, and gaining a massive score bonus. Stay alive and score high!

Please check out http://creativecommons.org/ which made this project possible.

Attributions
All art was created in Paint.NET by the developers.

Music - All Music files can be found at http://freemusicarchive.org/

"Raknights" by Smurd is licensed under CC BY SA

"Diji" by fast idio is licensed under CC BY NC SA

"Time Lapse" by Möbius is licensed under CC BY NC SA

"Snare Attack" by Sylergic is licensed under CC BY NC SA

"Machinations" by Technoillogical is licensed under CC BY NC SA

TypeFace

See Seperate SIL Open Font License License for "TERMINAL GROTESQUE REGULAR"

Sound Effects - All sound effect files can be found at https://www.freesound.org/

"btn402.mp3" by junggle is licensed under CC BY

"mini moon-mobile" by suonho is licensed under CC BY

"Machine Shutdown" PatrickLieberkind is licensed under CC 0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#844Graphics(Jam)2.80
#2028Coolness22%

Comments

Jin47 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Great game! I found it quite easy has it is very easy to avoid being pushed too far. Great concept . Good job

retrograze says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:04am

Unfortunately, for me the game crashed when I pressed the Play button...some sort of javascript error on the page. Wish I could grade it, it looked like it would've been fun. Also, in the web browser version, I had to go fullscreen in order for the UI to fit...did you forget to use UI Anchors?

Odyssey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:09am

Love the hectic feel to it

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:17am

http://i.pxl.lt/dXVpH8.gif
Browser: Waterfox (lightweight firefox)

Doesn't work for me :P

Jadernak says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:21am

Not very challenging concept.

CoderJoe says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Nice! A bit too easy but a cool new idea!

Powersource says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:46am

Also getting the js error.

LeftRight92 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:48am

Game throws a js error on Play. Running on Chrome.

LeReveur says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Too hard for me, but still a good game. :)

curtamyth says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:23am

Got an error trying to run in Firefox.

ragnta says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 9:09am

Got an error trying to run in Firefox.

btwj_ says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:25pm

JS error as well on Firefox

May 6, 2016 @ 12:30am

I got a js error on chrome, edge, and internet explorer

alyphen says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:56am

Cool mechanic. Could have done with music during the actual game, but your choice for the menu was fitting.
Only big complaint is that it's too easy. When you do slide of the screen, it's anticlimatic and you don't really feel anything, but you can stay on as long as you play safe.

h2n0 says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 9:13am

Its a fun little game, had to read the instructions twice to understand what to do. Only thing that I would change is the speed at which you can swap shade.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]