Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Zedhus

by GGAlliance - Jam Entry

Welcome to Zedhus! Control a mighty cosmic beast on its rampage against mankind in this arcade shoot 'em up!

Controls (keyboard):
- A (rotate left)
- D (rotate right)
- W (accelerate)
- J (open fire)
- Alt+Enter (full screen)

Alternatively (gamepad):
- < (rotate left)
- > (rotate right)
- X/R1 (accelerate)
- Square (open fire)

Our team:
- Gustavo Christino
- Cássio Eduardo
- Mateus Farias
- Arlam Júnior
- Marcos Junio
- Arthur Fonseca

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#551Audio(Jam)2.81
#619Fun(Jam)3.03
#624Humor(Jam)2.28
#838Mood(Jam)2.67
#918Overall(Jam)2.83
#1013Theme(Jam)2.50
#1050Graphics(Jam)2.12
#1078Innovation(Jam)2.13

Comments

mikeware says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:11am

I could keep playing this for a while, it was pretty challenging.
I just wish I had a bit more control over my aim, it seemed hitting the left/right key once made a big change to my angle and prevented me from locking on to my target.

It was also hard to understand the power ups effects.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:25pm

challenging and intresting game, the things that i think will improve this a lot are
-ambience music in background
- a visual indicator that shows you when you lose life, like screen turning red for some frames or something like that
nice fun game btw :D

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:41pm

Thanks a lot for your opinions! As the background music and powerup icons are finished, we will publish a post-jam version with them as soon as possible.

Asturk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:21am

Very good game guys! Really enjoy space shooting games. In case you continue the project, try to implement some more enemies variations and challenges to the game and try to make the voice sound more clear, sometimes its complicated to get what the narrator is saying there.

Karai17 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:14am

Neat game! Good job!

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:05am

Thanks. (:

Broxxar says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:37am

I was the invader all along! It was earth along!!!

Hempuli says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:18pm

I liked the voice-acting! The game was very hard and I found it easier to avoid all enemies instead of fighting them; also felt a bit unsure on what to do once I was pointed towards the planet. The starry sky was cool!

MudFarmers says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:29am

The game is totally solid, and the voice work is pretty great.

HunGARE says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:29am

Good job guys! The sound is the best part for me, and I really like the parallaxing effect you achieved with the stars.

murraya2 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:30am

Nice game. Consider adding more enemies and making them have less hp? Would be more exciting imo. Also, I need feedback (sound, screenshake, flashes) when I get hit.

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:37am

We will work on it very soon (feedback for players). Thank you very much.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:35am

I loved, solid and interesting. The voice is great. Made in lack better maneuverability, lateral displacement, or reverse.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:59am

Its great shooting invasion game. Try to add more variations with enemies weapons and scenarios

Spiria says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:14pm

Cool concept and mood. I especially like the parallax effect of the stars in the background, it comes off much cooler in motion than in the screenshot.

davalcordub says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:28am

It is an awesome game, really nice job. The voice is a pretty nice touch.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:29am

I like the VA. This is a nice shooter you made.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:00am

Actually had quite a lot of fun for something that appears very rough. The controls feel tight, AI feels fair (if a bit few-and-far-between) and the upgrade system feels great. Obviously, a whole lot more art and sound would go a long way in making this a more enjoyable game. But there's charm to it I like.

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:30pm

Funny space shooter, cool idea "spaceship with shield"
Love the space background effect!

spiffl says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:50pm

COOL!!!! I love the voice effects and the starry background, and the game is fun! I couldn't quite beat it--it's super hard! But I got close and I like it a lot, good job!

freeloader says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:44am

It's fun, but it was hard to tell what each visual element besides the triangles and lasers do (the spikes on the side for example). This game would benefit a loot from a Vlambeer's style of feel (https://www.youtube.com/watch?&v=AJdEqssNZ-U)

hauhaua o piloto me lembra o Vegeta!

ConorOD says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Fun game, I felt it could have benefited from a more zoomed out view though.

TheCain says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:44am

It was neat, but really didn't have enough to keep me. Maybe work on the combat a little more.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]