Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Squarcle

by bagface - Compo Entry

Squarcle!
Is it a square that turns into a circle? or a circle that turns into a square?!
Who knows! Its Squarcle!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#224Theme3.73
#276Humor2.74
#338Innovation3.32
#340Fun3.31
#416Overall3.27
#471Audio2.69
#541Mood2.82
#777Graphics2.41

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:14am

Nice mechanic, I enjoyed the physics of returning to square shape, trying to gestimate where I'd stop and how much time I needed to give myself. Enjoyed the various levels. Nice work!

I'd love your thoughts on my game Titos Revenge:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:15am

Pretty fun game. Sounds could be a bit better, and could use a bit more polish and depth.

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:19am

Nice game, good job! Love the facial expressions of the Squarcle.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:20am

Oh no, the evil triangles! Interesting mechanic, although I had a bit of trouble estimating where I would land by turning into a square. Had fun anyways :)

lordsavage says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:23am

I have to agree with brinkhousegames, trying to judge the speed and when to turn back into a square was quiet interesting. Well done

Willsr71 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:23am

Me: "Oh I think i'll stop right around there" Game: "NOPE"
It was surprisingly intriguing. I like how the triangles would just keep on bouncing after they were punched out of the way.

makiki99 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:23am

Shapeshifting is laggy compared to the sound, which makes the game a bit frustrating to play. I decided to give up at fourth level. Audio is nice, the idea is nice, graphics are nice(maybe except text boxes), so it is a pretty good game.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:25am

I liked it. It had a nice challenge.

hunttis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:29am

The shapeshifting took a bit to get used to, as the shift had a delay. A fun idea anyway :)

oal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:36am

Good use of the theme! I wish the transformation from circle to square was a little faster, to allow for a faster and more intense gameplay. But that's just a matter of tweaking things. Well done!

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:22am

Can I say "Do you want to turn on sticky keys"?

But seriously, great game. You know its a good challenge when you have me cursing at the screen when my box falls into the abyss.

Great job on this one!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:27am

Simple idea and great game.

MattThePie says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Wow, actually a really neat mechanic despite being so simple, this is great fun

verzoto says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:54pm

Good job! I liked the mechanic, and physics are great too! Great game!

MrDave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Great name. Some good map design. I liked the fact it took so long to change, it meant you had to plan in advance what you were going to do.
Also I really liked the changing animation between the two shapes.

brainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Cute game! The only problem is that it's too difficult to estimate where the squar will stp after rolling. Nice sprites and animations too.

ezombort says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:04pm

It's a good sign when you get addicted to a game? :) This was awesome, great job and fun mechanics. Just the correct amount of difficulty. I'd play more if there were more levels. Well done!

gq_deltex says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Looks pretty nice and the game mechanics are great! Squarecle is also a good name idea! Good Work

GameQuester says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:36pm

A bit annoying that you always had to switch to mouse when you died. Beside that this was a very fun game and a good approach on the theme. Also I liked them Sqares Circles and Triangles -looking unobtrusive to my own game.

wtfrara says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:51pm

I really dug this, it's a very creative mechanic for a puzzle-platformer. I noticed a few small bugs but overall it's quite good.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:27pm

a nice idea, the shapeshifting took me a little while to get the hang of to do well

APantaloni says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Very nice concept!It takes some time to get used to but it's addictive

davor10105 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Gotta love those expressions xD

AngerFork says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:05pm

Super fun game. Took me a bit to figure out how to get the movement right, but could totally see this being a fun little puzzle game that goes a long way...loved it!

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:13pm

This game is very unique, however I kept running into bugs. For example: You can win after you lose if you lose hitting a triangle and roll into the end.

UnlikelyRogue says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:58pm

That was fun, and some decent challenges around a solid core mechanic. Well done.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:03am

Like the mechanic and the level design was pretty good too. I would've liked the transform to be a bit faster. Overall great entry

dwhiffing says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:05am

It's cute :) I liked the mechanic, and the simple instructions. Reminded me of wario land there. Didn't play to the end, but enjoyed it none the less

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:39am

hahahaha! best use of the concept i have scene so far. well done on creating a new style of game. love it

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:39am

hahahaha! best use of the concept i have seen so far. well done on creating a new style of game. love it

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:09am

I had more fun than I expected with this game, it's really fun haha. The physics while shifting is great.
One thing that could be changed though is adding a keyboard shortcut for the dialog options, this way you don't have to use the mouse to play it again.

psychonull says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:36am

Real Nice game. Great idea and really fun game. Congratulations!

Auroratide says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:39am

A good, all-around game. For an innovative mechanic, the controls were surprisingly easy to pick up and learn. Nice job!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:41am

Enjoyed this quite a bit. Great idea and implementation!

BrianSChung says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:53am

Like the concept!

serp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:04am

I like the mechanic

Exolun says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:33am

Fun game with a good game mechanic!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:23am

Very clever name and the physics was easy to work with. The only problem I had was understanding how I beat the level!

WASD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:39am

Good job! I had fun playing your game :)

Zgragselus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:31am

Awesome mechanics, and yay evil triangles!

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:38am

Interesting mechanic))

sadenly says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:31am

Nice, but I did not understand at first that only the first press of the keyboard counts, and I desperatly tried to make it go the other way pressing the button in the opposite direction))

CasualCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:05am

Love the mechanic, very innovative and the game was really fun. But it could be wayyy better if the shifting was more responsive and the physics and controls were cleaned and polished up a bit. Graphics could be polished up a bit too, but I had a lot of fun.

AAGH Games says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:12am

I like the idea, and it was executed pretty well. I did find, though, that I could roll off the map and get the "you lose" sound even after I'd gotten the "you win" menu if I kept rolling around, plus I won once after I'd already lost because my defeated square came to a rest on the checkerboard platform.

It's a little buggy but still a neat, well executed concept, and a good take on the theme.

Adipson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:17am

original and fun ! :)

kivlor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:56am

nice mechanic! I found I'd switch back to square a lot for fear of falling off a ledge. new shapes with more abilities would be cool :)

sxm1041 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:25am

Good mechanic and well implemented. The physics is just about right to be easy to pick up and then make it more challenging later on. Nice difficulty progression through the levels.

JOK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:36am

The mechanic was fun, appriciated how the difficulty was ramped up!

adamprack says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:42am

Neat idea! It grew on me over time. I wish there'd been a bit more put into the visuals and audio, but it had some neat gameplay and variety.

vethan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:08am

This is aweesommee! Really enjoyed playing through this!

Ibzy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Crazily addictive. A great selection of challenges across the levels. Good job!

Beard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:29pm

The mechanic was really cool. The control seems intentionally wonky, but I think that is part of what makes it fun. Might be cool to have some race the clock kind of levels later to increase difficulty.

Fumiko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:56pm

I liked the faces and how they changed based on your speed

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Very good solid game, nice idea.

orukinawa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:31pm

Very interesting concept

Monofraps says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:53pm

I love the mechanics - very well done.

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Wow! So simple but really great.
I could not stop playing!

You did a great job with the first tutorial level.
I would play more but I beat it...

qu2 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:57pm

I really like the mechanic, and some of the levels have cool ideas too. I just wish the controls were more responsive.

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:58pm

The mood is great and the music fits perfectly without ever getting tiring. The simple mechanic really works well even though I would have appreciated slightly less punishing levels (for examples spots where failing would just slow you down rather than ill you). Overall very fun to play.

One detail : being able to restart with one of the game keys would have been nice, so as to not have to move your hand and grab the mouse when you die.

t4u says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:51pm

I love the simplisitc idea. A shape changing face form happy to sad was a ncie touch. Music depsite being simplistic worked. Even if you didn't like it there was a mute option so it's good.

The biggest problem is that in order to restart a game you needed a mouse. This was weak as you force player to constantly switch between mouse and keyboard. Another thing is lack of level number. i want to know how much levels are there left. I don't mind finishing 5 levels but perspective of 20 levels in a single go - how about no.

Overall: Despite the lack of everything I really enjoyed it.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:04pm

Nice game, I only felt like the shapeshifting delay became a little tedious after a while

Sota says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:44pm

When I went to play it, I was told to use a browser that supports WebGL, like Firefox. I am using Firefox.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Fun core mechanic, and solid presentation! Had a good time with it. You explored the mechanic with enough different level design approaches too.

TheCain says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:25pm

That was fun, and had clever mechanics.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:21pm

Difficult. Interesting, different than what I've seen, but the mechanics feel almost lethargic. It's really what makes the game difficult, but I don't feel like that's especially fun. Regardless, nicely done all around!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:49pm

I love the original name.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:29am

Great game, good mechanic,i really enjoy the game. Good work!!

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:11am

The concept is pretty interesting and I quite liked the feel of the physics. The transformation animation and graphics were simple, but quite effective for the overall game. Only complaint was sound, but since there was a mute button for that I am ok with it. Good Job!

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:48am

Fun mechanic! I love how the first level entirely teaches you the mechanic. Graphics aren't the most complex but that's OK! Music and audio is fine. Overall, great job!

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:08am

This was a pretty cool mechanic, i just wish it was more responsive, nice job!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:54am

Nice game!

PoV says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:13pm

When you see this, contact me. http://ludumdare.com/compo/contact/

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:18pm

Nice core mechanic! Level Design feels very thought through. Had a lot of fun with this.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:01pm

I like it, it can be pretty challenging!

grayhaze says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:16pm

I had a lot of fun with this, despite failing many, many times. Although technically a platformer, it felt more like an outright puzzle game at times, requiring you to judge what would happen *after* you change shape. The music was decent and the graphics, although simple, were fun. Also a really good use of the theme which I haven't seen done quite the same elsewhere. Well done! :)

Mieeh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Cool mechanic. Simple but fun. I didn't like the fact that i accidently restarded the game after playing for 5minutes. Fun game.

IvanFon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:38pm

I really enjoyed this mechanic, it led to some interesting moments, especially trying to switch at the right time.

DcrDro says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:09am

good entry !

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:08pm

Good idea, we had a similar one! Taking the simple concept of the shapes and using their physical shape to determine platforming abilities.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:54pm

Love the idea there, using the shapes to play with the physics. Nice take on the theme.

GodsBoss says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:48am

Facial expressions on the shape were great and after getting the controls, it gets really fun.

Dreschler says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:04pm

Nice game!

tentacode says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Cute graphics :)

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:33am

solid interpretation of the theme, this game had easy to understand mechanics and interesting levels.

derr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:47am

Great game! It's super hard until you get a feel for the physics.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:18am

Great use of theme. Mechanics were really good and the level design was well thought out.

Japes says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:13pm

This is the only comment that you need from me:
My partner wants dinner - and my response is "Just one more turn". It's a great game, well done. :)

phoenix1987 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Fun game, i liked the use of the theme. I hope you're able to expand on it after the theme. IT did take a while to get use to but overall great job :)

ragnta says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:26pm

Nice game :)

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:30pm

Nice simple graphics, progressively challenging that's the fun part.Music is great

neilcorre2k6 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:34am

Nice game! :D not the first game I played with the mechanic you used, but still one of the best! :D

marvalgames says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Simple Cute very nice original play. Excellent. Kept playing.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:43am

Fun mechanic! A lot of fun! Great level design

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]