Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

jleznuke

by Raptorij - Jam Entry

who is this?
oh YEAH!!! THIS IS "JLEZNUKE".
He's very cool. Look at him. Look at his tentacles.
fight with vile villains and defeat their dad mom.

hey man. To control tentacles use MOUSE and Left/Right buttons or A/D to control the left and right respectively, tentacles. good luck bro/sis.
;-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#65Humor(Jam)3.80
#392Innovation(Jam)3.24
#420Audio(Jam)3.10
#423Fun(Jam)3.27
#462Mood(Jam)3.20
#496Graphics(Jam)3.41
#507Overall(Jam)3.27
#1061Theme(Jam)2.28

Comments

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:49am

Enjoyed the arm physics, and how each arm was connected to a different button. Couldn't manage to hit the boss, though, that's probably on me.

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:10am

Kind of repetitive but fun.

Adipson says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:15am

but ! but !..it's a dick ? lol funny

PavelPooh says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:05am

So fun and so entertaining!

Ненавижу тебя за то что твоя игра интереснее моей.

stormouse says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:21am

Playing this game is like LOLLOLLOLLOL
"What am I and what are they doing to me!!!!! slash slash slash"

bellum128 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:24am

Haha very fun, and it has great physics. I wonder how the Jeleznuke got into this situation, a backstory would be very interesting :D

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:25am

Very excellent work! The art style remind me of Binding of Issac. BTW I don't know why there is so few comments.

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:25am

I had a lot of fun with this

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:11am

Gracias por tu votación a mi juego!

Kazetsukai says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:17am

Enjoyed lol

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:59am

Really funny game, I enjoyed it

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:02am

Funny game! Thank you!

DevDad says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:38am

Very fun and addictive.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:42pm

I like the weirdness of it :)

Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:18am

Great visual style and audio that led to a really unique game. I guess my only problem with it is how hard it was to tell what the tentacles were going to do, making it really tough to hit the boss. I make that sound like a small problem, but it's really a pretty big one, since waving your tentacles around is all you do in the game.

For a while there I fooled myself into thinking I had found a system for hitting the boss reliably, but I could basically only hit it by accident. Made things pretty frustrating.

I think this idea could really work for a full release if you had a predictable system for how the tentacles move.

For example, if the tentacle's far enough away from the place where it's supposed to go, it could do a straight thrust, but if it's really close it would whip. OO, even better: hold the button for a straight thrust to a certain area, otherwise the tentacle does a whip motion that's weaker. If the mouse is close enough and you do a whip motion, that's a weak but rapid-fire attack. There should also be a visual display for hit-boxes, if you work on this any more. You would probably also need to be able to move around under your own power.

Have to admit I don't see how it fit the theme. I guess the tentacles are shapes? And they shift around?... I dunno, something like that?

Anyway, I'd want to see how this idea develops. Really original aesthetic and gameplay, and it's hard to describe why but they kinda seem like a match for each other.

Good job! Just fix those tentacles!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:05am

I like the idea

pixelpotions says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:53pm

Rad entry!
I really loved the arms mechanics, so inovative and fun!
Can't say how much I had fun playing this! Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]