Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Polarity Dragon

by zondarg - Compo Entry

Welcome to my very first Ludum Dare entry: Polarity Dragon.
You fly as a shapeshifting blue(ice) or red(fire) dragon to clean the skies of tentacled monstrosities...
Use Gamepad one or keyboard (cursor keys and "a" for fire, "s" to shapeshift).
I started very late (saturday evening) so its all not very polished... but I think it came out quite ok. Lacking the time to do real 3D with modeling and all I went for some "SpaceHarrier"-style pseudo billboarded 3D. There is no real end yet, so just keep building up your high score..
Made from scratch in under 33 hours with the amazing ZGameEditor, Aseprite, Gimp, Audacity, BFXR and OpenMPT.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#227Audio3.24
#388Graphics3.22
#537Fun3.00
#555Humor1.95
#580Mood2.75
#673Overall2.96
#798Theme2.74
#851Innovation2.33

Comments

bigpan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Good game! Really soothing soundtrack, nice work. The gameplay is ok at first but it gets repetitive, if you add more levels or difficulties i would definitely play it again, well done!

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Quite good billboard 3D, I never managed to make one as fluid as this one, great job! Game is almost calming, and movement is very fluid, I like it.

eeely says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:31pm

it's being kinda glitchy for me :/. still works mostly ok. has great graphics.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:36pm

Fun.

giordanno92 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Nice idea. A very good first LD entry. It took me a while to realize I could move up and down. I've been meaning to make a game with this retro 3D feeling for a long time. Anyway I thought that maybe adding a boss battle (just one) and another type of enemy would have improved this game. Thank you for playing and rating my game too, I'm working on getting rid of some bugs that I've found and prevented people from finishing the game.

lkr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Pretty fun game with a cool retro feel to it, along with some nice background music :)

Would have been neat to see more fleshed out - maybe a post-compo version?

TheCain says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:32am

It was ok. I liked the music, but the combat was a little weird because of the perspective, and the polarity shift seemed superficial.
But, it did have a nice feel to it, and looked pretty good.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:37pm

I liked the perspective effect and the smooth enemy patterns. The game felt like it had promise but it didn't really get harder so there wasn't much to do after the first impressions. Still, very neat!

ChronoCrab says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:38am

Great sound and cool style. My only real gripe is that is was tough to know what the polarity did.

qu2 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:43am

Congratulations fellow first-timer :)
I really like your music and look forward to seeing more of yours in the future.

runvs says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Great idea. I like the billboard graphic style, this works very well. Controls feel direct and the music is nice.

The only thing that would need some improvement is the font in the main menu. Too small and hard to read (white on bright blue) but that's just a minor compaint. Well done :)

hpearson2 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:09am

I get ZZDC Error, libmikmod error :/

May 3, 2016 @ 5:46am

Love the visual style! Aiming was hard because of the perspective; a crosshair might have been nice. Congrats on your first LD!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]