Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Haunted Shift Mansion

by Fatsheep - Compo Entry

Haunted Shift Mansion is a game were you play as a ghost.
Your mansion has been infiltrated by ghost hunters.
You must fight your way to the end and find the exits.

To fight of the hunters you need to mimic objects to gain abilities.
There are 4 mimic-able objects:

Bedside-Table - Can shoot lasers form the lamp and eject the drawer.
Oven - Shoots fire, big breath and small projectiles.
Potted plant - Shoots seeds and has a devastating close range attack.
Hunter - The hunted becomes the hunter, shoots lasers and has a vacuum.

WASD to move.
F to morph.
Q and E to attack.

Made using the unity engine, paint.net and bfxr.
This is also my first LD

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Theme4.00
#154Graphics3.74
#259Humor2.81
#272Mood3.22
#285Innovation3.41
#402Audio2.83
#636Overall3.00
#694Fun2.79
#1579Coolness39%

Comments

Madball says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:54am

The game is visually appealing, but wasn't really fun to play. The difficulty is high, if I'm thrown into a room with two enemies right in front of me, I die. And if I don't, there are the same enemies in the next room. But if they just didn't happen to notice me, I can shoot them in the back as many times as I want. I understand that the reason of such difficulty is me not playing well, but that might apply to everybody who will play your game.

Controls are fine, but climbing ladders is awkward. Also, I think jumping should be with W.

I liked the idea of different props with different powers, but they are so far away from each other. If you don't like the prop you just picked up, you have to backtrack.

In conclusion, it looks like a fun idea, but I couldn't experience the whole game because of difficulty. And if I were to guess what did I miss, I would guess "just more ghost hunters". But for a first LD, it's a good game.

Gamescalation says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:21pm

The idea of the game is very nice and charming, the graphics are fitting, and so is the sound (the effects are quite well and diverse, but there maybe could be a litte ambient music) The controlls are o.k., but it often is hard to climb ladders for some reason...

In terms of game design and fun I`d say for my taste, the ability objects (don't know what else to call them ^^) are too far from each other and backtracking can be a litte tedious... also, not being able to attack as pure-ghost is understandable, but annoying, considering I pressed F instead of E in several fights und thus lost my powers.

As Madball said, the enemies tend to attack in rather large numbers and their hitboxes sometimes don`t seem to work quite as they should... Anyway - once I discovered that you can shoot projectiles across several rooms through the doors, most enemies sadly weren't much of a challenge anymore.

But overall - for a 48 hour compo entry, it is indeed a nice game to play, that has some potential if worked on furthermore ;)

Mieeh says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:02pm

Cool concept. A bit too hard in my opinion but i enjoyed the graphics alot. Great work!

tayl1r says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Pretty neat idea. I enjoyed lasering people with a spoky desk lamp.

Quique says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:53pm

It's a good idea. If you correct some bugs in level design will greatly improve ;)

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:30am

Good graphics and gameplay!

Upwily says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Fabulous game idea. However, game mechanics could be improved, sometimes i was too op if i would not be noticed, other times it was really hard

state550 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:46pm

I did encounter some bugs with the movement and getting stuck on walls but it's a very cute game.

dusho says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:31pm

hard as hell...

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:54am

this had much potential but was just too hard so i never got any momentum - great effort for your first LD tho - nice work

WizzardMaker says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:41am

It's a great idea, but I think its missing work, the only thing I could disguise as was a the sink in the first room, and those enemys deal a lot of damage, a post-compo version would be great

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:09pm

Great game with cool concept. Learning curve is for me to high. Keep up the good work.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:58pm

super fun idea, cute graphics but its a bit hard to defeat this ghostbusters ^^ Good game really good mood

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]