Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shifter

by CoderJoe - Jam Entry

Platformer with a twist. Shapeshift into other creatures to complete the levels. Press 'R' to restart a level. There is an easter egg hidden in the title screen as well :). For my first LD I'm pretty happy. Everything was made over the 72 hours and all by myself. Have fun!

Controls:
W A S D to move (S activates power)
Up, Down, Right, Left to shift creatures

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#326Theme(Jam)3.62
#515Fun(Jam)3.15
#625Overall(Jam)3.15
#687Audio(Jam)2.08
#724Innovation(Jam)2.84
#762Humor(Jam)1.90
#787Graphics(Jam)2.92
#882Mood(Jam)2.60

Comments

SetArray says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Maybe I'm just not smart enough to figure it out, but I can't figure out what you are supposed to do after you shapeshift into a spider. The jump directly above you is too tall to make it onto that platform.

CoderJoe says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Press S while under the platform. It should shoot a web up and you can walk upside down on the platform

SetArray says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Yes I restarted the level and figured that out. I just didn't notice it, my bad. Although now I'm stuck inside of a triangular platform. :)

bigbuggames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:20pm

I really enjoyed this one! Two in a row!

Really responsive control, interesting controls, cool transformations and specially...The water surface effect caught me. I also liked the jump animation and the control feedback as I said.

Keep it up!

SetArray says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Played it through. I really enjoyed the plot behind it. The relation to the theme was simple but implemented extremely well. Nice game!

KappaIX says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Like the coherent minimalist art style, found a few bits a bit unfair (I'm willing to admit I might have been being stupid), good interpretation of the theme.

Well done!

IvanFon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:30pm

I really enjoyed this! The controls work very well, I really love those water physics, and there was a lot of polish to it. One thing that annoyed me was that the red text was a bit difficult to read, but other than that, great job!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:31pm

I found the controls to be a bit oversensitive, like every time I jumped over the spikes I landed in the water, which was awkward to get out of without landing in the spikes

dringy says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:37pm

I enjoyed it, well done.

CoderJoe says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Thanks guys! Glad I worked on that water effect. Sorry about the controls and glitches (mainly getting stuck in the wall). I had no time to tweak things but I might make a second "post-LD" version. p.s. press P (and + and -) to cheat

CoderJoe says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:05pm

Started a blog during the LD. Check it out! (it only has two posts currently)
http://coderjoeblog.blogspot.com/

AnaGF says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:44pm

Challenging but cool. When I reached the red statues the game lagged a bit, took it a while to charge next scene, but other than that is a really nice game

Ironhead says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:03pm

A great challenging platformer with a great implementation of the theme. Controls were solid and the level design was also. Well done!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:26am

Easy to overshoot the intended movement, but otherwise solid platformer with shapeshifting powers.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:46am

Really freakin hard haha.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:47am

Really freaking hard haha.

Darenn says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:05pm

I had difficulties with controls, and I don't understand how I can finish the level... I am always out of energy :( But a very good game ! Congratulations !

CoderJoe says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:43pm

To save energy you have to change back into human form. Different forms use more energy.

Ibzy says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:45am

Nice simple graphics and the water physics is ace.
Shifting and movement was nice and smooth. The use of mana was a nice touch to limit how much you could use a form.

Skaz says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:53pm

Pretty close of my entry, liked the turtle! Great game.
You have a UK/US keyboard choice, I would suggest to either add an AZERTY keyboard option, or don't use letters to controls. Maybe a arrows to move / numbers to morph?

CoderJoe says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Thanks! The UK board should be set up for AZERTY. I thought thats what UK style was. If not sorry about that, just got confused

MestreRothWP says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Nice ideas!

CoderJoe says ...
May 13, 2016 @ 12:29am

Happy with my ratings! Thanks to all who played and voted!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]