Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Do Robots Dream About Yoga?

by MementoGames - Jam Entry

If you ever wondered if robots needs to stretch out and relax, this game is for you!
If you never thought about it, play and reflect about this important issue.

### DISCLAIMER ###
The music was NOT composed by us (Check the Credits). It was the hard work of Kevin Macleod (incompetech.com).
We're participating the Audio category because we want to know if we can pick the right songs, at least. And of course, some of the sound effects.
So keep that in mind while rating.

### HOW TO PLAY ###
Pose the robot by moving its limbs with the mouse to avoid fall into the pit!
There are 15 very challenging levels.
We DARE you to become the MASTER of Do Robots Dream About Yoga!

You can replay the action and even save it in GIF format*!
The GIFs are saved in the "Exported Gifs" folder in the same level as the executable.
Share your moments with all of us: link us to your gifs.

* Not in WebGL version. Sorry :(

### LINUX VERSION ###
We didn't test it with Linux, so let us know if find any trouble.
We believe that everything should work fine. The only worry is the GIF saving feature.

### UPDATES ###
- Minor bug with failing condition
- Gif was not being generated properly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#32Fun(Jam)4.00
#34Humor(Jam)4.00
#73Audio(Jam)3.90
#90Innovation(Jam)3.81
#99Overall(Jam)3.84
#161Mood(Jam)3.67
#271Theme(Jam)3.68
#445Graphics(Jam)3.50

Comments

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:46pm

nice game :)

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:06pm

pretty good game there.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:07pm

That was so much fun, I'm saving this game to show it to friends ! Good job

StMatn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:24pm

nice idea :P
its really well executed. the controls feel a little bit clunky, but the visuals and sound are really nice. I like, that the robots pile up in the front :D
great work

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:31pm

pretty unique and addictive. Could be a fun game on mobile with touch.

I would change the audio the robot says when finishing stages though. It made me think I was losing when I was winning.

t4u says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:15am

Can't pass pee-pee level. I think overall the game requires too much as it difficult to pose robot with mouse only.

It would be often the case that my robot stays on platform after the wall but the level would be considered failed. This is really not cool.

I gained a lot of respect when I have seen that game requires use of mouse + uses physics engine. Nice change from fixed position setting.

Weak Audio.

Overall: That was OK (this statement is the best in expressing how I feel about this entry)

Fierceshadow says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:52am

Fantasticly amazing

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:40am

Oh by the jesus goddammit. I was having fun and then the third came along and I really did try very hard but I just couldn't make it work. This is really hard to do without depth perception and there is virtually no margin for error. I do like the idea and the presentation is very nice. The pile of robot bodies is a nice touch.

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:54am

Hilarious, fun, funny game! Well done! Very challenging gameplay.

Skruffye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:59am

Nice game, though I did find the inverse kinematics to be a bit frustrating at times. Seemed a little arbitrary as to what direction his limbs would move in.
Overall, good job though!

dwemthy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:05am

Lot of fun

panurge says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Dare accepted and promptly failed! This is one of those games, however, in which failure accounts for a lot of the fun. :)

Great idea, charmingly executed. The choice of music was perfect.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Wow, really nicely executed! Feels very polished.

No, the robots do not dream about yoga. They dream nightmares about the horrifying pile of dead robots lying in the yoga pit. :D :D

Great work!

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Couldn't run the application on Mac, it just throws an error straight off the bat that it can't be opened. Looks like you had the same idea I did though! Wish I could try it out.

jdmazz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:28am

The fact is, this is really fun! There are two games I've played that I'd actually buy. This is one of them. :-)

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:56am

Really fun game to play, sets the right mood and I liked playback and recording the .gif options a lot!

MintArcade says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:04am

Super challenging and innovative game. Great fun playing and winning from time to time.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:22am

I've played several games with this theme, but this one is definitely one of the best. I never felt like I was really fighting the IK too much (maybe a little). The robot voice saying NOOO is absolutely hilarious.

ChrisMingay says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Think this is probably my favourite take on the theme so far, nice one :)

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Really funny gameplay and presentation. If there were a way to better tell whether you're lined up with the cut-out, since it can be hard to tell with the camera's perspective.
Great work, lots of laughs!

SUNFURY says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:13pm

wow. awesome.
But it's very hard, or I'm just really bad at this lol.
I think you should add some more space to mistakes, at least in the beggining.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:51pm

This game is real HARD (pause?) but for real nice entry will definitely show it to my friends!

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:15am

BRING ON THE WALL
WITH ROBOTS

Nice game 10/10

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:50pm

This game is so cool!
I thought about something like that too, but this 3D style fits so well, I had lots of fun. Congrats!!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:18am

Hahahahahahahahahahhahahhaha...

OttersDen says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:31pm

What a spectacular game! So much detail and the music was awesome! Extremely fun, keep it up!

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Really fun game. Gets a tough later on!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:46pm

Definitely one of the funniest entries I've played so far. Gets really difficult to get the poses right, especially since any body part going into the pit is an instant fail.

The robotic voice, combined with the poses and physics made this very entertaining to play through.

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:43pm

This is great! Really enjoyable experience, funny enough to made me almost spill my drink sometimes. I recorded a gif, but img uploaders say it's corrupted D:

the31 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:51am

Haha, cool game. I couldn't make it past The Yoga (not sure how the torso is even supposed to fit).

A few small points: due to the perspective, it was hard to tell where the hole was vertically, so I just ended up hoping that I picked the right spot. I think a big improvement in the part dragging would have been if you used the mouse pointer offset rather than snapping the center of the part to the mouse. I got used to it, but having the parts move when you just click on them was annoying, since it shifted all the parts around.

I think this fit the theme well too. Nice job, funny little game!

fenwick says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:36am

There were a couple other games like this but this is by far the best and most entertaining. The game feels really polished, the music plus the menu screens really make it feel really legit.

StrayCat says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:46am

It's really difficult to get some poses right, but it's overall a very fun game. With a bit more testing post-compo to calibrate the difficulty the game would be perfect. Nice job!

QuexD says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:09am

Nice idea and execution, very fun game overall great job!

thebrainfuse says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:13am

Love the concept! Wish i could control individual limbs without moving other parts of the body... sometimes i ended up missing by a hair's breadth!

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:15am

You got my 5* on humor! Very cool game! The holes are a little to small. Keep up the good work!

recursor says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:55am

My only criticism is I think the controls could be a bit tighter. Perhaps clicking on a joint to freeze it or something, but then that might make it too easy. It was an enjoyable entry full of personality. I especially like the robot's voice. Nice job.

VapeurTeam says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Nice game, had some good fun trying to make the robot stand the perfect way even though it can get pretty difficult for not much. It's a cute take on the theme, too
The music is well chosen, the graphics are nice and I definitely like the blasé voice of the robots :D

avinashd says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:44am

5/5 on humor, even though you ripped the sounds straight from Portal 2 :P

The movement is really imprecise, but that's kinda what makes it fun.

MementoGames says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:25pm

@Everybody
Thanks everyone for the comments! Yeah, the game turned out a little more difficult than we expected. And the controls feels a little weird sometimes, which is a bummer. We run out of time to polish it more. We're very happy that you are enjoying and having fun with our game. Thanks again!

@avinashd
First, thanks for the comments. Your accusation of we're ripping off Portal 2 is not true. We recorded and edited the robot voices by ourselves (We used my voice which kinda have a strange-high-pitch going on already). We did take a look at tutorials to make it sound more GlaDOS-ish. So we're kinda happy that you thought that the sounds were good enough for a Valve game.

avinashd says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Hey @MementoGames, sorry about the accusation, the sounds were really similar and because it was a 72 hour submission, I just assumed.

My bad. Thanks for letting me know :)

MementoGames says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:01pm

@avinashd
Hey, no hard feelings. We really took it as a compliment. :)
Keep gamedeving!

May 3, 2016 @ 5:35pm

You are featured in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmiRuxXuBqU

MementoGames says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 10:53pm

@ButtonMasherBros
AWESOME! Thank you so much!

wheerd says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Really fun game! Love the theme of it :)

medidog says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:03am

Could not get past the Peepee level, but very innovative and fun game! I enjoyed it :)

Yumeito says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 9:21am

Fun game:)

adam says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:36pm

I love the premise (best hole-in-the-wall game I have played) and the robot voice is hilarious! I like the use of the speech samples and the audience effect but I'm not rating you for audio because the music is such a big component and you didn't make it.

Main objection is that it's far too hard. I only managed to pass "The Redeemer" which meant that I ended up trying the same few poses again and again. (It's not clear why occasionally you get a new one to try anyway but usually you have to retry.) I also think it's a bit of a miss how sometimes the robot doesn't fall into the pit given that it means it doesn't add to the pile. Maybe a big scoop should push it down there like the lane reset machines in a bowling alley?

leo_p_mahon says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:21pm

Oh Wow, that was amazing! I love how the crowd sings along to the song, really seals the mood. Very hard but I enjoyed failing just as much as winning. I have to say I was not expecting the audio to be so great given that you were using Kevin Macleod music but I was definitely proven wrong!

dcolgan says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:26am

Really fun and difficult I was just happy to make it past the peepee. I gave up on Peter Pan. The look and sound was fantastic. My compliments to your composer(s). My favorite thing was how the dolls pile up in a heap. That was some super juice.

LeReveur says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:08pm

Ha Ha it's so fun ! And not so easy at it seems... I really like the humour and mood given by sound and music, very well done !

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:13am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]