Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Hunt

by Asghardian - Jam Entry

The Hunt is a game about the tale of Jekyll and Hyde, a mad scientist that by drinking a potion transformed himself into a monster

Controller:

(A - Left Arrow) - Turn player left.
(D - Right Arrow)- Turn player right.
(Space) - Change the form / Shapeshift.
(Esc) - Exit the game.


Jekyll and Hyde are running from Van Helsing, he made some traps on your way

Red Areas - You have to pass with Hyde (Muscle/Monster) one.
Blue Areas - You have to pass with Jekyl (little/skinny) one.

Be careful with your karma, getting points spheres with Jekyll will rise the blue path, and with Hyde will rise the red one, if you get a lot of karma you die, so try to balance it.



Obs: the web version its a little weird, lagging and with some texture problem, sorry about that

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#751Overall(Jam)3.00
#2304Coolness0%

Comments

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:00am

Pretty fun game. Love the visuals and audio!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Nice graphics and audio.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:38am

Unusual concept, and nice graphics

medidog says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:47am

I like the idea of integrating a classic split personality character as a shapeshifter. I do think the colors on the horizon are a bit confusing. It would help a lot to have a bar of some sort as part of the UI, to show what area is coming up next (maybe on a rolling basis as a map?) Or, fixing the colors of the game to make them more distinct would be helpful as well. I also though that the controls are a bit weird for this type of game. But overall, good effort.

rhastapunk says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Interesting entry, the auto restart made me play 5 times xD

AngerFork says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:10am

I love the theme here, and the graphics/audio is amazing! I did find it a bit confusing as to when I should shift between the two...might be worthwhile to have an extra cue to let you know when to switch.

Avon says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:31am

Cool game, the music set the mood very well. Graphically, the characters were amazing, but the simple trees, ground texture and backgrounds clashed with them.

On lower graphic settings it was difficulty to see the blue and red areas, because there was no light, some indicator that didnt dissapear at lower quality setting would help.

marvalgames says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:46pm

Like the graphics sound and mood. Strange playing an endless runner this way :) I would have preferred strafing the player as opposed to the rotating. GG

AnaGF says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Nice runner, graphics are neat for a jam, you did a nice job. Theme is cool.
I think if you blocked the camera would work better, when you turn right/left camera moves too and it is a bit messy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]