Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Left 4 Gabe 3

by VapeurTeam - Jam Entry

Left 4 Gabe 3 (Crypt of the GabenShifter) is a game where you can play Guitar Hero like the Cryptkeeper.

Made for the Ludum Dare 35 - theme: ShapeShift

In this game, you're experimenting over a poor gamedev.
You will have to turn him into a legit Gabe clone.
Careful though, you may end up with some sleazy slug!

You have to purify some mutagen to create the Gabe clone.
To do so, press arrows on your keyboard in time with mutagen lumps that scroll alongside 4 tubes connected to your guinea piggy.

Go shape your Gabe!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#19Humor(Jam)4.18
#63Audio(Jam)3.94
#257Graphics(Jam)3.85
#306Fun(Jam)3.39
#398Mood(Jam)3.28
#483Theme(Jam)3.42
#546Overall(Jam)3.24
#747Innovation(Jam)2.81

Comments

Alphius says ...
Apr 16, 2016 @ 5:21pm

The download link redirects to twitter. ^^'

VapeurTeam says ...
Apr 16, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Hi Alphius, you're right, we made a mistake indeed. Thanks for your comment!

Actually, we don't have a proper first playable yet - but we will post it tomorrow if everything's on the right tracks.

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:39pm

I love the looks of this game. Nice going on "Crypt of the GabenShifter" too. Awesome :D

However, I couldn't play. Could you create a WebGL export with Unity? I'd also recommend hosting on itch.io.

MalyTimi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Love the idea and art :D Humor 5 stars / music 5 stars Graphics 5 stars

Blobo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:42pm

Pretty great. the music was rockin', and the art was pretty fabulous too. however you can always win by mashing all the arrow keys.

Titan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Did you just put the web file inside a .rar archive for download ?
The menu start but I couldn't enter the game.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Hi, I'm from VapeurTeam /o/
We struggled a bit to upload the game somewhere proper, but now when you click the Web link, you get to our itch.io page where you can play the game.
Otherwise, you can always download the executable.

Have fun~

Inateno says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:35am

was funny to see the corpse change, but was sad about the fact that music doesn't is changed by the wrong/correct answer :(

JOK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:36am

Great graphics, cool music that is well synced with the gameplay. Nice replayability too! :D

Cowa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:38am

That was fun!

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:42am

Should make Gabe to see it :D

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:50am

80% discount yeah /o/ it's a bit hard to look out at 4 directions at the same time, but it was fun !

davidkanc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:18am

very nice and funny idea. The art good too but its a bit hard if you play as you should to do but... you can push all keys at same time so I probably got the max score hehehe and a handsome and powerfull gabe ;)

JefePapaya says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:10pm

The soundtrack is great. Suits the game nicely.
Good sense of humor.

Kudos

Garazbolg says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Kinda hard, i've never been good at guitar hero, so looking at 4 places at the same time !?! But really really fun game.

neondx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:11pm

HIHIHI

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:07am

Really funny game! Had fun playing too, good job

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:50am

Lots of polish and nice little touches to add to the humour, like the background items from TF2, Portal, CS etc. and great quality soundtrack. Challenging, in a good way, with tracking incoming orbs from multiple directions, need to keep track and react quickly. Good job!

themadknights says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:54am

HAHAHAHHAHAHAHA. It is a nice game, the problem is that gameplay is a harder than expected because the balls are too separated, and it is hard to see all in the correct order. Something more like DDR (with the buttons at top but together) or Guitar Hero should be better.

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Awesome!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:07pm

That was great! Loved the artwork and it was fun watching gabe transform. Super frantic gameplay. And the music matched up really well. All around every aspect was super polished. Great game!

Uson Chen says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:29am

Very funny ! Great game name ! Imaginative image of Gabe ! haha

thedashdude says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:06am

I liked the idea of the changing how gabe did based on how well you were doing, but I thought there were too many incoming pellets at a time.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:27am

That was funny! Kkkk artwork and audio was great! Although it felt a bit unresponsive, sometimes i pressed the button but the mutagen would pass not purified (or it seemed like so). Also some more feedback (maybe audio?) if you're doing it right or wrong..

Anyway greats work!

LevieDAudio says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:55am

The game thumbnail absolutely had my attention. After playing the game, I wasn't disappointed: This is a really really funny game! Just the whole concept itself is just so silly; I love it!

The gameplay definitely takes a bit of getting used to first; it's not easy to keep your eye on all 4 of the tubes starting out!

The music was nice and, personally, I'm a sucker for rhythm games, so I quite enjoyed the level provided! I feel like it got too complicated too quickly though. You need to make sure that you give the player enough time to practise the game mechanics so they can be sure they know what they're doing! When the difficulty began to ramp up I was still in that stage where I was thinking "I'm pushing the buttons... am I doing this right?"

But anyway, yeah, really good presenation overall on the game! Nice graphics, audio, and gameplay! Very fun! Going to rate this highly! Well done!

Also, my highscore was 150! Not sure how good that is though! :P

Rock Eaters says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:05pm

make 82pt.. nice draws and really really cool music but maybe gameplay can be improved i didnt get the timing .....

May 9, 2016 @ 8:26pm

I can't hold it in when the controller appeared over his crotch XD
Very nice haha
I think the pipes could become more 3D-like by curving the rings like )))))), that way it would blend in better with the rest of the game screen

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]