Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Trio

by rumscki - Compo Entry

My first decent Game Maker creation :D.

You take the roles of a Knight, Wizard, and an Archer that shift from one to another.

Knight: short range, tanky, short jumps, slow movement speed, almost no attack cooldown.

Wizzard: medium range, longest attack cooldown, good movement speed, good jump height.

Archer: biggest range attack, medium attack cooldown, fastest movement speed, highest jump.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#159Theme3.83
#366Fun3.28
#428Graphics3.11
#591Overall3.06
#603Innovation2.89
#667Mood2.59
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

gmoddan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:46pm

I enjoyed this, however I feel like the wizard and archer are objectively better than the knight because you can hide from damage, hit from range and dodge attacks/enemies easily.

But yeah, quite enjoyed this, I really liked the switching mechanic, makes you time out how you are going to do the level.

runvs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Hi there,
very well executed. I really like the three different characters. The levels are designed well and the player/enemies are super cute :)
A Soundtrack would have made this game even better! :)

hijomo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:36pm

the switching mechanic was interesting, a little bit of back story would make it a lot better. the platforming mechanic are solid. good consistent theme. the wizard and archer seem to overlap in ability.

Jimbly says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:40pm

That was a lot of fun! Unlike some other game called "Trine" you've probably never heard of, I like how this one forces me to use all characters some of the time, instead of just sticking with the one I like most ;). I think I made it to the final boss, but unfortunately was unable to defeat her.

TeamSoulmyst says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:54pm

That was certainly interesting. I like the switching mechanic, but I was annoyed that the fighter was only useful if I had already closed to melee with an archer/wizard before switching to it, since it couldn't do much of the platforming. There were a couple points when I did manage to close, but was still unable to connect hits with an archer enemy. It got its chance to shine on the final boss though. I like how I was often better off if I picked my fights carefully, as taking a fighter against a fighter is often a brutal duel of attrition where I could have easily kited them down with another class, while a fighter-to-wizard battle is quickly and cleanly resolved in my favor. I did find it a bit odd that my starting life was 50, but after dying I respawned at 100. The bossfight at the end was cool, but it was over pretty quickly with the fighter's attack power.

rumscki says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:40pm

Yeah. I forgot to fix the health points when I was doing my final adjustments. It is such a simple thing to fix and yet I didn't notice it at the time. :\

ginger9 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:05am

It seems that the basic shape is useless :\
But nice game.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:21pm

Loved the smug grin of the Wizard! The idea is neat, but I wish I could make the switching faster because now I had situations where I felt I couldn't progress until I had shifted shape. Very nice, though!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:07am

Haha trine! I liked the art but would have liked a little more differentiation between the characters. :)

EighthNote says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:19pm

This was simple but really fun! I liked the Mario-style sound effects. The knight felt a bit underpowered (maybe if he had some sort of block ability it would be more balanced?)

marvalgames says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Very fun. Pick up n play feel. Nicely polished cool little character graphics and solid levels. Good work all around. No real complaints here.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]