Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Do-od

by omlette.du.fromage - Jam Entry

Do-od: A fun little game with simple shape-shifting elements!

Do-od aproaches Shape-shifting by having the player change the environment around the character. As a team we felt that it would be more challenging to have the player respond to the character and not the other way around.

We are waiting for your feedback :)

CHANGELOG:
* Fixed impossible enemy speed in Level 9
* Fixed malfunctioning enemy patrol trajectories in Levels 15, 23, 30, 36
* Fixed texture sizing for Web and Android

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#23Innovation(Jam)4.24
#24Overall(Jam)4.14
#61Theme(Jam)4.08
#66Graphics(Jam)4.37
#78Fun(Jam)3.83
#86Mood(Jam)3.89
#111Audio(Jam)3.77
#146Humor(Jam)3.43

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:08am

Awesome game :)

MintArcade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:12am

This is so cool!!! I like visuals and audio - clearly you put much time and effort into this - it's amazing. Now my children will play this all day long...

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:17am

Wow guys, this is top notch, I'd to play this in work on my phone getting 3 stars on every level. Super polished as well. Looks great, sounds great and great fun to play. Great! My first 5* game today.

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:18am

This game is good. But the levels with the dragons are pretty hard they can get tedious.
Played till level 13

thomz12 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:18am

Very good game! Visuals are nice, music fits the game, and the gameplay is fun. Good job!

Manou says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:18am

Liked the gameplay!

Rakowu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:20am

Good music, great concept, and nice level design. Good work.

LeoM says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:21am

I stoped at lvl 17, starting to be difficult to me and I have plenty of other games to play. ;)

Nice one, theme is respected and game is well executed.
I liked little details like the credit page sorting in random order ! ^^

Wan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:31am

The idea is very original, the graphics are pretty cool and the whole thing is fluid and well-polished, nice job!

After playing for a while I have mixed feelings about the gameplay though. While moving around the floor and ceiling is pretty fun and satisfying in itself, I'm sitting at level 20 and... to be honest I have no idea what I'm doing. I may be playing it wrong, but I have a hard time predicting how do-od will react to my moves, and I feel like most of my wins are luck-based rather than skill-based.

Now, having a mostly luck based game can be a valid direction to take, but I can't help thinking the game would have been more satisfying if the controls and player behavior were tweaked to make them more predictable.

It was still fun to play anyway, and I would love to read about how you implemented the curve-bending thing. Nice work everyone!

ChatPion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:32am

It's a fun challenging game.
Graphics are cute, and create with the music a happy and cute mood.
The music is a bit too repetitive though, and it's hard to have a correct speed.

And damn, that last level was super hard ! :)

Chaoclypse says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:37am

Excellent! Incredible amount of polish in every part of the game. Original and refreshing take on the theme that I've not seem elsewhere, and a cute and lighthearted approach that makes the game incredibly endearing. On top of that, the game is really fun to play! I love it!

siryakko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:42am

I'm litterally a fan of that game. The doodling art is neat, the music (a bit repetitive) still good, the main idea as well, need it on my phone right now. Just when you have two line against each other is not always easy to correctly drag only one at a time.

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:44am

Well implemented game.

mar3k says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:51am

Really well made, only thing I would change is probably the rating, it seems way too easy to get all 3 stars. Big thumb up

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:57am

This is really cool!!
Good music, sounds, concept and the art.
Really good entry.
Good Job!

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:59am

Really well done, amazing amount of content for a LD game.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:00pm

@all: Thanks a lot. We really appreciate all the feedback and we're so grateful that you guys like it.

@mar3k: True, we didn't have enough time to thoroughly set the 3 star threshold for all levels.

@Wan: Thanks for the feedback. For the implementation, the repository is available at https://github.com/dapetcu21/omlette-du-fromage Look in RopeController.cs

@rodobodolfo: There's an Android apk available on itch.io. We're also considering polishing it further and putting it on Play Store.

Millefey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:37pm

Wonderfully polished game (on many levels!) with a great feeling and cuteness factor. Played it till level 14 but I might come back to it later! It would work really awesome on a handheld device I think. Oh, and it was fun to see the credits order change!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:45pm

Great little game.

usonchen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Very cute game :).It is suitable for pad .
Good job.

WizzardMaker says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:53pm

Nice little game, makes fun, but its no the type of game I would play

Goutye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Well polished, and above all, great use of the theme! Played until lvl 29, was becoming a bit hard! Well done!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Found you through your comment on our game! :) Cute aesthetic and great potential for a mobile title if explored more.

iapc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Great game, has a good difficulty with the dragons. Satisfying gameplay with great graphics and audio.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Cute game, very pro ! Gameplay is excellent !

CasualCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:04pm

Wow really interesting game mechanic, I can't even begin to understand how one would make that possible. The art is really cute and so is the music and audio. The puzzles felt a little repetitive and it was easy to just force your character around with the walls until enemies appeared. But >30 levels?!? That's just some good hard work and good team collaboration!

glitchu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:15am

Wow this game was awesome. 5 stars on everything for me but the humour. Excellent work guys

sndr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:05pm

Great mechanic and the cutest character! :)
Would be an awesome mobile/tablet game!

Sean says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:34pm

Not really my type of game, but definitely a well-executed entry!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:20pm

Awesome game, it reminded me of cut the rope games in a way, great mood, good graphics, the audio is really good, the only thing bad is that the music is too repetitive to me, i ended up getting overwhelmed by the same sound again and again, great job nonethless!

Fartenko says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:21pm

So cute :3
I really enjoyed the game! Graphics and music are cute. Gameplay is... i dont know... its Awesome (and cute)!
Overall amazing game!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:32pm

I love this game which is really interesting by its concept and exploited physics. So cute. The prime idea is great and the realisation fully polished. It could be more pleasant on mobile device. One of my favorites for this LudumDare session. Thank you ++

MalyTimi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:32pm

This game made my day :D Very good concept, cute artstyle, fun to play 5/5 in all cetegories :D

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Don't need to tell you how awesome this game is. You already know it!

Jukepoks1 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Really simple and easy to play! This could be on touchscreens! Funny doodle graphics, cute ouch sound. Now add some nice backgrounds on it and you're golden!

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Cool gameplay mechanic, very creative. The art and music are amazing. Congrats

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:09am

OMG I loved it!!! Great music, fun gameplay, very relaxing and nice game. I would definitly play it before going to bed. Overall style reminds me ezjoy games.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:47pm

Very lovely :) Pretty graphics, good sound design, very enjoyable :)

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

sadenly says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:42pm

really cool and smooth gameplay! The art and music are all in one style, very solid!

blackname says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Awesome, I love the idea and the graphics are so cute. Sometimes is hard to know how the character will bounce over the curve but the gameplay is very smooth it's easy to retry.

AuthorX says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Very nice on web browser, but I tried to use the apk and after download my phone couldn't install it (not a permission issue, it said there was a problem with the file)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Thanks everyone for your support :D
We are really glad that you enjoy our game.


@Freank we added the game with that tag, same name Do-od.

@AuthorX unfortunately, we got no idea why you have that issue.

Garris says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:24pm

I love the graphics and the audio of this game! And it was really really fun to play! I think it was a bit of a stretch for the theme, but I loved it anyway! Really fun game!

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Beautiful drawings, nice idea of shifting the limits as a control

Tegu says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:16am

Really interesting take on the theme. There are suprising many levels for a game jam game. Some of them are quite tricky to get to three stars and occasionally I think I was just lucky with the bounces and timings. The gameplay, the graphics, the music.. the whole game feels polished. I am not quite sure if the star rating was based on time (or bounce count?) or the shapeshifts used, probably time. Also, sometimes grabbing the lines didn't seem to register or it dragged two lines at ones (well, understandable, since they were close to each other).

Perfect for mobile!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:01pm

Very nice game with cute designs and nice gameplay! =)

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Really rad and complete game!
The mechanic is unique, the visual and audio are completely well worked! Congratulations!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:13am

Super great game. Well done.

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:53pm

great idea, super cute graphism. Just got problems to catch the line some time. But very cool :)

derr says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:12am

Such a cool idea and super cute game. :D

Omiya Games says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Very solid game, with a ton of levels. Found the path the character was going to take difficult to predict. Would have liked a real-time path-predicting so I can better plan my course of action. Excellent job!

Aaranos says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:54pm

Seemed simple at first, then came the horrible fast dragging of narrowing it into a tunnel.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]