Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Prisoner of Elements

by EdoCreate - Jam Entry

The basis of the game: change the elements from which depend on the ability of the character and its strengths and weaknesses
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2016/04/17/prisoner-of-elements/

!!!The goal in level - to reach the magic portal!!!
Method of killing depends from form of character
!!!Stone should ram enemy pressing the left mouse button. He's strong and armored, but slow.
!!!Fire can ram too, but he's also can shooting by fireball.
!!!Air can shoot by wind. It harm only red enemyes and push others, but you can push them into traps. He's most fastes.

Reshaping is carried out:
MLB- special attack
A-key -air
S-key - stone
F-key - fire

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#750Humor(Jam)1.94
#804Theme(Jam)2.98
#950Mood(Jam)2.43
#967Innovation(Jam)2.46
#1062Fun(Jam)2.32
#1130Overall(Jam)2.48

Comments

dcolgan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:26am

Not really enough here to hold my attention long enough to figure out what is supposed to happen in a game with already unclear goals.

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:30am

It is not clear what to do.
Try to make a greater distance from the main figures!
Thanks for your game!

allstar602 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:31am

Interesting concepts. I enjoyed experimenting with the different powers. However it became frustrating after a while because I could not progress through the level. I would figure things out then be confused by a game mechanic. For example, the boulder would get stuck in the corner and I could not push it onto the pressure plate. This could be easily fixed with little info boxes teaching the player how things work. Other than that I thought it was interesting.

SgtBursk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:35am

Good job, dude!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:05am

Nice game! But it could be a little simple or you could put a tutorial on it. But its a nice game in overall!

Rico says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:09am

What to do in this game and what's about with this voids and pawns following them?

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:11am

Rico, you need to kill them

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:14am

Rammed them in the form of stones, shoot and rams in the form of fire. In the form of air can attack the fire (red) enemies.

Ramayana says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:02pm

The game is not clear on its goals. Too bad, the concept could have been good but it fails at catching interest.
Despite all, good job it's not easy to do something working.

Cerberus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Cool game, the control was really interesting, confusing at first but great once you get the hang of it. the graphics are simple but right on the spot congrats. overall i think its a great game. awesome work!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:17am

The concept seems interesting.But it's difficult to figure out what do elements do and what just happened.

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:25am

It's a little confusing, but good job!

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:27am

good game, i like it

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:17am

The game play is cool but distracting. I would appreciate is some guide is there to play it. :p Just put some help to help gamers to play it. Game mechanics is flawed but could be improved. good luck !

ziege says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:10pm

Pretty interesting. But the mouse controls felt a bit uncomfortable and the levels are a bit too large so they feel kinda empty at times.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:11pm

Congrats for complete the game!

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Nice game! Could move a bit faster but anyways a great game.

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:17pm

It is not very clear what you have to do and how it works.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:08pm

A tutorial would have been nice, also I've had a few errors on my first play, don't know why.
Apart from this, it's cool you created all this form of character and killing system !

merzlot says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:32am

I like how you made the controls, movement feels nice and intuitive. Good game!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:55pm

Unfortunately the visuals actively fight against the gameplay. Considering the lack of category, I assume you're aware. Shame, because it's otherwise intriguing enough!

terop says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:00am

nice grid

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]