Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Cat-Astro-Phe

by banana.hammers - Jam Entry

After 2 days of hard work we managed to make something cool.
Space magicians killing angry kittens.
Do you want to ShapeShift into the sun or into the moon?
Try to stay alive and win!

We would like to hear your feedback :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#301Audio(Jam)3.33
#409Humor(Jam)2.68
#451Theme(Jam)3.46
#464Graphics(Jam)3.47
#590Mood(Jam)3.04
#619Fun(Jam)3.03
#650Innovation(Jam)2.93
#737Overall(Jam)3.03

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:07am

Awesome game :)

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:34pm

It was painfully fun and enjoyable!:D Thanks for the great work!

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:35pm

I like the transformation effect. nice job

Fabraz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Lots of people went for the arena-platformer survivor this theme around! Interesting take on that genre once again!

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Attack speed seems arbitrary variable and a lower spawn limit would be nice. Good graphics and sound though.

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Fun Game!

But don't you have any highscore?

Jerre says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Good title. Didn't manage to finish it. The AI was a bit too strong for me, always ended up surrounded by cats haha

tanis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:25pm

It took me a bit to understand how it worked until I read the help :-P D'oh!

It's a nice variation on the theme.

BTW I managed to fall off the screen by jumping somewhere near the lower left corner of the screen :)

sudorossy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Great fun! Controls were nice! Sometimes I seemed to jump REALLY high though?

Music was the boss!

Drusilla says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:40pm

The pickups are hard to grab when mobbed. All those foxes...

ketura says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:12pm

So Ikaruga as a platformer. That help screen needs to be mandatory, lol. The spawn rate is waaaay too high.

Overall not bad, though.

Pusty says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Nice idea. Sound and graphics are really nice!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:36am

I don't manage to finish the game but the game is fun.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:08am

Haha, love it!!! i think the difculty curve needs some adjusting but besides that i thibnk its pretty well balanced. nice work :)

mrStrings says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:05am

Hey, the music and overall vibe of the game are pretty good!
I did find the movement a little strange - however, I understand how hard can it be to create good platformer physics in so little time.

By the way, if you are interested in my entry, it is on my teammate's account. You can check WolfBit here:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=87729

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Oh man! It's so hard! But I can't stop clicking Replay! :D

bodsey says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:25pm

Were we supposed to play this cooperatively? Because we did, it was fun but still hard :/ Nice job

Reiv says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:15am

Funny concept and smooth controls :). Well done!

LeReveur says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Hard to handle at start, but really fun, good job :)

APantaloni says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Awesome name :) And the game is very good too! The only slightly confusing thing for me is that I'd expect Q to morph into the sun, as it's shown on the left on the UI. Very minor nitpick, I know. Fun and well made game, congrats!

terryg says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:31am

So many cats ... such a hard game, but I enjoyed the transformation effects and graphics!

Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Really like the music and art style, a fun entry.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 9:30pm

I really like the moutain and platform , less the character.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]