Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Mighty 10tackle

by TheMightyTeam - Jam Entry

Finally the time has come!!!. Two alien races of squares battle for the supremacy of the square race in the universe. The prize is the right to invade earth and kill the human race. Yummie!

You are a humble green square willing to beat the despicable, merciless, unregrettable and a bit dummy, violet squares. You are afraid but you are not alone though. Two teams of 10 squares will fight to “Capture the Flag” of the enemy base (It is a game, but you know, this is how things are handled in the outer worlds).

Unluckily, every time you grab the flag you SHAPESHIFT in an attractive, juicy and irregular trapezoid. You should rely in your ability to return to your base and recover your appearance and INCREASE YOUR SCORE.

How to Score:
- 1 POINT if you pick the flag (yendor's amulet or whatever it is) in the enemy base.
- 3 POINTS if you return to your base shapeshifted as trapezoid.

Some tips during gameplay:
- If you don't know where the enemy base is, follow the bullets.
- You will hear a YOU WIN/YOU LOSE after a period of time (not shown on screen, as it is more fun). That means you have done a good/(surprisingly) bad job restraining the violet mighty attack.

Controls:
Arrow keys to move
Space to shoot

This game has been written by a team composed of:

- hmightypirate: creative, some code, AI and (part of the) idea.
- punkto: code, some creative, and (the other part of the) idea.
- eLeDe: some art, sound effects and music.

We have used LIBGDX, as in our past games.
Tiled for the map.
Sound effects: Sfxr and Audacity
Music: beepbox.co


Keywords:
HTML5
web
arcade
battle
platform
team
ai

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#490Audio(Jam)2.95
#585Humor(Jam)2.36
#754Fun(Jam)2.85
#949Innovation(Jam)2.48
#950Mood(Jam)2.43
#957Overall(Jam)2.76
#1037Graphics(Jam)2.23
#1058Theme(Jam)2.30

Comments

chintinho says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:40am

Great game! Great squares! The music is very additive!

joekinley says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:16pm

I have NO idea what happened. First the screen was tiny and somehow off, then the speed was very fast, the controls were dodgy, I had no idea what to do and where to go, but in the end i Won? That was interesting

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Well, that was mayhem, but good fun.

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:43pm

I don't know what just happened!

Upwily says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:44pm

moving up on the screen is somewhat funky and not all that intuitive, but i guess it adds to the general mood quite well

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:26pm

Honestly it's a little hard to take in what's happening. The game seems amusing in it's own way but a little too confusing for my tastes. Also, the music get's pretty annoying fast. Other then that, no complaints here. Game has potential, great entry!

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:18pm

It's really fluid nice gameplay, why is the web build so small in resolution though ?

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Hi there!

We have used 16x16 pixel tiles so the game window appear small. Try maximize on desktop or CTRL+ on your browser for a better experience.

And regarding the game speed and craziness... It's arcade time! Shot! go left so you reach the ring, transform into a trapezoid, shot your way home! SCORE!

gglyptodon says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Fun game w/ good, fitting sound.
Like the map design! Plus, the story makes a lot of sense. :D

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:41pm

It's crazy!!!! ...but so addictive!! Congratulations!! :)

neontropics says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:24pm

LOVE the Bubble Bobble graphics.

It does get a bit too confusing sometimes but the feeling when you manage to sneak in and grab the flag is definitely worth it! Very satisfying.

tobia88 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:54am

It seems to be a concept of online multiplayer shooting games, but the things is i've no idea what am i playing in the game, i often shoot my stupid ai teammate and i still won the game in the end, not fun at all

endel says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:12am

Would be really great as a multiplayer game. Unfortunately it is really hard to get that many users connected and engaged at the same time. Most of the times I got killed was by friendly units. Good job!

SoulBound says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Very nice music.

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:20pm

I WIN! really quite fun! I felt like I was back in Halo 2 CTF. Except with blocks. And little pew pew sounds. And pixely. but still great fun! :D

axoona says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:03pm

Well that was quite a havoc! Took me a while to understand what was going on (ie that I was part of a team)
I really find the concept very innovative.
I just think the controls could be a bit improved (I had a feeling that they were not very responsive)

Crefossus says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:42am

Very exciting and an enjoyable time. I sort of liked figuring out what was going on and finding optimal paths.

The music is catchy/bouncy and provides the proper atmosphere.

GJ! If you plan on working on it more:
The sfx work (I especially like the voice acted sounds) but the shriek is too high pitch/frequent for my taste.

For the movement - maybe could use air control all the time (there are a few cases where you can't). Alternatively, just make it not platform based (this game makes me think of subspace/continuum on overdrive- that's a good thing). Faster death/respawn times (perhaps keep the death time if you are the flag). You lose control for a bit too long imo. Maybe the flag can drop?

Could use indicator for who has the flag/where on map regardless. Otherwise - needs a bit more feedback if the flag is there or not besides just the text. It's obvious once you learn it, but until then it's a little confusing.

I thought for a second that you could push the corpse of the flag holder around - that might be fun for clutch victory but it seems like it's a bit too short of a time for it to work now.

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:41am

Thanks Crefossus for your valuable feedback!

Of course, we will be working in it to polish code and gameplay.

We also plan to add a bit more complexity to the AI and many other details (new platforms) after Ludum dare is over. Stay tuned!

terop says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:00am

Worked fine, and the game was pretty fun. Nice boxes and they moved pretty fast and smootly.

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:10pm

It remind me of tank game elements. Just require few shooting bots. I liked the concept

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:37am

LOL that was some intense square battles. WASD keys might have worked better though. Jumping was also not quite responsive. This would be an awesome multiplayer mayhem. Good job.

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Played the game without reading the instructions and really didn't know what was going on :P Played it another again after reading them and managed to capture a flag I think? Confusing but fun ;)

logiclogue says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 6:47am

Very nice game. It was an interesting idea. I really liked the music!

euske says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:15am

I wasn't really sure what was going on, but it said I won so I guess it's okay.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]