Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Space Dock

by HoldMeImScared - Compo Entry

You dock your ship with the platform. The jerk thing spins, though. Captain Skyhawk was the inspiration here.


Controls:
Arrows/WASD = Movement. Left/Right to rotate, Up/Down to move forward and back.
R to restart
Q to quit
Enter works on the title screen to bypass clicking the button.


So this is my first LD, and my first non-tutorial Game Maker project that I've actually finished -- I'm pretty happy with that.

I was not enthused with the theme, but managed to think of something that skirted it closely enough and got it done. The shapes which comprise the docking platform shift around, and though it's done in the manner of levels, the ship's shape changes as you progress.

Did a ton of new things, learned a lot, and solidified some of what I already knew, which is always nice.

Tools:
Game Maker Studio
Bog standard Microsoft Paint (I know)
Game Maker's Sprite/BG editor (I know, I know)
BFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#164Humor3.08
#459Fun3.14
#568Audio2.26
#606Overall3.05
#618Mood2.69
#661Graphics2.66
#786Innovation2.55
#816Theme2.68

Comments

cubegames13 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:58am

This was fun! The graphics are basic but the gameplay was good. (Some of the later level titles are pretty funny too(-: )

Alphius says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:12am

The concept was really good. The ship movement was really good! Maybe you should add some kind of inertia on the ship. When you release the forward/backward buttons you keep moving slower and slower until you're finally stopped. The game was really great though!

Apr 17, 2016 @ 8:06pm

@Alphius: I added a small amount of drift as you suggested. This also revealed a minor bug, which I have also corrected. Thank you :)

TechXSoftware says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:13am

I thinks its the graphics that give it a real boost :)

uheartbeast says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:21am

Easy controls, good gameplay, and funny dialog. I really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.

wtfrara says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:34am

Cute little game, well-scoped and focused. An interesting take on the theme, too. I definitely enjoyed the lo-fi graphics and thought they helped to give a bit of ambience, despite a relatively simple theme. Definitely something that's replayable and fun. Good work!.

srakowski says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:48am

Fun little game, hard in a good way. The orientation of the controls make it challenging. Well done :)

TideS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:18am

Gratz with your first LD mate, if there was more advanced graphics it would be near perfect for compo. Anyways i enjoyed the gameplay a lot!

cubegames13 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:39am

My last comment was from before voting time so I have to post a second one for my rating to count

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:42pm

Pretty neat little game :)

Pecolyte says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Sometime I found a perfect timing right at start, but then realized that I must press Enter to get the controlls available...
The game can be rather challenging as the ship get bigger, and I can think of many kind of external elements.
And congrats for your first LD!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:21pm

The ship handles well. To make it a bit more interesting I tried to plan my dive in when I could maneuver to it quickly.

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:01am

As you mentioned, light take on the theme but good fun otherwise and it does what it intends to do. Nice one.

Controls felt a bit odd at first for a ship in space but you get used to it.

It's finished, it does the job and has everything required. Good one, kudos.

Eshford says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Pretty awesome game for first Ludum Dare! :)

Divitos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Good job, I enjoyed it.

Keep up the game dev.

seitnerk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:04pm

Spent many trys and tons of restarts to pass the last level buut had a lot of fun with it! It makes me addicted to beat the level. :D
I would enjoy some more levels with different barriers :)

kariamoss says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:01pm

Basic graphics, but it's quite fun to play :)

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:11am

You broke your little ship! lol!! i like it! I did my game in Game Maker as well! Nice work

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:31am

That is a really good game for a first time. Way better than mine

ajayajayaj says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Only got to the third level. Wish you didn't have to keep going to the beginning everytime you lost.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:17am

@ajayajayaj: You know, that was something I did consider for this. I decided it was so short that it might be better to start over from the beginning on it, more like older arcade games - but it wasn't a very firm decision, really. But I can see where it could be a little frustrating, especially given that games don't generally work like that anymore, expectations have changed a bit. This feedback is something I'll keep in mind in the future, thank you! :)

Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Welcome to Ludum Dare ! It's a nice game you made there, especially for a first one. I enjoyed playing it and it kept me engaged until I beat it after many tries. Wish my first game ever was that good.

Shizor says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:54am

Nice little game, I love the small bits of story inbetween :D

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:31pm

The game is funny, but I have not seen the "shapesift" concept. Anyway nice entry!

csanyk says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:06pm

Pretty good Star Castle variant:)

A few tips:

1) when you die, restart from last level, not the beginning.
2) When the narrative words appear to start the level, don't spin the dock until the player clears them so they can start moving. Very often it seems like there was a chance for a quick win if they could move immediately, but reading the words delays them and they miss an opportunity for a quick win.

Otherwise pretty good game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]