Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Home Sweet Home

by wheerd - Compo Entry

You are a house - a magic house in the middle of a modern metropolis.

And you are about to be demolished to make room for more sky scrapers.

You must use your magic shape-shifting abilities to keep the tenants happy, or else...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#124Innovation3.76
#286Theme3.64
#330Humor2.58
#357Fun3.29
#404Graphics3.18
#466Overall3.21
#677Mood2.58

Comments

TP2k says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:20am

A very good concept. What goes on in your mind to think of s shapeshifting house?! ;)

mikedirl says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:21am

Interesting idea, starts off very simple but gets more challenging quickly. I like your graphic style as well.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:23am

Cool little game. A few simple sounds would add a lot. People move a bit slowly for my taste. Levels started very easy then got very hard. I would be inclined to strip things back a bit and make it snappier. Could work well on a touch screen with swiping. Hope you keep working on it. Well done.

ogre says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:37am

Clever game. The time limit seems unnecessary once the levels start getting harder. Several levels that seem like you were trying to get me to do some specific thing were much easier to just move the destination over next to the dudes (the three "bridge" levels all had exactly the same solution this way.) I somehow got a guy stuck outside of the hallways in an empty square on the first large level, and of course couldn't shift anything in to his square, had to reset.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:15am

Interesting idea. Graphics look nice and give the game a retro feel. Controls worked good. Puzzles were a bit too hard for me though.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:28am

A very nice idea :) The game has a very steep difficulty increase in level "crossed concerns".
Also, making the rows and columns of the target tiles fixed, might help avoid "cheating" the level design by just moving the target to the people.

I like your game. Good work :)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:38am

A very nice Idea, Level 4 is really hard. You've build the way but he walks his way, maybe it would be better if time stops after you build the way.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:02pm

But the controls make it very hard to play, because there are some many buttons. But great use of the theme.

TLansdale says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:02pm

Great idea, it is a little frustrating waiting for people to make their route to their target once it's clear, but other than that nicely-executed. Good job!

zwrawr says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:04pm

Like the game , on occasion it bugged out http://prntscr.com/atqdt8

akirassasin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:10pm

Fun puzzle, the difficulty flew up on "Crossed Concerns" level.

dem tenant go chew on your sofa and sit on your fridge :P

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:10am

it reminds me of the bard game Labyrinth ! loved that game :D well cool, it could use a few animation for the bloc movement and the time limit is a bit unnecessary

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:29am

very good idea, but hard to do on computer - touch would work really well - still solid idea and nicely done

adrian09_01 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Wow. Cool theme use.

dringy says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Very cool, I felt like a cheat for just moving the target room next to the characters every time.

arhpositive says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:13pm

Pretty decent idea and nice execution. A bit hard but I enjoyed it!

2kah says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:20pm

Very nice idea! There was a bug where sometimes people would walk onto blank squares but I don't think it broke any levels :)

marvalgames says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:16pm

A little TOO deep for a quick play. Deserves more work on an excellent concept. Good graphics

jofra says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Hard game! x)
Very nice concept.

knason says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:07pm

I like this one a lot. It's super fun and really well executed. Good job!

fin_nolimit says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:32pm

lol I like the concept. The first level was perfectly easy but I thought I was losing each time because I was not sure what was happening.... but then I figured it out and got to some much more complicated levels! Nice take on the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]