Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Jugales

by OrangePop - Jam Entry

Jugales (working title) is a game about blacksmithing. Heat the sword in the furnace, straighten it out over the anvil, douse it in the trough and get paid for your hard work. Or bend it to your will and give it your own twist.

Space to pick up/put down the sword,
WASD QE and Middle Mouse to move and rotate the sword,
Left Click to swing the hammer,
Right Click while holding a sword to keep the sword in place,
N to reset sword position.

Best played in fullscreen.

This is our first time as a team working on a game. Glad we were able to get it out.

EDIT: I just made a build for Mac OS/X and Linux, but none of our team has machines to test run them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#190Innovation(Jam)3.58
#367Theme(Jam)3.57
#519Mood(Jam)3.13
#539Audio(Jam)2.84
#556Humor(Jam)2.41
#560Overall(Jam)3.23
#636Graphics(Jam)3.16
#761Fun(Jam)2.84

Comments

d3garcia says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:08am

Downloaded the OS X version but got Windows files :S

ramza says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:00am

Hey that was fun. I got a little lost in the swinging of the hammer and found the game very relaxing.

Fierceshadow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:00am

Can't figure out how to do stuff ;(

olkeencole says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:12am

This was a great concept! One of those ones where you have to say to yourself "why didn't I think of that?" The hammer meter was also great idea. I probably would've just put in a simple binary input, but the meter adds much more to it. Great job!

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:22am

"Downloaded the OS X version but got Windows files :S" Same here.

Geti says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:22am

Relaxing to do but not really deep enough for me to tinker for more than a few swords ;) Would have liked slightly deeper deformation than just up/down but it was a neat idea.

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:53am

Fantastic! Great take on the theme and really satisfying, almost therapeutic, gameplay. The visuals and sound set the mood perfectly and I passed quite a few happy minutes on this! It would work really nice as a minigame within an rpg, I think. Great work!

The Vall says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:07am

Would of been nice if the mouse locked to the window in windowed mode. The visuals and audio were great. Sneaky use of the theme.

Toccio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:33pm

Very nice game! It really fits the theme!

Nolocality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:47am

Hey sweet...it was a fun time blacksmithing.

At first I heated and hammered a few swords and got 10 gold apiece for some almost flattened out ones.

Then I found out you can pick up the bent as hell swords, heat them up and sell them without hammering once for around 350 something gold apiece...

If only it worked like that in real life lol.

Great entry, I enjoyed everything about it even the exploiting.

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:50am

Interesting theme and mechanics, good job!

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:50am

Very cool concept, shaping the sword as a blacksmith. Well done!

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:44am

interesting game, fun!
play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

corupta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:52am

Haha, liked the idea, graphics and music. If I j take the swords hottify and coolify them I be rich tho :D

edve98 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:19pm

was there any audio? I couldn't hear any (Linux version)

bigbuggames says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Nice take on the theme! Really cool system.

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Very cool idea! Got problems with the point where the hammer hit the sword. Keep up the good work!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:46am

Needs to be polished, but overall is good, and it looks that it had a lot of work. I love the concept! It would be great if you keep developing it!

BSODDevTeam says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:13pm

"Best blacksmith simulator I've ever played!" 10/10 - IGN

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]