Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Haximus Maximus

by whitephoenix - Jam Entry

My first Ludem Dare entry, made using Pygame. Although it's not a full game yet, most of the concepts are there. W and D to move, F to open the terminal. The idea of the game is that you are playing a generic RPG, but discover a hidden debug tool the developer has left on and use it to exploit the game, angering the developer who tries to make your journey more difficult. Chaos ensues...

In the terminal toggled using F, you can press the up arrow key or type '!!' to repeat the last command. 'Human' and 'Dragon' commands are used to shape shift into either form respectively.

Gif of morphing here: https://gfycat.com/VacantCleanFugu

You MUST have python and pygame installed to play. Install using pip, your operating system's package manager, or get the binaries for windows here: http://www.lfd.uci.edu/~gohlke/pythonlibs/#pygame
Once installed, simply run main.py, you may need to open it in python's IDLE to run it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#575Innovation(Jam)3.00
#584Graphics(Jam)3.25
#971Overall(Jam)2.75
#1902Coolness28%

Comments

Saiodin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:45pm

The graphics look alright and the console idea sounds very interesting, haven't actually tried it tho cause of the python/pygame barrier.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:46am

cool game, liked the idea! =)
play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

whitephoenix says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:31pm

Saiodin, I'm going to be rewriting it in C++/SDL soon. I have gotten a few messages about pygame being accessible.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:58pm

Actually, i couldn't play, but graphics are looking pretty good !

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:22pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:13am

I really like the color palette you used, very nice. Your game is pretty minimal, it is a shame you did not get to implement any goals or game logic, the idea is neat and suits the theme well.

From a coding perspective, the frame rate is inconsistent because you call pg.image.load and transform for each update. Creating new image contexts is expensive, so you should load and scale the images once, and store them for re-use in your draw method.

It is nice that you used PyGame, I have a couple PyGame entries myself and wish more people would use it :)

BOBBICHON says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Pretty Cool

Good luck !!

TeamScripta says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:51pm

I love the idea of a using a bug left by the dev to explore!

whitephoenix says ...
May 15, 2016 @ 4:21pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone! As the first game I've ever made, I think I did alright even though it has some problems. I will be rewriting this game in C++/SDL eventually, it will all be free and open source. If you are interested in the development of this game, I suggest you follow me on github for updates: https://github.com/whitephoenix0/

Once again, thanks everyone!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]