Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shifty Shapes

by MudFarmers - Jam Entry

An action puzzle game, where you must transform your shape to collect pieces and complete levels.

Made using Unity, Visual Studio, GIMP, and ASEPRITE.

Created by Kyle Hillbrand and Dave Siegel (@guyvanstratten on Twitter).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#223Theme(Jam)3.75
#253Fun(Jam)3.46
#316Innovation(Jam)3.32
#444Overall(Jam)3.34
#520Audio(Jam)2.88
#681Humor(Jam)2.14
#798Mood(Jam)2.75
#861Graphics(Jam)2.75

Comments

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:55am

I just get a screen with pink pixels.

JJJANEE says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:00am

I really enjoyed this game. I really like the idea; it was fun, creative, and fit with the theme really well! The audio was awesome and smooth. It got really hard at the end... I couldn't get more than 30 points lol.
The control was a tiny bit rough since I keep feeling like the square was reluctant to move; it could only accelerate up down left or right, which is understandable, but did interfere with the game experience a bit.
Overall it was a fun game! :D

kleinzach says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:13am

Very enjoyable game! Good conecept and a good amount of content.

Exolun says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:19am

Pretty fun game. Nice work!

AAGH Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:22am

That was much more difficult that I thought it would be! When the red circles fist started moving and chewing through the shapes I panicked. lol The visuals are simple but do the job and the audio fits the game. There's a definite positive trial-and-error vibe here as you play a level, learn its layout and movements, and eventually (hopefully) win.

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:07am

Cool! Gets challenging after a while and takes some strategy. Nice idea!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:16am

Very cool use of the theme, very to the point, i like how your game i knew what to do in a very short period of time, thats important in gamedev. well done guys :)

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:22am

Simple but nice graphics and the game play was the same. Good job!

davalcordub says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:55am

The game is really fun, i must say I enjoy it, the graphics are good, the sound is great and the controls are good also, but at least for me, the way to change the shape of the object to collect their peers is a bit difficult and makes the game at some points difficult to achieve the goal due to the speed of the obstacles.

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:15am

Laconic game, good job.

dvdagames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:00am

It was fun and got really challenging as the transformation circles started to move more, it was tricky to learn to nudge shapes to safety when you couldn't absorb them yet.

The particle effects were nice.

webadev says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:28pm

Nice game ! :)

HunGARE says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:34am

I really love the particle effects and the sound! You also did a good job on the level progression. I really felt it become more challenging, especially once I got to the stars. Would have liked to seen a different font, but still great work!

murraya2 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:36am

Nice, well-polished game. However I feel like I'm not in control, and that my failure is tied to the shapes hitting the circles off lucky bounces that are outside my control.

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:46am

The gamepley is really solid and challeging, i really liked it. I think there is a thing with spacebar and diagonal up because it would sometmes work for me. solid entry!

ScottP says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:20pm

After playing the tutorial I thought "Really? This is it?" Then when I realized that I could bump pieces to keep them from being destroyed before I got to them I realized I could be strategic which made it lots of fun. Also really like the sound effects!

saucygames says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:52am

This game is a lot of fun! Good job! love it! :D

tonygod says ...
Mar 31, 2017 @ 9:07pm

Very cool game! Great interpretation of the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]