Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Super Shape Maze

by Archimagus - Compo Entry

Super Shape Maze, my first Ludum Dare Game.

This is just a very simple, maze game where you "Shift Your Shape" through a series of mazes.

It's crap, but I worked on it so I will submit it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#310Graphics3.38
#740Overall2.87
#788Fun2.60
#870Innovation2.27
#880Theme2.40
#1808Coolness32%

Comments

giordanno92 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:19am

Straightforward and classic idea! I simply just loved the small details on the texture of the board. The stained glass and etc. The gameplay is fair and well implemented. Too bad there was no audio. But that's ok. Thanks for commenting and rating my game.

teamross says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:59am

wow! Simple and really fun! Love the glass shader!
Good job!

lanestp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:02am

Nice game! I played games like this to death when I was a kid. I had a great time playing it, so you must be doing something right!

Skipi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:09am

I really liked the graphics. Great job!

bigpan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:09am

Cool game man, simple but effective, your game would fit really well in a tablet device, how about a port? =) Nice job!

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:32am

Not the kind of games i usually play, but you did a good job on it. I think some background sounds would have added a lot to it.

Ayawaska says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:34am

Nicely done. The first level really has a taste of childhood!

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:43am

Pretty nice. I agree that a tablet version would be awesome.

adamprack says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:19am

It looked fantastic and is a classic design. It was hard not to notice how much less intuitive it is on a computer than in your hand in real life, and the theme usage is a bit of stretch. That said, it's still a really neat accomplishment for a weekend so well done!

Monklet80 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Man, I had a ton of these as a kid! I enjoyed it enough to get to the end, so you get stars from me. Nice job on the reflections and stuff, though the ball doesn't always respond as you'd expect it to.

plko says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Oh, I have a toy like this, this brings me back to my childhood.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]