Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Flappy Shape

by czester16 - Jam Entry

Flappy Shape - the most paradigm shifting flappy game out there. Literally, the Shape - your noble protagonist - shifts every 10 points. Accompanying the mighty Kutasoider - an bulldozer that is able to punch trough any obstacle - you must keep up, as you explore a beautiful, abstract world, as it pulsates to the music.

If you can - get it for PC as it looks even oh-so-much-more-better than the web version.

And please do enjoy the flapping.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#439Audio(Jam)3.06
#748Theme(Jam)3.05
#882Graphics(Jam)2.70
#931Mood(Jam)2.47
#1011Overall(Jam)2.70
#1033Fun(Jam)2.40
#1059Innovation(Jam)2.21
#1536Coolness40%

Comments

TomaszHajas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:03pm

Works just like Flappy Bird, but nontheless had fun playing it.

bluszcz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Nice idea for the theme and I like abstract shapes!
Music could be more atmospheric.

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Addictive! Music and style are superb.

kariamoss says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:36pm

THe physics is'nt very attractive

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:01am

Hi there! I love this music track, but in my opinion is too intrusive for a game. The game is like a lsd version of flappy bird. It is funny but i found it too difficult some times and less intuitive. Good work anyway, it was fun.

Jerre says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:43am

Nice concept, but controls are not so good, I guess more gravity and more power on jumps would give a less floaty feeling, and more control. Also the shape changes did not influence the game play very much, from the description I expected much larger changes. Well done soundtrack, an graphichs!

suppi says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:23am

I really like it! It was a bit hard at first to understand how it works, perhaps instead of putting a wall of text in one line explaining the different game options you could format in better, for example as bullet points. I found the border constraints a bit too much to my taste.

The music is fantastic btw, will you publish the tracks as well? :)

great job!

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:20am

Nice flash Neons lights effects.Quiet stylish and fun gameplay

11Schotter says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Pretty hard to beat, but a really good entry. Nice dubstep wopwopwop!

starpixie says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 1:38am

nice music

NuberuGames says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:05am

Nice concept, but I didnt see how the different shapes affected gameplay.
Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]