Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapegrammer

by APantaloni - Jam Entry

Shapegrammer is a game inspired by the traditional tangram puzzle that will test your reflexes and visual-spatial ability.

Pick the correct shape and rotation to pass through the never ending obstacles. Try to get the highest score and be awesomer than your friends!

Best played with a gamepad. Keyboard controls supported.

Gamepad controls:
A button: start the game
A, B, X, Y buttons: change shape
Left stick: rotate shape

Keyboard controls:
Down arrow: start the game
Directional arrows: change shape
W, A, S, D: rotate shape

Menu controls:
F5: change player name (for the leaderboard, F4 on the web build)
F7: toggle music
F8: toggle sound fx
F10: quit game

NEW: Post jam version (25/04/2016)
The post jam version adds a difficulty level selector. Press LB or Tab to switch between RELAX (new, easier mode) and CHALLENGE (basically the same as the original version). They have separate high scores and leaderboards.
We also increased the top scores list to 20 names. Hopefully now everybody can enjoy the game without being too frustrated, regardless of their skill level. You can find the new version on the itch.io page or on the Web (Post jam) link below. Have fun!

Programming and graphics: Andrea Pantaloni
Music and SFX: Katalin Negretti
Additional graphics: Tommaso Pantaloni

Currently available builds: Windows, Mac OSX, HTML5
Made with Unity

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#81Theme(Jam)4.03
#166Overall(Jam)3.68
#219Innovation(Jam)3.52
#236Fun(Jam)3.48
#329Graphics(Jam)3.72
#348Audio(Jam)3.24
#399Humor(Jam)2.70
#427Mood(Jam)3.25

Comments

ziege says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:43pm

It's fun, looks good, sounds good. But the difficulty curve could a bit kinder.

bagface says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Great fun! The animation of the shapes rearranging is awesome. The fish is too hard to orient quickly, I can't remember which way is "up" =(

monaarc says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Puzzle !!! I like puzzle and this game is awesome, graphics, gampley, music... VERY GOOD JOB !

knason says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:14pm

It's really addictive, but I'm so bad at it :-) the shifting part I can handle but then when it comes to the rotation.. makes it to hard (for me) :-) But it looks so good, great graphics. Great work!

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Great game, maybe too hard but anyway I loved the idea and the final result. Thanks!

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Great game! Played it until I got the top score so far (30!) and enjoyed it the whole time. Felt like I was really learning how to get better at it. The fish and dragon were the most difficult ones for me, but I ended up with a technique of thinking "Which way is the dragon/fish facing? Press the direction 90 degrees clockwise from that" - quite a tricky bit of mental gymnastic! Lots of fun and a great idea - nice work!

foolmoron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Man this is infuratingly good. Randomizing the shapes each time is really smart. But I think it's overly mean and mentally painful to have some shapes be "up" by default and some shapes be "left" - it's super mind bending. Animation and presentation and everything is great too.

eeely says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:26pm

very fun! but also very hard (;¬д¬)

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:37am

When I pressed the shape of a tangram and the pieces flew into that figure as we wooshed through that shape in the wooden board, I felt amazed. If you continue to design this, I got stuck at the first board to rotate. I didn't notice the shape and the rotation in time.

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:05am

Quite interesting game :)

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:46am

Now this is a game! And a really great take on the theme!

Got a highscore of 9 after a couple of plays. Can't believe that someone got 30. It's so hard!

Also - I love how the game scales. Like how you left out the boring beginning like so many games like this often does not.

Overall, great game!

Hope you guys had a fun time making it =)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:17am

Looks amazing and a load of fun! Nice work!

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:26am

Very cool design and nice artwork, figuring out the fish rotation is very hard though.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:55am

Rotating the right way is so hard, but this game is so cool !

tanis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:24pm

Damn! It's so hard that at some point it becomes frustrating :D
Nonetheless it's addictive! ;) Veeery well done!

Paskal007r says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:58pm

A very good puzzle, nice graphics, love the rearranging animation

NPC23 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Really fun, but man does it get hard fast. Even on controller it was really hard to remember the turning directions.

SkullPixel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:35pm

It's definitely a cool concept, but gets ridiculously hard. Or maybe I'm just bad at it. :D

antglynn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Great fun, but I'm terrible at it. Like the sounds, looks good also. Good job!

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:02pm

I was terrible at this but I enjoyed it all the same! The way the tangram reshuffles itself is really cool. Lovely presentation too, right down to the evil laugh when you lose! Great work.

dunin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:10pm

The rotation is a bit strange. Or maybe the game becomme harder too faster...
By the way, cool game.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Really amazing work! I love the cool block shapes. But WOW was that ever hard for me. I wish the "next shape" was never behind the current shape so I could see it better. Awesome job.

local minimum says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Really really hard game about as fun as it was annoying to fail over and over again. It actually took me quite a while to figure out that I couldn't use the rotation to rotate the characters so they faced the direction that seemed logical but that finding the right orientation was a challenge itself. Or if that was not intended, we definitely don't agree on the expected rotation pattern. The fish I kept trying to point its head by using the left control, the giraffe, its head (so their origins are 90 degrees rotated in my mind). If what direction on the left stick maps to what rotation was intended as a puzzle too, then I would suggest adding that complexity a bit later in the game and add some more time between the first couple of patterns to help people starting out with the game. Nicely done though.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Pretty fun and challenging entry but also quite difficult because of how fast the shape seems to be falling. Also an option to invert the keyboard controls (so that WASD changes shape and the arrow keys rotate it) would be nice.

David Cookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Really hard, especially with some shapes already rotated by defaults, but I had great fun with your game! Good looking, addictive, never ending. It has a huuuge potential! Congrats to you :D

Heiky says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:37am

Hard, in a good way. Loved the song, music and the animation.

WeirdMind says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:50am

Wonderful game. I had a lot of fun to try again and again. Its very difficult to reach your own highscore. It looks nice and the music was fine. Well done!

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:53pm

A bit hard (I don't have qwerty keyboard) but nice !

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:32pm

Thanks everybody for the kind words and suggestions! To non-QWERTY keyboard users: on the downloadable version you can remap the controls on the Input tab of the configuration screen. On-screen it will continue to show WASD and arrows (there wasn't time for a more sophisticated approach), but you'll be able to use any key you want :)

Goutye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Pretty addictive by the way! Managed to get a 22, signed the 7th current world place. Pretty happy! Getting excited each time I beat the mark! Really original way regarding the theme! Well done!

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Wise entry, loved the idea and you executed well.
Can't say I didn't have trouble playing it, because it's really hard, but well, no pain, no gain haha. Congratulations.

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Really nice idea but sooo hard ^^' Well done though ;)

solkar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:28pm

I agree with the overall opinion that it's too hard. Maybe less freedom at the beginning would help. Anyway the gameplay is solid and it really works.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Im impressed, its really fun to play it, got me playing some time and thats weird for a Ludum game, cool idea used perfectly to accomplish a nice game.

bigbuggames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:39pm

Great graphics and use of the theme on a very responsive gameplay! I don't understand how people can get such scores...

Fakirgnome says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:37pm

Really fun to play, controls could maybe be tweaked a little. Cute choice of graphics and art.

Wertle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:39pm

This is a super lovely game, I really like the choice to go with the tangrams and preset shapes of them because it meant I got to look at a lot of really cool art! My biggest issue was that I was mapping rotation relative to the shape, so for example I kept trying to push right twice to make it pointing up, rather than selecting the correct orientation. This may just be a product of experience using the controller and expecting the analog stick to work in a relative way. It would be interesting to find a way to support both and detect which the player is trying to do, BUT that may cause complications since you have a leaderboard (if one method is inherently easier than the other) so maybe not. Or another thing you could do is isolate the two controls in the beginning, like start off with a single shape that you just have to choose orientation on so people can get used to that before adding both of them together, that might actually clear up a lot. There was a point where the music felt like it was syncing to the movement of the shape holes and it was REALLY COOL feeling. If you had a way of doing that on purpose it might get super interesting results. Nice work!

Karai17 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:24am

Solid game, very difficult, but quite pretty.

ShadowTemplar says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:26am

I like it! Watched it on the stream :D

Llucile says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:39am

Great gameplay idea ! Very polished graphics and sounds too. I really liked it but it is a bit difficult. :s

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:10am

Really neat game, would be nice if it started out a bit slower but love the gameplay

kariamoss says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:26am

Very fun, but hard! Great work!

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:37am

Cool game and the scoring feature is good !

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:57am

Great game) However, it would be better if rotation of object is reseted when you shapeshift it

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:24am

Very nice game! The leaderboard is awesome

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:35am

Real nice idea... great fun!!!! :D

ZYXer says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:19pm

That's guite a hard game. I wish the game would start out a bit easier, so that you get into a flow. I also wished the positions of the shapes would be at the same place each time, its really hard to get used to the new positions (on the other hand, if the game would start out easier, it would give you time to get used to the new positions).
In general good graphics and good sound. And quite an innovative idea to combine a guitarhero-esque gameplay with the tandram puzzle.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:31pm

Great Game! it's insanely addictive, very very good job, complimenti! :)

Mieeh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Hey, this is a really fun game. Cool visuals and good use of theme. Maybe I'm bad at the game but i felt that the learning curve was a bit too harsh and fast.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Very polished! I liked how all the characters were formed of the same set pieces. The game idea is relatively simple but gets tough really fast, and especially the fish was the bane of me. Managed to get 30 points, though!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:22pm

I saw this being played on Hempuli's stream and after playing it I found it really fun! The animations look really smooth and I like how everything fits together (pun intended :P).

I'm really terrible though, I struggle after three or four goes because of the rotation. It probably would have been manageable if there were only two buttons for rotating pieces (e.g. A+D for rotating left+right) and the direction keys for the shapes.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:15pm

I must say i feel pretty stupid playing at this game but i have to reckon that it's very well thinking and that you did it perfectly. Nice game helping your brain to get clean :)

MintArcade says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:21pm

Awesome game! Controller controls are fantastic.

luquio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:46pm

the gameplay and the main idea is great, also has the look kind of origamis and i like a lot that, unfortunatly i cant beat more tan 5 shapes, i need more practice, but ill add it to my favs in the browser so ill keep trying to beat the topscore haha! hope you keep working on this, is an amazing idea of shapeshift

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:16am

SO HARD! (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻ But also super cool, great job! :D

Gyfis says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:49am

Difficult but very fun! Bloody controller with different mapping destroyed me though - the hints were not that useful.

SeaDads says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:31pm

I love how it seems so easy but is so hard! Really nice all round!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Tough as nails, but nothing that some playtesting couldn't fix. The base is VERY solid.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Great idea, but a bit fast for me. Couldn't find the correct shape at the bottom quick enough, especially since keeps changing. Awesome take on the theme.

Brightstar says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:11am

Cool game. My high score was 23. :)

Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:19am

So, puzzle games are not quite my thing, so that affects my view. The game was a good coherent whole. Each part worked well and as intended, I think. More importantly, the parts worked well together. All that being said, it is hard, and not just because you are doing two things at once, nor the speed. Every time you lose, the shapes change, as do their key assignment.

neilcorre2k6 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:00am

that was awesome! :D

samlo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:57am

Definitely enjoyed playing this, but I wish you guys introduced the shapeshifting first and then the rotation second. I found the steep difficulty curve a tad off putting. Nice audio and graphics though!

neondx says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:52pm

DAMN GOOD GAME!!!!

JuDelCo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Score: 7

Arrggg this is frustrating, well done !

AnaGF says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Challenging and addictive at the same time. It is a really solid entry. I wouldn't change shapes between plays, I would mantain it to 4 shapes, but it is just an opinion. It is a great game!
Got 13. I don't know how someone managed to get 40 o.o

tayl1r says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:22am

Well, I am rubbish at this! As soon as I need to rotate I press all the buttons wrong. But it's nice! Well done.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:10am

the shifting effect on the blocks is really well done! for me, rotation is really hard to deal with because it's hard to see the shape in the board with the pieces being on top of it. That would probably be an easy fix :) I like that you can pretty much just try again without a pause to start a new game. You really nailed that 'transformation' effect, it feels amazingly satisfying to switch shapes!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:58am

Good Tangram-like game with pretty graphics and nice gameplay.

hunttis says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Took me a couple of plays to get it, but after I did, it's ingenious in it's simplicity and overall mechanics. Always liked tangrams and was happy to see someone else does too :D

Asturk says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Thats a very creative Tangram game!! Nicely done! I just think that the dificult could be a little easier on the start of the game, and could get that level of hard on a little more advanced part! But for the rest, its really great!

drazil100 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:19pm

addictive little game you got here... the rankings really tie you in and make you want to get faster. Good fun game.

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:51pm

What a cool game! My first 5* for Theme.
Congrats for your great game!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:49pm

There's some brilliant mechanics there. It might be kinder on the difficulty if you had a single 'set' of shapes that didn't change if you lost in that level. I found the bit where you bring in the 'rotate', too early and came in a bit too quick.
Would make a brilliant touch app, you're almost ready to basically plonk it on an iPhone and make some money! Well done buddy :).

Jin47 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:21pm

My god this is hard! But very good job both in concept/gameplay/graphics and sound. And this re-arranging animation is simply AWESOME !

SUNFURY says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:44pm

I liked the game a lot :)
Very challenging. Nice idea

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:21pm

Well made and polished game. But I just can't get the rotation right. I think it would be far easier for me if the left/right keys would just rotate the shape relative to it's current orientation. As already suggested maybe you could provide both control schemes?

egos says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:39pm

simple but addictive concept
Very well realized

leffe108 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:23pm

Interesting game, but difficult with so much to take into account in short time. Nice touch with different loosing sounds that rotate or is picked by random. Global high score while not really difficult to do if you know some backend development, its still a nice addition.

iossif says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:55pm

oh damn that's a hard one :)

i really like that it follows a simple idea but has a nice theme and not "just different shapes". i had fun playing it.

ExSpecter says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:53am

Nice Game. It is kind of mesmeric but i really like it! Great job

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:37pm

Wow! Love the puzzle style. The game difficulty is a little high (at least, the first times that you play it) but when you master the controls it became into a very funny and challenger game. Good work!

fatsopanda says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:38pm

This game fits great for the theme :) I had fun playing it, but the difficulty curve is definitely high. Takes time to learn it.

Jolly Serpent says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Very addicting and tense game, played it for a while. I'll probably come back to it.

guoboism says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:53am

It's really nice to a tangram game!

Adipson says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:47am

very funny

Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Lovely looking, well made. I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/6jh8RTn7UxY

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:01pm

It's pretty difficult given the number of options and rotation.

ciaodavinci says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 1:29am

This was really cool and challenging. It was fun to keep jumping back into it

Lucario12k says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:51pm

The controls are not the most intuitive, but this is a great game overall.

randomhuman says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:25pm

Really clever idea, and extremely polished. I'll never reach the lofty heights of that leaderboard though...

Szabin says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:04pm

This would make a great mobile game!

May 5, 2016 @ 3:26am

Ok, you win, "Uncle!" This game is a certain kind of genius that makes me brain no work gud. Extremely well executed, fantastic work!

StrayCat says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:39am

It's nice, the difficulty is a bit too high for me. Good job!

May 7, 2016 @ 11:35pm

Wow this is a great entry.

I love that the key-to-shape mapping changes every round. The game never gets easy.

It took me a minute to realize that all of the figures are facing left. Knowing that helps a lot when it gets faster - there's not any time to look at the guides in the corners. But it's still hard to quickly translate the direction they're facing to the right key. It's especially difficult with the more horizontal figures, like the fish and the dog (I think it's a dog). The standing figures like the man and the giraffe are much easier - you just point in the direction of their head.

Smooth animation, great UI, very polished all around. I just realized that "press [down arrow] to begin" is written in a font made from tangram pieces - slick.

I'll keep coming back to this one,... and I'm gonna beat Tommy's score :)

SantiHisteria says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:09pm

I like it! Good graphics and sounds. A bit difficult but it is a good idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]