Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shift the shape

by DcrDro - Compo Entry

You are playing for a shape, but which?... There are three types of shapes you can play for, each of them has its own features, that you are to find!

(Unfortunally the game came out some crude, but I'll work on it.)

control:
q - switch to square
w - switch to circle
e - switch to triangle

w/d - move circle
s - flip triangle
r - restart
platforms are bugged so you can get stuck, try to restart

ok, have fun, and shift the shape!

-----


windows build is added!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#506Theme3.30
#551Humor1.96
#598Audio2.06
#767Innovation2.59
#777Mood2.11
#844Fun2.47
#870Overall2.58
#883Graphics1.86

Comments

redwizard says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:40pm

The embed doesn't load anithing.. :(

KristophTG says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:11pm

You could maybe include some other options besides Unity Web Player as that doesn't work on Chrome and some other browsers.

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Not working in Chrome or Firefox.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:43pm

Not bad! I would have definitely just included a Windows build as well at least, since the web player does not work in Chrome.

Controls feel pretty stiff, but I liked it overall. The elevator was kind of frustrating since you can't move fast enough. I didn't really know what the triangle was for. I beat the game!

Pellanor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:49pm

Worked fine in Firefox for me.
Not a bad game. Could certainly use more polish. Hard to figure out what good the Triangle was.

Jin47 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:52pm

The concept is really great but the gameplay maybe needs some polish (as you said in your description)

Hempuli says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:15pm

I liked the surprise squid attacks and the fact that you can do little jumps at slopes with the circle. I wish the triangle was utilized a bit more, though.

DcrDro says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:33am

triangle is conceived to pierce falling enemies :)

Kalm004 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:24pm

Nice game! I liked the use of the theme.

Tsevion says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:52am

Heh, it's funny, you and I went with very similar concepts, it's interesting to see what you did differently. Good job.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:10pm

Nice concept, enjoyed.

Stending says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:02pm

Simple but fun interpretation of the theme!
Congratulations :)

methylenblub says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:20pm

really funny, i really enjoyed it! it's a shame that some of the platforms were bugged :(

Yakka says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:28pm

I like the idea of this game (especially when you have to be a triangle to float in the water: smart!), but a bug with a platform doesn't allow me to finish the game :-( The key mapping is kind of tricky, especially when you have an azerty keyboard :p

StrayCat says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:42pm

The game needs polish, and a more natural feeling. I couldn't find a good use for being other thing than a circle for the most part.

It would be nice to have other control options too, for those not used to wasd. The idea has potential, keep going!

radmars says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Enjoyed the game. Never found the need for the triangle shape, though.

danielilett says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:57pm

I like the concept. It could certainly use more work - I found myself just using circle most of the time, although square has its uses, but triangle seems the most underused. Triangle did seem to make me bob in the water when pointing down though, which was a nice touch. It's a simple but effective use of the theme though. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]