Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Mass Squire

by BattleReadyGames - Jam Entry

Mass Squire is a 2D Adventure Platformer, loosely inspired by Dig-Dug. This year's Ludum Dare theme was shapeshifting, so we incorporated that in two major ways. First, the player is a squire, aspiring to become a knight. On his adventures he accumulates items a knight would wear, shifting himself from being a squanderly squire to a full-time knight. Second, rather than just an aesthetic shift, the player is also able to shift the mass of his surroundings by firing a heavy pixel that sticks to enemies and movable objects. Instead of traditionally killing enemies using weapons, the Squire incapacitates his dark enemies by firing them full of heavy pixels, weighing them down until they tip over and their soul leaks out from the laden corpse. Hope you all enjoy the game, our team had a ton of fun making it!

(To be refined and released on mobile platforms in the near future!)
(We would love to hear your feedback!) Thanks!

Tools Used:
-Unity Game Engine
-Visual Studio
-Audacity
-Pyxel Edit
-Bfxr
-GIMP
-My Saxophone

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#654Audio(Jam)2.36
#726Humor(Jam)2.00
#792Graphics(Jam)2.91
#922Mood(Jam)2.50
#989Innovation(Jam)2.41
#993Overall(Jam)2.73
#1052Fun(Jam)2.36
#1098Theme(Jam)2.10
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

EighthNote says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:51am

Loved the pixel art! The weighing down enemies mechanic is an interesting idea, but the execution seemed a little inconsistent - sometimes enemies would fall over but keep moving.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:57am

good art and music but sometimes the enemies do fall over and keep moving yeah (like the above comment), but its a good game overall
play and rate my game here:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Dooskington says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:13am

It was a bit slow for my taste, and the graphics were pretty boring. Nice work though.

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:45am

I love that you can tip the enemies over and they still chase you on their backs.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:57am

The pixel art reminded me of old Atari style, which was cool.

I felt like it needed more feedback when you were shooting the enemies, like having them flash or get pushed back or something. The pixel just sticking to them was not very clear that I was "hurting" them at first. Same for enemies hurting the player - it wasn't clear if I was even getting hurt or when.

Geti says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:40am

It was ok. The hud seemed to vanish on the 2nd level. Didn't like the sound effects. Level design was mostly good though, i got "tricked" by the water before the end in the first one :) the camera made it look like it was infinitely deep, but it was just 1 tile and didn't hurt at all. the link to the theme is uh, very tenuous indeed.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:43am

Cool art. I was excited when I saw an option to use a joystick but when I tried it, it doesn't seem to work. -- Is it a bug? -- Also, usually clicking to shoot only makes sense if you can actually aim with the mouse. -- Finally, you should give users more "padding" room for jumps -- but then throw stuff at them (like bad guys flying at them or shooting at them, etc.) -- then they have to use that wiggle room to avoid the obstacles. -- but forcing the user to make maximum distance jumps for no reason never feels that fun in a game. -- Good luck on the Windows Store!

Funske says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:48am

The art was cool, and really well down. I loved the physics they were really fun to play around with. Player moved a little slow, but it wasn't that big of an issue. Shooting was satisfying as well. Overall good looking game!

PulsorHD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:49am

I loved the graphics and the sound effects, but it was slow paced and there was no music, so it got boring, on level 2, I think, the GUI was gone and I was immortal, I noticed that the shots sometimes went over the heads of enemies.When I tried to quit I was unable to, so I had to Alt-Tab out. Didin't really see the shapeshifting.

guin36 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:09pm

I like the concept, but in the end it doesn't really affect the gameplay, it still is just a shoot at things until they die kind of game. Still, everything worked smoothly and even as just a shoot at things until they die kind of game it was still enjoyable.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]