Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SHAPEshift

by kingofjohns - Compo Entry

My very first Ludum Dare and Unity game. It is just me gaining my basic knowledge of Unity and Java Script code. Jump = W Left = A or < Right = d or >. Thank you for playing and please leave feedback and suggestions. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1808Coolness32%

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:36am

i get this from the second link, "This game is still In Development and is not currently playable."
i get this from the itch.io link, "The developer has not uploaded a game yet..."

swellbastion says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:37am

hi kingofjohns, the first link said "There should be 'LudumDareGameSHAPEshift (1)_Data'
folder next to the executable" and the other links wouldnt run for me

Broken Matrix says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:37am

Cant Run

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:37am

Couldn't open the game, you didn't package it correctly.

htspencer88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:45am

I've used Unity for my submission as well, so feel free to send me a message if you need a hand getting it together for release as you seem to be struggling.

A good start would be getting at least a windows executable zipped with the relevant data folder, uploaded somewhere like dropbox. Hope it goes well, obviously not going to vote till its playable, good luck!

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:46am

Please fix your links - I couldn't get to any binaries. :(

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:48am

I'm sorry, but I wasn't able to get this to run, even renaming the data-folder to match. I won't affect the score by leaving a rating, but hopefully it could be re-uploaded in time for others to try it out. :)

kingofjohns says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:57am

I think I fixed the itch.io the other two are still broken. :( please tell me if the itch.io will work for you.

kingofjohns says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:01am

If you know how I need to fix the first two links please tell me

TCD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:14pm

how do i run this?

FenyesJ says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:51pm

10/10

htspencer88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:34pm

If you want to deploy to windows/OSX/linux:

File > Build Settings.

Select PC, Mac & Linux Standalone option.

From the "Target Platform" drop down select which one you want. I suggest windows first as that will more than likely hit the most users.

Pick an empty folder as the build location, remember where that folder is. Name the build whatever you like.

Click build and wait.

Go to the folder and select all the contents. For the windows build it should be an exe and a folder ending in _Data.

With it all selected, right click and send it to a zip file.

Name that zip file whatever you like and upload it to drop box.

Add the dropbox link here.

Hope that helps!

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:46am

doesn't run

Hempuli says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:05pm

As others have said, even after moving files around the game complained about a missing data folder :(

SUNFURY says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:41pm

cant run the game :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]