Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SImple Shift

by CasualCat - Compo Entry

You control a little square that can move to 9 different points in a grid. Your little square can also shape shift to stretch/flatten in the X and Y axis. Lasers will come beaming through the screen along the grid! But worry not, as there will be warnings before they come. Use your skillful keyboard pressing and hardcore gamer reflexes to avoid the lasers and survive as long as possible.

Controls:

Arrow Keys will move the square around the grid. The square will auto-snap to the center when no keys are pressed.

W or S to stretch horizontally
A or D to stretch vertically

Objective:
Avoid incoming lasers by being attentive to warnings ("red lines"), and moving/stretching your square accordingly.


Note:
This is not an excuse for poor quality but I restarted after about 20 hours and my computer crashed and pretty much died when there was about 10 hours left. But nonetheless I am highly satisfied with what I ended up with. I'm proud to have this game as my first Ludum Dare submission.

**Note**:
A few people have mentioned that the wasd controls for the shapeshifting felt reversed. Here's a suggestion try to only use A & S. This will eliminate the association of horizontal and vertical with wasd. Just think of it as A is stretching vertically and S is horizontally.

I'm really sorry about that. I think my shortage of time made not realize that mistake. I'm honestly quite astonished the game isn't unplayably broken!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#234Audio3.22
#288Fun3.38
#337Mood3.09
#353Innovation3.28
#369Theme3.51
#407Graphics3.16
#428Overall3.26
#585Humor1.83

Comments

Tharky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:34pm

Couldn't run! :(

Asturk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:55pm

well i still couldn't run the web version here somehow! =[
I think you should make able a windows version, to facilitate things, so i can rate your game!

Rscar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:29pm

Super fun! Took a minute to get used to to the controls, but wow I really enjoyed it! 43s was my best time, started getting hit with the bidirectional lasers and couldn't handle it haha

Charzendat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:52pm

Cool puzzle game. Only thing that frustrated me was I felt W/S and A/D should be reversed for the stretching. Might just be me though. But I like the idea and this could make a good addictive mobile game.

Autovelop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:56pm

Very nice! Enjoyed the concept. Not a big fan of the reflexes games but to each his own. I only got to 10 seconds. So try introduce the challenges gradually so players get use to the controls. If it is to easy for pro players with good reflexes, then try introduce a difficulty level. Music was also well done. Thanks for your submission.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:16pm

This was neat and pretty challenging. Good job!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:12pm

That's cute and it looks pretty slick. The music also suits it well. I don't have anything close to the reflexes required. Just processing

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:12pm

That's cute and it looks pretty slick. The music also suits it well. I don't have anything close to the reflexes required. Just processing whether or not I need to stretch takes longer than the time I have.

Daukan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:52pm

The minimalistic graphics worked well with this type of game. I liked the music too.

Ayawaska says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Nicely done! And tricky.

Wan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Wow that was much harder than I thought at first! I reached 30s twice but I could not handle what has coming next :P

The idea is intersting and its implementation pretty polished (fitting graphics and audio, no bugs found...), especially for a first entry made in a day it seems. So nice job!

If it were me I would have made the difficulty ramp up more slowly by having hints displayed 2 beats rather than 1 beat before, at least for the first minute or something.

But even as it is, the game is fun to play, and quite addictive in a masochist way like Super Hexagon was :)

virtual_void says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:50pm

Loved the mechanics and artstyle

Asturk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:38am

Oh oks, now the game is running here, so i am back now! Great job with this quick thinking mechanic, it is fun and has some good progression, though i think you could make just a little easier at the start of the game, so the player can get a little more used to keys and mechanic! But great job, its very addicting this one!

Cosine says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:25am

Cool game. Loved the art, the game overall felt very pleasing and juicy. Don't know if this was intentional, but the reversed WSAD was excruciating. It kept getting me pretty bad. Really well timed, and well refined. I found it quite frustratingly addicting.

M2tias says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:15am

Nice clean graphics, good music and an original idea. Good job!

Auroratide says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:40am

I guess I don't have the reflexes it takes! Cool little game, with graphics and auto that suit the minimalistic feel. Perhaps if started off easier and progressively became faster, it would be even better.

samlo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Made it to 30:789! Great twitch-based endless runner. I do wish the difficulty ramped up a bit more gently - it took me about 5-6 tries before I really got how it worked. Nice entry!

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:17pm

That was fun! After figuring out what was going on, it became really fun and challenging. The easing on the square's motion is really pleasant and the background music is cool!

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:23pm

Really challenging, I'm too bad at this XD

Aurel Bílý says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:40pm

Simple, but enjoyable. I also though that ws / ad should have been reversed, but I can see you've responded to that already :) The music is just a drum loop, but I thought it was somewhat annoying that it always had to restart after dying – it could just play non-stop in this game. Also, the restart delay and the before-the-timer-starts delay were upsettingly long. With an endurance / reflex game like this, you can assume people are gonna lose a lot, especially when they're just figuring it out. So the restart should be instantaneous. Maybe make the difficulty curve slightly less steep? The signals before the lasers could be longer at first.
But despite all that, it is a very nice, addictive score attack game, especially for such a short amount of time. Good job :)

teamross says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:37pm

This is reeally challenging, i like it!
Smooth movements/animations(UI included), simple and clean art, and nice music too.
Polished game overal (I like the UI a lot).

kabel says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:59pm

Way too difficult.

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Good job!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:25pm

Loved it. A bit challenging, but that style is really on point

Kep says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:12pm

I really like the concept and the mechanics, but I didn't get very far.

csanyk says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:35am

Very difficult to get used to the split-second decision making between shifting and stretching. My mind couldn't get used to it to the point where I was instinctive enough to last more than a couple seconds. Some kind of surround-sound audio cue in addition to the flash warning would maybe help.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]