Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Light Shifter Temple

by SengiG - Jam Entry

Welcome to the light shifter temple, a place where only fast can survive.
Use WSAD (or arrow keys) to move.
Use right mouse button to roll towards mouse direction.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Mood(Jam)4.19
#72Overall(Jam)3.94
#85Fun(Jam)3.80
#90Audio(Jam)3.83
#117Innovation(Jam)3.74
#126Graphics(Jam)4.15
#579Humor(Jam)2.37
#887Theme(Jam)2.80
#1666Coolness36%

Comments

Skruffye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:50am

Cool game! The mechanics are really fun, though it took me a little while to work out that you roll in the direction of the cursor.
Pretty hard as well, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. :D

danieldsj says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:25am

I love the atmosphere. The mechanics are cool. Great submission!

Line says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:33am

My favorite game so far. I really like the light being the way to get you killed. nice visual design. Great job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:31am

Gorgeous. Loved it.

EthanBierlein says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:22am

Nice! These light-based games are always interesting.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:41am

This game hit it out of the park for me! im blown away, Can i ask, how did you get transitions working? ie screen fade.

Hyden says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:23am

Great game :) Shame that we chose the same name for a game (light shifter) but aside from that I enjoyed it :)

MakerArt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:46am

Well done! It's hard as fuck! DArkSouls+Hitman+Commandos Good luck!

BANDERA says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:07am

Very Nice! Bro :)

da_potap says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:50am

Really huge work is done) great concept and stunning art/design. Congrats.

brainybeard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:14am

Woah what a great entry. Mechanic is great, graphics are nice and the audio works really well with it out. Overall stunning effort!

SengiG says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:42am

Thank you very much guys! I will write a short postmortem (after some nice ammount of sleep) about everything you mentioned above.

mar3k says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:01pm

Nice game and quite unique with not being able to actually fight the enemies. Also it is really hard, so I got frustrated so quickly :D. Great job!

Henry00 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:11pm

Nice game, the difficulty spikes very quickly and sadly I couldn't make it through the entire game but superb! One of the best.

Mossi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Mood, sound, graphics and innovation extremely well made, what a great game!

muumeroinen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Really good! Atmosphere, mechanics and graphics are all good.

Rakowu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Great level design, and smart use of light. Really good work (Also as artwork)

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:05pm

Polish, graphics, sounds, SOLID, Love the FOV visuals

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:12pm

Gorgeous, music, graphics and gameplay. 5 stars, but a bit difficult... :/ And no fit with the theme, I think so...

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Very interesting concept. Nice game overall!

phoenix1987 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Really enojoyed it. Thought the light mechanics were really awesome, and was overall a great game to play

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:17pm

Pretty neat idea using light shifting. The guardians were a little startling!

urfbound says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:03am

Nice stealth-based mechanic using light instead of darkness. Pretty tough game, but I liked how the individual skills were introduced one-by-one and built on over the course of the game. Great graphics and sound effects, overall seemed really polished. Great game!

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:18pm

I like how fast the AI were and I loved the music and the graphics. Great game.

Reiv says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Love the mechanics. Nice sounds and graphics.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Great! Loved the atmosphere of this one. The difficulty was only frustrating enough to keep me trying. Well done.

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:46pm

beautiful entry. I found it very difficult to roll a second time though. controls never seemed to want to cooperate to allow me to do that

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:55pm

This game was wonderful
A modern take on the "just avoid hazard" type games (pac mac man, pit fall, etc..)

God the art style is my favorite too.

if the theme was light and dark it woulda fit alot better though, it really is reaching with the title

andyman404 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:56pm

I like the music and mood. Awesome shadows. Well done!

pyokoanarogue says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Here lies the foundation for greatness!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:30pm

Fantastic game overall, loved the style and gameplay. Didn't quite make the connection to the theme, but I admit that I was unable to finish the entire game.

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Interesting mechanic, *very* tough. Really had fun though!

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:18pm

Can't play it unfortunately. I get the error message "he browser could not allocate enough memory for the WebGL content."

I'm in Win7/Firefox. The game looks really wicked, I was looking forward to it.

aeai says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:49pm

I died a million times. Awesome game i would die again.

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Great entry. I like theme interpretation. Last level was really hard :). Died a few dozens of time near this barrels. Nice game :)

tomlum says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Very interesting and wonderfully atmospheric, mechanic, music, and art all worked with each other great.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:18am

A great LD entry. The visuals and the music are really cool, the sound effect of the arrows are amazing. The theme is nowhere, sadly.
I'm unable to complete the game, but I don't mind it, I had a lot of fun.

strife47 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:54am

Awesome game, I really liked the graphics and mechanics, congratulations!

Fanatrick says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Liked the stealth mechanics, although a few levels felt arbitrary and too much of a trial and error - most glaringly the one where the skeleton needs to clear your path.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:56am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

macronoid says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:07am

The game is fair yet hard to master. Great mechanics and progression.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Great game!! I love the work maked with the shadows. Very very nice!

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Rad entry, very nice idea, really complete and many ways (graphics, gameplay, song, execution).
Loved the way the skells identifies you because of the light (also the mechanic aplication of the light is really smart)!
I would like to congratulate you guys for that, you're on my top 10 games in this jam EASILY!

scorched says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:11am

Nice way of indicating that enemy will see you!

May 7, 2016 @ 11:37am

Really great over all, Great art, music is amazing, gameplay is fun, difficult but not frustrating(maybe a little bit) and gradually introduces new mechanics to the game making it easier to learn to play and master the game.

thiagoaw says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 2:44pm

Very good game! fun, beautiful and balanced

Kuupu says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:49pm

The best game I played to this point :)

1 - not being able to see where I am behind a pillar is a really pain
2 - the dash is really cool but feels kind of loose, it's hard to predict where the dash will end

Maybe less punishing levels on the beginning?

Overally, awesome game!

derr says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:22am

Super addictive gameplay! I have nothing to critisise about this game so here are all the good points:

- Great level design
- The way you introduce new mechanics and ramp up difficulty is on point
- Great athmosphere
- The levels are short and sweet tactic puzzles that are short, so restarting does not feel frustrating but winning feels rewarding.

Too lazy to finish the list so I will just say that I love everything about this game.

Cerno_b says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:03pm

I tried the game again and now it works for me. Really neat entry, but the difficulty is brutal. Sometimes the character wouldn't roll, which was a bit frustrating.

You nailed the atmosphere though, great job!

francismoy says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Very nice game! Good game feel and nice atmosphere and visuals. Given that it's a really hard game, I'd reduce the time between you're death and can play again! Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]