Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ColorShift

by CrazY - Compo Entry

This is my first Game Jam entry, a kind of Roguelike Game where you are a Square Character who can change his Color by pressing Spacebar, you can only attack the enemys when they have the same Color otherwise they will try to kill you. You are equiped with a boomerang that you can throw but it wont come back if it hits something.

You walk with W A S D, you shoot and aim with your mouse and you change color by pressing space.

I kind of ran out of time in the end so you dont really have a different purpose than just killing the enemys and the game lacks a lot of polish and balancing, but im proud that I atleast got something working.

Have fun playing !

Oh and the game is hard like REALLY hard.


Edit: Thanks to all your great comments I've been able to improve some things since my entry:
- I balanced the difficulty, the sniper isn't op anymore, and the color changing of the enemys is way easier.
- I polished the game, added more particle effects and screen shake.
- I fixed the lags in color changing and shooting controls.
- I fixed a bug where the boomerang was stuck on the player and you didn't get a new one.

Play the current Version here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ynwsgib26cfj3rm/ColorShift%20v1.3.zip?dl=0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#578Humor1.87
#601Theme3.15
#649Mood2.63
#715Innovation2.70
#798Graphics2.35
#848Fun2.45
#905Overall2.45
#1579Coolness39%

Comments

bagface says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Neat concept. You are right, it is very hard. If they enemies attacks were slower, so they could be dodged, I think it would be much easier. Good work!

brainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Good idea, but I think the boomerang is bugged. It only get shot sometimes. If what you want is to do is that it have a limited range, I recommend that it gets shot but disappear after a while. Otherwise, nice try!

freeloader says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:19pm

It's really frustrating, sometimes I turn around a corner and get sniped.

sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:54pm

It is quite hard to play, I guess it needs a little bit of balancing but I really like the core idea behind it!
Somehow the speed of the enemies and the fact that the boomerang doesn't always come back is what builds that difficulty. Maybe you can make one of those two easier.

KristophTG says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:12pm

I don't know if it was your intention, but i found that not changing the color and just waiting for my oponents to change color to mine seemed to work better. Also when i launched the game i didn't realize that the star-shaped things are enemies, as its not really that clear. The other thing is that walking diagonally is faster than normal walking. Also i didn't like how the instruction was handwritten in paint as it was hard to read.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:39am

Even as an unfinished game, this is kind of a disappointment. The gameplay demands lightning-fast reflexes but the controls are sluggish and unresponsive; by the time I can cycle to the correct color, the enemy I'm trying to kill has already changed to something else. Also, would it have hurt to just put some printed text up on the first screen? It probably would've taken less time to type up a tutorial than scrawl all that hard-to-read text. (Also, speaking of the controls: color cycling should be mapped to RMB.)

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:12am

Not a bad first cut. Has potential with some work. It is a bit hard, which is not bad, but perhaps ease into the difficulty a bit.

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Alphish says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:28pm

A technical note: it's more of a shooter than a roguelike (these tend to be turn-based rather than real-time, and have more focus on tactics/RPG elements than dexterity).

I've played a few rounds, got the hang of it, though the slow movement is a bit discouraging. The snipers were OP indeed, too. Maybe I'd feel more eager to play around more if this game had some goal? Or maybe even a few levels, with each acting as a "checkpoint" (i.e. once you die, you don't go to the very beginning). This certainly has some room for improvement...

The concept itself feels pretty generic, but I appreciate the variety of enemies. Also, hopefully by the next LD you will have better hang of balancing. ^^'

rayman1900 says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Good game and good intro, but when I shoot my boomerang, it get stuck on the floor and I can't throw a new one...

Kuupu says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:27pm

The game is here but I think you can find a lot of ways to make it coller
Maybe more fast gameplay?
Changing the enemy's color didn't make sense for me, what is the purpose?
A more dynamic boomerang? making curves?

I think you can go for a "hotline miami" kind of gameplay and it'll be much more cool :)


nice entry :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]