Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Blubbymorph

by antarka - Jam Entry

WARNING : The ludum iframe not work. Go to the WEB Or windows link!

Blubbymorph is a little RPG about absorb enemy to become more stronger to fight another enemy etc..

The objective of the game is to finish the three dungeons to unlock all enemy shapeshift (except the last one, this is a wink to SparklinLabs for making an awesome tools!).

After that just survive and buy some bad skills on the market!!

----------------------------

Controls :

Movement : ZQSD / WASD / Arrows
Fire : left click
Absorb enemy : right click (unlock dungeon before that)
P : Take health potion

----------------------------

Credits :

Dren (Dev / LD)
Fraxken (Dev / LD)
Purexo (Dev / LD)
Xstoudi (Dev / LD)
Demogia (Graphiste)
Shqiptar, Harraps, Captainfive (Music)

For map tileset :
Dungeon base tileset : http://opengameart.org/content/dungeon-tileset
Arena tilset: Superpowers packs (@2PBlog on twitter)

Monsters are made by Demogia (So please vote for graphics on it)

Game-maker : http://superpowers-html5.com/index.en.html
Antarka team : https://antarka.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#215Graphics(Jam)3.95
#374Overall(Jam)3.41
#520Audio(Jam)2.88
#541Mood(Jam)3.11
#608Fun(Jam)3.04
#655Theme(Jam)3.20
#989Innovation(Jam)2.41
#1854Coolness30%

Comments

Purexo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Hi, in waiting Fraxken update link :

https://blubbymorph.antarka.com/
http://blubbymorph.antarka.com/
https://blubbymorph.antarka.com/blubbymorph.zip

I'll put sources on github tomorow i think.

Purexo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:02am

And here are sources : https://gitlab.com/antarka/blubbymorph

DivineOmega says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Seemed like a very fun little game. I liked the graphics and audio tracks. Unfortunately, I couldn't work out how to beat the boss of the first dungeon, but that may have been me rather than anything wrong with the game.

What I played was really enjoyable. :)

toastedgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Cool game, lags really hard on my computer though.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:34pm

Absolutely loved this game!!! I need to play it a bit more because I could not beat the boss in one of the dungeons. Controls are easy and game play is fun! nice work!!

Paskal007r says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:38pm

really my cup of tea! nice animations, fluid movement. Was a bit difficult to figure out that you could shoot with the mouse since the tutorial popup only told to press e and space

Raphael_ says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:07pm

The music is nice but the mechanics aren't super exciting.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:17pm

I beat the rock guy and it didn't let me progress any farther. Not sure if I missed something.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Cute little game, could have definitely used vigorous bug-testing and enemy/mechanics variety.
The background sprites are beautiful, but they kind of clash with characters in many places.

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Didn't have any sound for me, otherwise, there's a lot of content for a game jam game! Lots of interesting ideas, but I don't really feel like it came together too cohesively in the end.

glitchu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:35pm

I felt that you are penalized a bit too heavy as you have to transform into the creature again to beat the penguin otherwise you stand little to no chance of winning that dungeon. Felt like a cross between kirby and zelda. Really enjoy the visuals and animation :)

Holtenice says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Nice little world you've built there. The music volume was a bit low so I could hardly hear it when I attacked.

Otherwise, good :)

joekinley says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:02pm

Nice little game. Ugh that Ice dungeon is hard

Pedro120 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Great game! Played all the way through and then some :). The "bullet +2" upgrade didn't seem to work but with the other upgrades you don't really need it. Really well polished - good job!

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:48pm

The art is great. Everything looks good and Bubbly and his ennemies really have tons of character. The non-boss ennemies seemed unneccesseray to kill though, especially since they had tons of life, so i was really tempted to just ignore them.

Llucile says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Stuck at the rock dungeon. I beat the boss, then it says to right clic which I did but nothing happened :(
I'll rate what I tried so far ad it was great ! Please notify me if there is a way for me to explore this game further (since the other comments let me believe there are for more interesting things to do in your game I didn't get the chance to try) :)

antarka says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Just press the right click when you are next to the boss when you beat him. After each boss you have the power of morphing into this kind of enemy.

Dont forget the market in the top right corner. The +2 bullet work but projectile have a maximum life. So the powerup work something like one or two time max!

Thanks for all comments!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Heya antarka team, great job doing this nice game. It's very good, the progression system keeps me playing for a while :)

Just Tom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Mechanics are functional, themeing is nice :)

Death seems a little harsh, the only way to get a form back is to trek through a prior dungeon! (Unless I'm being dumb and missing something)

Getting new forms and upgrading felt great, very physical!

tjxx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:25am

Really enjoyed this game! I enjoyed progressing through each dungeon and shapeshifting into a new creature before facing the next boss. I unfortunately couldn't figure out where to go after the ice dungeon, but I have no complaints. Very well done! :)

zzapp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:32pm

It was a cool game, the graphics and audio were good, and gaining the bosses type after beating them was very satisfying.
The map was kind of confusing and it took me awhile to find the fire dungeon.
Really good job overall though.

webadev says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Didn't rate the sounds cause i can't have sounds here. Graphics are the principal quality of this game. Just awesome, nice work on it ! Everything is a bit slow, ennemies have too much HP, and we should have the ability the go previous form as we want (or i didn't found how to do, maybe). but nice work on it, loved it !

demogia says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Thank you for your critics on the graphics and the animation, especially by knowing little of time which I had for the game jam. I thank especially to programmer's team which made a job of nutcases.
I take advantage of this message to ask a question. If we improve the game at the graphic level and gameplay, such a game shall interest you?

APantaloni says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Solid entry. The game looks nice and the controls are good. I'm not a fan of the almost immediately respawning enemies.

okoto says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:29am

I do not know if this broken, does not load for me.

GaryS says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:08pm

I liked this. Graphics are nice and the gameplay is fun. I too could have done without the enemies respawning right away too - especially on the fire dungeon where I ended up surrounded by lesser enemies whilst fighting the boss, and then went back to my original form when I died.
Still, enjoyable gameplay.

shane1090 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:02pm

I managed to beat the first rock boss but then couldn't work out how to progress further. Love the graphical presentation of the game. Enemy spawning was a little bit too quick. Nice entry - well done!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:51am

Great job! I had a lot of fun with this one!

tomlum says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:32am

Beautiful beautiful game. Levels, controls, art, all wonderful.

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:10pm

there could be more in game instruction. i didnt realize there was a fire button on the mouse going in. Also didnt know what to do next after killing the boss.

knason says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:48pm

Great game! really nice graphics, I liked it alot. Good job!

avinashd says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 7:07am

Ooh, first game I found made with Superpowers! How fun was the engine to work with?

The randomly spawning enemies did kinda make each kill unsatisfying and annoying. Still, the theme was implemented quite well and the game was still fun overall :)

phi says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 6:20pm

I love how the player takes on the enemy's shape when he destroys it, that's a great way of implementing shapeshift and showing progress at the same time. However, it's quite frustrating when he morphs back into the shape from the beginning when he's killed... And I would have loved to see some different skills for the various shapes, not just different health properties, but that might be something to consider for a post-compo version. :)
Overall a very good entry, with good level design and appealing visuals (although the resolution seems to be off on some sprites...). Thanks for making this, good job! :D

Omiya Games says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Thought the game controls and upgrade system were solid, but the enemy spawn rate felt unfair. Got easily mauled from the lone enemies themselves very often. Would have at least like warning of where the enemy respawns.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]