Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Pyramech

by Futilrevenge - Jam Entry

Pyramech v1.0

Shoot me a tweet @Futilrevenge and tell me what you thought of the game!

Story:
Your world is being invaded by the evil god emperor: PYRAMECH! He cannot be defeated, and so you must survive as long as you can against his onslaught. Luckily, you have transforming/shapeshifting mechs at your disposal to try and survive!

Gameplay: Pyramech is a sort of bullet hell where you must use your transforming mechs to survive as long as possible, since without them you die in one measly hit. You can fly, shoot, jump, and barrage your way through the enemies and bullets that PYRAMECH throws against you.

Controls: (No controller support yet, sorry!)
A-D or Arrows to run left or right.
Space or Z to jump
Space or Z to thrust the fighter jet
X or Mouse 1 to fire
C or Mouse 2 to transform
E or V to enter a mech
Q to Quit
R to Restart

Team:
Martin / Futilrevenge - Programming, Art, Sounds
Jack / Diplodocus - Music
Tea / Deadly Teacup - Mech Design
Jay / BasiltheBatlord - Art

We were not able to make Pyramech as fully fleshed out as we would have liked in time. However, we are pretty proud of what there is!
Leave a comment on your thoughts, or let us know if there is a bug!


In the next week, we hope to have a v.1.1 with some more features, a scoreboard, and an extra mech on Itch.io, so keep an eye out for it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Audio(Jam)4.00
#57Graphics(Jam)4.39
#121Overall(Jam)3.78
#169Mood(Jam)3.65
#171Innovation(Jam)3.61
#499Fun(Jam)3.17
#592Theme(Jam)3.29
#2061Coolness20%

Comments

moose5555 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:25am

The opening cinematic is Very Good

luvShape says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:31am

What a great art style! Thank you for sharing!

kopo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:09am

I love the art style ! The music is pretty good too
The game crashed quite a lot for me each time I moved during the pyramech arrival or trying to enter a mech
Has a very unique feel, the art reminds me of risk of rain I wonder if that was one of your inspiration

Saiodin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:53pm

Very cool intro and gameplay. The huge robot is awesome. I also like sound and music a lot. Unfortunately the controls felt very weird to me. Moving and shooting always seemed to not happen how I want it to and actually seeing your mech and important parts of the game were often obscured or hard to see cause of the pixel style.

StMatn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:26am

Nice work!
The visuals are really great and the audio fits very nicely.
Tbh I had a hard time to play the game. At first I couldn't click the buttons in fullscreen mode (Windows version, Win7 64Bit). Then it feels great to shoot with a mech, but it's weird, that you can't move while shooting. The controls of the fighter jet are really hard, but that could be just for me.
I don't really like, that the enemy is undefeatable, while I'd say it would be ok, if he had a ton oh hp and would respawn after being defeated. I think defeating him would give the player a nice feeling of success, even if he would come back immediately (maybe after a huge explosion ;)
All in all great work!

Wefiends says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:32pm

What a cool looking game. I didn't quite understand what the goal was, I think maybe it was just trying to survive for the longest time possible. Despite that, it was fun to play, and it always felt great when a new mech got delivered. Great job.

mkghoster says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:38pm

I find this really great! Great music, intro cinematic, idea! Thank you for making it! :) At same time it's a bit hard.

Zayron says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Nice job! I like the way you play on a little planet. Nice animations and music as well!

TheCain says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:33am

It was really good, but I wish you could kill the pyramech.

May 6, 2016 @ 12:16pm

WOW. The controls on this were tight even if they were hard to figure out sometimes, the graphics and sounds were AMAZING, and it all led to a pretty fun game! Seriously: not just one but TWO types of mech? Plane was really strange, but yeah, awesome!

Also, the rotate-around-a-little-planet gameplay was unique. Only complaint is that the game tends to crash on me, which ruins the fun a bit.

To be clear... You CAN'T kill that big stompy thing, right? That's like the unstoppable hazard that drives all the action? Or was I just playing wrong this whole time? By, for example, not playing as the plane? XD

Great job. I'm seriously amazed.

dcolgan says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:54pm

I agree with most that the art very nice and big, blocky graphics will always have a place in my heart. I am impressed with the physics and the use of gravity with the bullets, but in actual use, it is not quite there yet. Bullets are hard to understand you are either going to hit everything or nothing and there are not that many enemies, that is not really the point though I guess. The transformations were cool, but I did not get much time to understand the plane one. I wish the car could have moved faster, other wise what is the point with that? Also, the keyboard controls are cramped and feel uncoordinated. Apart from that, I dig it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]