Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Portalshift

by Rakowu - Compo Entry

Welcome to Portalshift!

This is a puzzle plattformer which I created for the 35th Ludumdare.

How to:

You are a small creepy creature called Steve.

Steve has abilities to change himself through the help of magical portals.

One form makes him agile, strong or even slimey...

Help him conquer all the stages which he - who knows why - wants to finish.

Each stage has up to 3 coins, collect more of them to unlock new stages.

Controls:

Use the arrow keys left, right and up or W, A and D to move/jump.

Have fun!
_______

Bugfix: Coin, Wallrun, Physics.
___________

While I created this game, I'm also part of a two man army called ZRGames, we create games for fun.

So if you enjoy Portalshift or other games,

please visit or text us on the following channels:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ZR_Games

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ZRGamesGroup/

E-Mail: info.ZRGames@gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#111Theme3.93
#250Audio3.17
#340Fun3.31
#400Graphics3.19
#409Overall3.28
#410Innovation3.19
#434Humor2.29
#504Mood2.88

Comments

h2n0 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:54pm

That was a really nice little game, Good job on the puzzle mechanic. However. The camera shake while climbing the walls allows you to pass through areas above the character like on level 4, you can skip the second coin and by holding right and up pass through the ledge to the finish block. Brilliant little game though that one "feature" hasn't affected the rating I gave.

grayhaze says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:00pm

I had a lot of fun with this, although the level layouts seemed a little random in places. The W, A and D keys didn't work for me at all, so I used the arrow keys instead. Good work! :)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:41pm

I like the little portals making me into such awesome little aliens! I included it in my video compliation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/NeUaByS_1JI

Zanktus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:44pm

I enjoyed your puzzle game. I was able to cheat through some places which I shouldn't probably, but anyways I really liked what you created in this short time!

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Great art and very fun. Thanks!

laFunk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:34pm

The mechanics are good and the aesthetics work. The game could improve a lot with better level design though! It's a bit convoluted/random. Keep it up!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:39pm

That's one adorable little shapeshifter.

Wevel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Amazing music, nice levels having the different portals works well

tanis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:16pm

Very nice for your first entry! I like moving around with nice little aliens! Well done!

murraya2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Nice little game. Very rough around the edges though. Platforming mechanics don't *quite* work as they should. Makes level four very painful, so I ended up giving up there. Finding the secret coins was super fun though!

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:22pm

Really nice changing mechanic :) The music reminds me of the old AoE games

Max Amaden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:22pm

Nice little puzzle platformer. Keep up the good work!

Hempuli says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:49pm

I love the sounds of the angry blob! The controls and platforming were pretty finicky and tough to use, but the level design was interesting and I ended up beating all 5 levels. This could be very very nice with a little more solid physics engine. :)

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Nice game. I especially like the different feel each character has (the weight of the red one is great). Well done :)

Adipson says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:47pm

i like the purple pouple's style lol

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:57pm

I thank you guys for all that feedback. It's great. When the jam has finished i'll keep working on the game and bug fix all of it. Also i'll create a Mobile version of it :)

Thank you community

Been says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:18pm

I'm terrible at precision jumping and couldn't finish stage 4, but I really enjoyed the rest of the game. I like how distinct the different creatures look, not just the colours, and the animations looked really nice too.

Can't really think of much to fault. The only thing I can maybe come up with is on stage 3 when you're in the pit full of blocks, I hadn't touched the pile on the far right, and I had to wait while they were destroyed one by one before I could progress instead of just ploughing through them. That's pretty nit-picky though and hardly a major issue. Nice work :)

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:22pm

I'll apreciate every info about bugs :) thank you

rahulparihar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Really nice game and puzzles. The levels are great, also beautiful piece of music. :)

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Fun and cute little game. I like the character designs.

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:43pm

The music is only a loop but if you like it:
https://soundcloud.com/user-71730301/rakowu-portalshift

^^

BrianSChung says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:11pm

Crushing through the blocks on level 5 was very satisfying.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:18pm

Pretty good game, enjoyed playing it, really love that background art with the brown cubes or whatever it is, the later levels are a lot more well built than the first two. It would have been good to start with levels showing the abilities of them each individually and then together in my opinion. Anyway good game you built.

Rakowu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:29pm

@meganukebmp Thank you :)

@Digitaldude555 Yes your right. I can use "no much time" as reason, but i guess i just forgot it.

@BrianSChung finally someone apreciate it! xD

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Yay, got all 15 coins!

This is a really great idea for a full game! You should continue working on it!

The dark music really sets the mood!

Hope you had a fun time making it =)

Rakowu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:03pm

i had a great time. I'll kepp working on it and make it better. also more levels maybe more creatures etc.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Very fun game with cute animations! My favorite so far has been the climbing level, jumping from wall to wall with Steve. The music sets a good mood as well.

I'm glad to hear that you'll be continuing to develop it and will be looking forward to seeing it be further developed.

Great job!

Goutye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Pretty cool game! Even though I managed to pass through the platform with the green stuff in the 4th level to go to the exit. Bug? Had fun so, great job!

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:25am

Not bad, I found the same bug h2n0 found with level 4.

kahrzdn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:52am

Nice with all these different type of mechanics!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:57am

Nice job, it is funny to play with shapeshifting portals. Audio is good too

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Nice puzzle game! Completing the levels is easy, getting all the gems not so much! Not a big fan of the background graphics but the main character is cool :)

Karai17 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Great LD entry! Could have been more fun with better controls.

CasualCat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:59am

The game is good overall but I think some polishing could be done with the graphics and level design. Often I would find myself thoughtlessly finishing the level without interacting with all of the elements that make the level. I don't know if it was supposed to be one of those things were there are multiple ways to win, if it was it didn't feel that way. But the shape shifting element was pretty creative, and the portals were well done. The controls and platforming was good for the most part. tl;dr - good game, needs polish

MintArcade says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Very nice mechanic. Good use of theme. Controls is very nice, especially for platformer nubs like me :D

Tijn says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:09pm

This game is pretty cool! I'm amazed how much you got done in the short 48 hours of the compo, as not only does the art look quite detailed and there's sfx and music, there's also quite a bit of content! The coins are a clever way to have some extra replayability. Very nice all in all, well done!

Katamori says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Simple execution, but creative! The visual unity is missing but I'm not blaming it in case of a 48hr game.

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:42am

Beautiful art style! I like the game mechanics and it was cool to smash stones as the red guys. The blue guy was a bit hard to control, so that I kept falling down in level 4 and had to start over several times :-(

The music was nice to listen to and the overall puzzle design was easy to understand but still challenging to complete. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]