Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Dungeons

by Pineapple - Compo Entry

Shape Shift in to either a torch, legs or arms to navigate through three dungeons.

Use the button at the top of your screen to shape shift in to the three different things.

The whole objective is to reach the end of the dungeon and avoid traps. Try to get a fast time.

Thanks for the feedback in advance

Post Ludum dare version:
http://gamejolt.com/games/dark-dungeons/142165
This version has 3 updated dungeons

The first level is easier than the ludum dare version

Some bugs have been fixed but theres 100% more bugs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#377Innovation3.24
#554Mood2.80
#601Humor1.66
#620Audio1.73
#733Theme2.92
#748Overall2.86
#753Graphics2.47
#852Fun2.44

Comments

yoel1234 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:41am

interesting gameplay,needs patience , if refined just a little can be a good game.

Juin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Interesting Concept, but some kind of feedback while it's dark would have really helped a lot.

GameQuester says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:32pm

Aswome idea. Had alot of fun with this. Maybe some slight outlines while its dark would be nice.

ChrisMingay says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Very innovative. I found my use of arms a bit hit and miss though (ironically!)

ORECROS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:44pm

super cool proof of concept.
if you included something like, footsteps when you walk, a thud when you bump into a wall, maybe a sinister crackling noise as you go closer to enemies, it'd be super neat.
also it's not clear what the arms do

Conk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:45pm

really like the idea, swapping between parts needs a bit of refining, using my mouse to click the buttons was quite tedious. Really like what you made of the theme (:

DifferentName says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:44pm

I felt generally confused playing this game. You didn't mention WASD in the controls, so I started by just clicking between Torch, Legs, and Arms, seeing that nothing seemed to change. Then I tried WASD and managed to get down the hall and into another room. But I'm still not really sure if there were other buttons I should be using. While I think arms were used to push buttons, I don't quite understand how they work. And I have no idea how I died.

More sound effects would probably do a lot to turn that around, though. If I can't see what's happening, it would be good to hear it so I have some idea of what's going on, and could add a lot to the creepiness factor of being in the dark.

Also, I had a bug in full screen where I had to click above the buttons instead of directly on them. Maybe because of the different aspect ratio or something? Worked well when I restarted in Windowed mode though.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:39pm

A nice idea! I kinda wish I had hotkeys for the various transformations. Also the first level felt very complicated for a first level. Still, a very solid effort.

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Pretty interesting concept

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:11am

loved the idea - very different makes you really think about what yo want to do nice work

hijomo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:34pm

I like the concept, some feedback would be great, maybe sound ques?

Team 63 Bit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:34pm

The mechanic is a very interesting idea, but there does need to be some sort of feedback if the screen is dark.

JOK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Very interesting concept! Would have loved some music for setting the mood, but good job otherwise!

blob says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:26am

Awesome concept. Would love to have to shapeshit into "ears" to be able to hear monsters come. Monsters were a bit weird, arms didnt seem to do anything on them. I think i got a bug when i reached a level's exit and it didnt get me anywhere but my character started sliding off.
I'd see buy this if it was fully polished! Has potential to be very creepy. :)

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:01am

Cool concept, innovative.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:20am

Some additional audio queues would be perfect! walking, sounds of enemies or traps, etc. I like the concept though!

morrilet says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:39am

It definitely took some patience to get anywhere in this game. Good idea, but I think it needed a little bit more feedback when it's dark. Definitely could be something interesting though, and it was a unique take on the theme.

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:44am

I think you have a pretty good start here. I do agree with other comments that some audio feedback while in the dark would be extremely helpful.

chaosBrick says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:35am

Well, the idea itself is great. But some kind of feedback while walking (maybe step sounds or something like that) would've been nice. And then at some point I started sliding around and couldn't stand still anymore. Maybe also some sounds for hitting a wall or getting close to enemies would improve the gameplay a lot. But it's still a nice concept.

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on www.indiexpo.net ? It's like itch or gjolt.
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Venneque says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Very innovative. NOT INTUITIVE selection menu.
The concept of 3 separated modes is quite frustrating but I guess it's the purpose. It is a borderline project according to the theme but honestly I like it.

ChronoCrab says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:25am

Very fun and it has that "old school" vibe that I like in indie games--it's up t you to discover a lot of the secrets and the lack of guidance is part of the immersion--if done correctly!! This was one of my faves.

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:18pm

Interesting concept and game play

Gord10 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Interesting idea!

TheCain says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Interesting, but needs polish

srakowski says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:31am

lol, frustrating switching back and forth. I think with a bit of music to set the tone and some feedback for moving around you might be on to something :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]