Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Delta Cubed

by CameronSamuels - Jam Entry

Check out the updated version (post-jam) at http://cameronsamuels.com/deltacubed and http://github.com/CameronSamuels/deltacubed.

A Ludum Dare 35 game based on shape shifting. Type the requested number to advance through the world of polygons, shapes, sides, vertices, and most of all. . . shape shifting!

Type the randomized number to rotate the shape clockwise. Type it wrong and it will turn counter clockwise. Type numbers correctly as many as the amount of sides the shape has to shift to the next level.

Tools: HTML, JavaScript, CSS for the programming languages. Sublime Text for the text editor. Sound from soundbible.com. HTML5 canvases for the graphics.

All major browsers are supported including Chrome (Mobile and Desktop), Safari (Mobile and Desktop), Microsoft Edge, Opera, Firefox, and maybe more.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#741Theme(Jam)3.06
#773Graphics(Jam)2.94
#862Mood(Jam)2.63
#882Innovation(Jam)2.61
#944Overall(Jam)2.79
#959Fun(Jam)2.56
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

Crown Games says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 7:39pm

Neat game

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Slick animations and tight sound. A time limit to make you do it faster would have added more challenge

jdeuce says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Cool idea. agree about the time limit

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Cool animations on the shape and nice simple style, but I didn't see the challenge in pressing the shown button...

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Love the presentation and satisfying audio. Played up until the enneadecagon and didn't notice the shape developing any further. Still, with a timer and a bit more of a challenge, this could be a solid start. nice work!

Satchmo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Thanks for the feedback! Actually when a shape gets too many sides it will look like a circle.

amras0000 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:08pm

All the excitement and thrills of entering your credit card number :T The mechanic of right number does one thing, wrong number does another has potential. Maybe you have to fit a shape (keep it down to 6 sides or fewer) into a specific hole? Throw a timer on that and it'd be a pretty tense experience of "do I follow the orders or not"? As it stands, not a lot of game here.

psyxose says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:35am

Interesting game !

Tooichi says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Very nice idea, definitely needs to be more challenging though :)

May 3, 2016 @ 10:03pm

I agree with the previous comments.
Also, at some point it really should say "circle".
You could indicate how many levels there are to give the player more of an incentive. The sound was pretty good, but I don't see it in the rating categories; did you get it from somewhere?

Satchmo says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 10:15pm

I got the audio from soundbible.com. So I opted out of voting for audio.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]