Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Snake

by eduardogacn - Jam Entry

"Robot snake " is finished!!!
Update: Thank you all for your comments and feedback. Follow me on itch if they want to see future versions of the game. :D
https://treecastle.itch.io/robot-snake

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#30Fun(Jam)4.01
#37Innovation(Jam)4.11
#42Overall(Jam)4.01
#243Theme(Jam)3.72
#246Audio(Jam)3.42
#298Mood(Jam)3.42
#476Graphics(Jam)3.44
#480Humor(Jam)2.56

Comments

Pietdagamer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:32am

Very innovative mechanic and nice audio :)

Insality says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:33am

AMAZING! it so easy and so ideal gameplay
Rly, i was suprised and get a lot of fun to play it!
Great job!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:35am

Very cool and unique game!!! It took me a few minutes to get the hang of it and once I did I was locked in! Nice work!

Steven Miller says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:54am

Amazing game! The puzzles are great and games controls very well.

strife47 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:01am

Its a really good and fun game! Too short :(

MintArcade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:05am

Wow. This is very unique game. Looks so simple, but plays so great. Awesome game!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:15am

Really great mechanic and feedback with the "magnet" icons -- so simple and intuitive I picked it up almost immediately. Nice puzzle design, solid responsive controls, and cool music.

I just wish there were more levels and puzzle elements! Some sound effects would be nice too, for hitting the switches or collecting stars, etc, even if they were simple bleep-bloop type sounds.

eymrich says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:20am

Nice work!

usonchen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:03am

Innovated!

MAN JO TEAM says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:57am

Very good it's fun and intuitive. Good job, I expect more leves in a near future.

cabezotta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Great game! :D

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:47pm

heyyy really nice mechanics

eduardogacn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:39am

Thank you very much for your feedback :D

bigpan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:46am

Awesome game, never played anything like it before! Good graphics and music, well done!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:48am

You've made an innovative mechanical snake, which was really unique. Amazing! :D

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:54am

Very solid entry, all around. Neat puzzle platforming mechanic.

Divitos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:02am

Very fun game. The mechanics remind me of Snakebird, but with a focus on skill instead of puzzles.

zzapp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:04am

Fun gameplay, a unique mechanic, and interesting puzzles. Great job.

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:12am

I really enjoyed this! I like the shape mechanic and you put together some thoughtful levels in a short time. I suppose the graphics are the weakest part, but they are clean and the purpose of each object is easily readable (except the little flying enemy imo). I would definitely play more of this, great marks all around! :D

AAGH Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:15am

I love the mechanic of growing the snake, it controls perfectly, and the levels are really well balanced. The audio was atmospheric and fitting as well.

fenwick says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:21am

Wow, very simple and yet very innovative and fun! Puzzles are very clever too. The music is great to top it all off, well done.

swinestudios says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:51am

Leaves me wanting more levels

ORECROS says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:05am

Really innovative. A bit of a clarity issue with the alien, wasn't sure which spaces he was occupying at first. also I wish the music didnt reset every time you started a new room. Looked really nice. well done

kumoi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:58am

Very nice game! I did however get stuck in the red area by accident and couldn't exit or move.

Pibeex says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:15pm

Great game and innovative mechanics!

Rafos Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:48pm

Great game =)

Matzigon says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Good design, nice visuals, innovative puzzle. Could have been a bit longer. :)

AngerFork says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:54am

Super fun! Well done!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:56am

Fantastic! You've got a great core mechanic, and you expanded really nicely on it in the levels that followed. I'd love to see a bunch more levels with new mechanics and combinations of the existing ones. Awesome job, one of my favorite games so far!!

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:06am

I really like the easy to learn grab and pull mechanic. Very fun and addictive. Nice audio and graphics also.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:19am

Wow, the total package. New fun mechanics, neat levels (more!), great music. Polish this thing up and get it out there somewhere.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:35am

This game is perfect! Really, really enjoyable and clever (Unique).

Congrats and great job Eduardo!

egos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:40am

relay nice idea i like it
But no checkpoint and the game have no replay value due to the slow movement

Ibzy says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:53am

Very nice mechanic, original and very fun.
Difficulty progress is smooth and the graphics are elegant.
This could become a mobile hit.
Good job :)

fafastudio says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:27am

Very nice little game :) enjoyed it , i found it too much easy at the beginning but it's definately not :)

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:12am

Amazing game!!! I love the music!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:35pm

Very nice mechanic!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Getting a major vibe from a recent indie game... Forgot what it was called. You were a type of virus that shifted its form to platform across a desolate, post-apocalyptic world. Lot's of green... Anyway, fun concept!

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:03pm

Very nice mechanics. I hope you'll made a full game.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:59pm

Great take on theme and game mechanics. Well thought out puzzles. Great entry.

eduardogacn says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:47am

Thank you all for your comments and feedback. Follow me on itch if they want to see future versions of the game. ?
https://treecastle.itch.io/robot-snake

lanestp says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:12am

Really fun! And super creative! I'm amazed that this mechanic works but it really, really did!

aCoupleGames says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:31am

really good game! congrats for innovation, it was amazing and fun. Keep the good job!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:43am

Great concept and fun game!

sararyCow says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:51am

Small but enjoyable game. I want to play new levels!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:51am

Really cool game!

Yword says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:25am

I just finished it, it is really innovative and fun! Well done!

ultravioleta says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:21am

interesting mechanic and great level design! good job!

neondx says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:47am

great concept, a little too hard in the begining!

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:08pm

Great mechanic and well designed levels. Awesome game!

bytegrove says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Oh yes, this is awesome! You have a real winner here, the mechanics are really clever, awesome interpretation of the theme. My only complaint is that I can't use WASD for controls as arrow keys makes the browser window scroll. But that's nitpicking because there really is only positive stuff to say about this! ;D Awesome work!

Kep says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Great concept! Innovation 5/5, would play more levels.
You found a way to a snake variant that is intellectually engaging, impressive.

pyokoanarogue says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Pretty much perfect-ish design!

hippy dave says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:22pm

That was sweet, great innovative idea and very slick presentation. Would definitely play more of this.

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

inyourlegends says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Really cool concept. Well done.

huminaboz says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:50pm

Very relaxing and fun - good audio sync with the mood too.

Cerberus says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:23am

Loved your game, the graphics where nice, the controls where excellent. the gameplay and the mechanics where the best. Awesome work!

studdert249 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:12am

Nice little puzzle game, with a well thought out mechanic. The only thing that would have made it better would have been more levels! (But saying that time restrictions will be time restrictions)

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:10am

So much awesomeness! The mix of puzzle and action go well together.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:53am

Nice puzzle game with snake-game and wall-stick mechanics and nice style.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:20am

Really nice gameplay mechanics. Thanks for the entry!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:24am

Great game, but too short >.<
good job !

yoel1234 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:23am

wow thats an awesome take on snake, very interesting mechanics.
can totally be a full commercial game if you put more time into itt.
great job.

knason says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:36am

wow, cool game, I really had fun playing this, very innovative. Great game! good job!

hunttis says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:51pm

Very good! A novel mechanic with nice puzzles. I would've definitely played more of this! Nice work all around!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:26pm

nice entry i loved the new take on old classic snakes

SemiColon says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:24pm

Quite cool! Shame it was short, I could see this becoming a great puzzler.
Perhaps you could add sound effects, or more interesting enemies.
This game clearly does not need a tutorial of any sort, as the mechanic is very clear from gameplay, and that in itself is quite a feat. Congratulations!

Asturk says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Great game there, reaaly lked the snake mechanic mixed with puzzle and fast reaction parts. Its really fun and the levels was well made!

tentacode says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Awesome puzzler!

Studiosaurus says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Great little game! Well made, polished. Nice take on a popular idea.

namrog84 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:40pm

that was quite fun! Great job! I love it!

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:32am

Very nice gameplay mechanic, well implemented idea. Nice puzzles and nice art style

IvanFon says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:33am

Amazing game! Unique mechanic, great graphics and music. There was an incredible amount of polish to it, and the game was really fun and immersive. One of the best I've seen, I hope you'll develop this further post-jam. Great job!

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:32am

I like it!

Pros:
fun and simple controls
nice mixture of challenge and reward
interesting execution of shapeshifting
cons:
the audio wasn't bad, but could be expanded (new music with new levels, sound effects)

Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Really fun game. I want more levels!

I can't find anything bad about your game (the game needs some sfx, but that all), it's very solid entry.

Congrats!

Fanatrick says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:12pm

Very immersive, excellent job!

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Great concept. Wish there was more levels!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:18pm

Loved the mechanics and the levels were surprisingly hard.

Soron says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Simple yet innovative and fun core mechanic :). I was sad when I realized I'd reached the last level. Well done!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:14am

There are a few games that I'm returning to in order to play again and this is one of them!!! I was able to beat all the levels and I just loved the game play! I also thought about a stretching mechanic for the shapeshifting theme but you DID A WAY BETTER job!!! Very nice work!!

Beavl says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:29am

Love the redesign on snake mechanics. Really liked some of the levels. Good stuff. Congrats on it!

pjimmy says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:25am

Very creative game

derr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:34am

Very refreshing and fun game! Audio and visuals are nicely done, too. Great entry! :)

guoboism says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Wow! Very innovative mechanic! Really fun to play as worm like this! Really creative!

Japes says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Cute game - I really like the idea and the puzzle solving aspects. If you were to develop this game then I could see a variety of challenging scenarios being developed and extra goody items (or booby traps) being placed. Very cool.

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:20am

I like this mechanics, i also played "The maitre D" wich also uses stretching as shapeshift, you might like to check it out. Snake is simpler but a lot of fun as well, Great work!

RavagerBrian says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:38am

It's really fun! Great game. :)

Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:40am

Very good idea and execution!

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:05am

cool gameplay! awesome implementation of the theme.
Mood/visuals/audio made it even better.

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:47pm

Great and innovative idea that follows the theme. Very nice graphics and music. A bit short though, I would love more levels.

plko says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Magnet symbol is a good idea. Although there is no description about this, you still can understand what it mean after few times try.

Adipson says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:46am

Centiped is back ! lol fun game !

flummox3d says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:24pm

This mechanic is really, really fun. Nice idea and level design. Give us more levels! Awesome entry! :D

neilcorre2k6 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:30am

Great Game! :D

bazkur98 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:26pm

Very nice! Once I got the hang of it I was having some real fun. Nice Job!

snowyowl says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:06am

Absolutely flawless! The graphics are clear and pretty, the puzzles are interesting and could clearly stay challenging for long enough to make a full-length game. The music is quirky-fun and doesn't get repetitive. And of course the controls are clear and intuitive; within seconds of starting the game I understood how the snake moved and I was clinging to the ceiling like a regular Spider-Man. Well done!

Klaas says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:19am

Good work!

May 2, 2016 @ 12:43am

Super cool, love the background music and voices. Simple, innovative mechanic which is quite an achievement. Great work!

Mr.Chippy says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:17pm

This was so much fun! The music and graphics were very good too. :)

PinkIndian says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Well made and solid game experience! You also managed to add your own twist to the old "snake movement". I also liked the music.

WizzardMaker says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:54pm

You've got some good music in there, and a nice and polished gameplay.

AinoraZ says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Wow! Amazing mechanics!

LeReveur says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Unique puzzle ! Innovative game mechanic, and ambiant jazz music, I like it, it was fun to play. :)

Jaenis says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Amazing gameplay! This was similar as "Portal" for me, had to think bit differently to solve those puzzles. Great work!
This could work on a mobile very nicely...

Larzan says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:44am

Awesome game, well done, nice gfx (only the walls could be nicer, maybe add just some shadow in the background).
The only thing that was a bit anoying is that you have to start from the beginning, a few savepoints / respawnpoints in between would be nice.
Good job!

Gamepopper says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Really clever idea, a very good take on the Snake game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]