Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shining Eye

by Wisedawn - Jam Entry

Shining Eye

Featuring a protagonist with a singular shapeshifing ability, 19 different enemy types, 8 short-yet-challenging stages, 5 unique boss fights, character progression with 8 interesting stats to upgrade and a branching open world, Shining Eye is a game you just need to experience!

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

Story:

Indeed, yes.

There was a Verse once, I believe, one among many. One that existed within the reach of Gods, fated to die as ordained.

It's name is... long forgotten. For the Lords of Matter and Light, together banded under one Last Empire, defeated the God who had come to gift them ruin.

Yet time demands sacrifice, even from the victorious and the brave. There will come a time when another God journeys to this realm, perhaps hidden as a being of Matter and Light, and it will reclaim the nameless Verse from the tyranny of this Last Empire.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

How to Play:

Navigate the menu using the Left Mouse Button. Left Mouse Button to Shoot. Right Mouse Button to reveal your True Form.

The game heavily relies on particle effects and runs at 60 FPS. Low end (or even high end) computers may struggle.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

Made in 72 hours for the Ludum Dare Jam by Wisedawn

Tools:
-Game Maker Studio
-GIMP
-Custom Image Processing Stuff
Graphics:
-Kenney's CC0 Sprites
-Some public domain images
Sounds and Music:
-Plenty of public domain sources
Fonts:
-mizike
-Hitch Hike
-Dr. Jekyll

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#309Mood(Jam)3.40
#329Innovation(Jam)3.30
#380Fun(Jam)3.32
#402Overall(Jam)3.38
#771Theme(Jam)3.03

Comments

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:45am

Awesome! The ship mechanic feels really good.

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:59am

The ship mechanic was very unique, but for such a thin screen I don't think it was implemented well.
The graphics and sound were pretty good too (It says you used Kenney's CC0 Sprites, however you never noted if you used someone else's sounds? If not, why isn't there a rating option for audio?).

Wisedawn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:04am

Sorry, obviously there were other public domain sources as well, thus the game should not be judged in the Sound category. However, a shmup like this always requires good sounds. I may compile a list later on.

torcado says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:12am

really interesting mechanic! ive never seen anything like it before. it makes the game really difficult but in a good way. and the visuals are really awesome. nice job!

stormouse says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:19am

cool graphics, nice gamestyle, but a little difficult to control :D

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:49am

Had much fun playing this game! :)

namrog84 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:50am

interesting movement mechanic . feels good but interesting

Reisen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:59am

Control scheme doesn't really work that well, I think. Base form's bullets are angled and hard to aim. Shifted form's bullet is straight, but the transformation itself is inertial and also hard to aim.

And the "where do I go now" map screen.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:49am

Love it. The game does very well at controlling and has progression you don't expect to find in a game made in such a short time.

Trickman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:54am

Excellent game and interesting mechanics. If I had anything to critisize, it would be the tutorial getting too much on the way. Try making it more visual and less text-wall-based.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:09am

The ship back/forth mechanic is very interesting and unique, and an upgrade system is always fun. I felt like the shapeshifting was a little hard to control due to the momentum drifting after changing. It probably would have felt more satisfying to be able to stop more precisely, but maybe that was intentional to increase the difficulty.

The sound you chose for the shapeshifting was also a little too whimsical sounding, I think. I didn't quite fit the serious tone of the game.

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:51pm

The look & feel is great. The sounds work really well with the graphics and the game has a great overall atmosphere.

The mechanics kind of bothered me at first but when you manage to link a bunch of attacks together the game really comes alives.

One thing that frustrated me though was the energy bar. When the game got faster and more ennemies showed up, I ended up being able to do very little because of the limited energy.

Big Cow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Impressed with what you managed to get done for the Jam. game play is simple but challenging I like that moving at shooting was done with the same click it so you have to time things right. Would work great as a mobile game! I thought the text was well written too. Well done :)

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Cool idea and well put together. Good job!

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Nice game, nice gameplay, very fun.
try out game ;)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:05am

A unique twist in a standard shoot em up. Good job. Lots of fun

Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:05am

Nice simple shooter which I can see would work really well on mobile. Liked the different amount of upgrades available and the change in form. One little thing I noticed that I kept trying was to click the options text instead of just the box. Think it might be a bit more user friendly if the choice options went over the text also.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:00pm

I love Game Maker games!!! This was a very cool mechanic. Nice job with the theme as well.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]