Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Ball Blitz

by Dante2001 - Jam Entry

We added the mobile version as everyone suggested. Hope you guys like it! For now only Android. Android version has 8 more levels due to it being after the LD. If you want to judge/rate just do it with the web version in mind please

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#93Fun(Jam)3.78
#444Overall(Jam)3.34
#686Mood(Jam)2.91
#739Humor(Jam)1.98
#889Innovation(Jam)2.60
#1125Theme(Jam)1.84
#1854Coolness30%

Comments

CalmKai says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:31am

Good game!

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:42am

decent game a bit frustrating in spots where you have to hit just right but its a solid game

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:20am

Great visuals and physics. I would very much play this as a mobile app game on some free time. Great work!

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:11am

Well... I shot right through a few walls by going full power and the buttons render under things sometimes. Other than that this game is READY FOR RELEASE! Seriously I got would have finished it if I hadn't gotten stuck on level 46... The only other thing I have to say is that I think the fast moving obstacles kinda ruin the calm aesthetic.

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Really cool game! But was does this have to do with shapeshifting?

Per says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:08pm

Nice game. Really liked the graphics and the music.
I suggest that you change the animation during dragging the ball/arrow since it was difficult to see how much I changed since last try.

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:20pm

This is a really cool fun game. There was a lot of interesting level design in the whole thing. I really like that you mixed up the difficulty from highly skilled to easy but fun to watch. Awesome physics puzzle game.

pjimmy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Awesome! played all 50 levels. When the ball goes too fast, the rubber walls didn't detect the collision. Other than that, it's very good for 72h, great game for mobile

hunttis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:12pm

That was quite a fun game, not sure where the theme came in though :D

Also, for some reason, the fast-forward button simply killed my computers performance :-O

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:36pm

Got too tedious for me after like 30 tries on a single level.

Otherwise, really awesome game!

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:14pm

Hi, I played 35 leves, is very fun in all, but I think that doesn't fit with theme very well, do?

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:21pm

Nice game which I knew since many years. I like the physics. It could be interesting on mobile device. Well done ++

panurge says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Fun! I spent way longer on this than I'd intended to. The only extra thing I would have liked is some little 'ghost' of my previous shot strength and angle to help guide me, a little like in Angry Birds. Great work, though!

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Really fun and easy to get into, don't see much of the actual theme, but I guess you shift the shapes(balls) on the ground. If the feedback of where the ball is going to shoot was a bit better, I'd love to have this game on my phone to play. Well done

dvdking says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:34pm

later levels are quite crazy, I was like wtf is this shit

Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Very soothing music, very soothing game.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:53pm

Pretty good! I liked it!

My only suggestion would be to optimize the fast forward. Waiting for the balls to resolve themselves is painful at times, but the fast forward sometimes lags the screen if there are too many things on the screen.

In response to @Z4f1's comment, you don't have to make a game based around the theme; it says that in the rules somewhere. But in this case, you are literally shifting balls around with your primal urge or destruction and havoc.

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:09pm

Excellent game, not sure how well it fits the theme but the game itself is amazing! I played it for entirely too long :)

Were this to be released on Android, I'd play it a great deal

AnaGF says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Nice game, challenging but it is pretty addictive. Looks like it had a lot of work behind. Theme is hard to see, but good job

Xanjos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:09pm

Game had no relation to the theme whatsoever (Fortunately I'm not one of those people who are super militant about it) but it was well polished (I like how you've managed to put in 50 levels) and quite fun to play. Also this would work great on mobile.

OttersDen says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:25pm

Lovely game. Pretty fun and relaxing. I want this on my phone!

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:19am

addictive and good execution. The white circle effect was a bit annoying to see the white circle power jauge

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Love playing with physics, that was quite fun. Agree that it would suit the mobile platform.

11Schotter says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:54pm

reminds me on worms gameplay! cool physics

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:09pm

I really like the innovative idea and the fact that there are lots of levels.
Some of them were really smart!

But the game itself definitely needs some polishing and some bugs need to be fixed:
Better graphics/textures would be nice.
Audio needs polishing too, especially the music which gets repetitive after a while.
The game lags, especially when fast-forwarding.
And currently it's very hard to aim the ball:
White ring that shows the throw power is very hard to see because of the decorative animated rings.

Also, I have some bug reports for you:
Sometimes current level renders on top of the gui.
Edges of the gui were cut off on my resolution (1680x1050).
Moving objects on some levels are glitchy (the ball ricocheted incorrectly off a horisontally moving block; also on a level with downwards moving platform on which you need to shoot quickly before balls get into the pit, after the platform stops, it starts to vibrate, sometimes making finishing the level impossible, because the balls never stop).
Also, the power indicator ring behaves strangely (especially when shooting downwards).

And some feature requests:
It's very hard to aim, thus it would be nice to get some visual hints. I see two options: First, you can always show the player a fly arc of a previous throw plus a power and the direction they had used; second, when player drags a ball to shoot it, you can dynamically calculate a fly arc that it will take and show it to the player.
Also, as it is now, power and direction indicators are a bit inaccurate. The throw power and direction depends on where you press the button and where you release the button. It is inconvenient (at least to me) because the cursor position does not match the intersection of the direction indicator arrow and power indicator ring when you start moving your mouse not from the center of the ball. (It's a bit hard to explain. :c) I see 2 options for an easy fix: You can draw a ghost ball under player's cursor; or you can (which is better) don't take into account the point at which the player had started dragging the ball, instead always use the center of the ball as a starting point (optionally, plus the ghost ball under the cursor).
And of course, more features and more interesting levels!

I'm sorry for this wall of text. :P
Don't be upset about the bug reports.
Actually, the game is good. Polish it a bit, fix some bugs, and you're ready to release this on the mobile.

Nice job overall!

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:17pm

Very cool game! Got some similarly one on my android! Your has the better music :-) Keep up the good work!

dcolgan says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:38pm

This is pretty awesome. Angry birds meets Bloons. I have two complaints.
1. It is really difficult to judge the actual strength of a launch from one time to the next. No matter how many times I did it, it always felt like when I succeeded, it was more luck than intuition.
2. The dragging launch feature is hard to use. When I played using my mouse, I could maybe get it to grab once every three tries. Using the touch screen was much better, but I still had a lot of flubbed shots and times when it just would not grab.
Also, no use of the theme??? I guess that is three complaints. The physics engine felt good though and puzzles were easy to understand but a good level of difficulty. I knew how to identify everything I came across right away.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Clever variation on the Angry Bird principle. Well done. :)

Khaoz_Fang says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 1:01am

Don't like the art style, but the mechanic is nice.

lycoris102 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 1:53am

so fun:)

alsantour says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:25am

Very fun game! I dont see the correlation with shape shifting theme, and the controls are touchy, where a little movement on the mouse was too little power but then if i barely add a little more it launches super hard... That being said cascade destruction is always tons of and so is this game!! think with minor tweaks it would be awesome! i would want to try this on a phone or tablet maybe the controls are better

Crefossus says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:32pm

Pretty fun. I appreciate how you can fast forward and zoom through the initial levels. Nice sfx. The presentation for ludumdare could use some attention (scroll bars, ui not fitting) - fullscreen fixes it though I guess. Wish there was a faster level restart for known failures (press r or something?). Clicking is fairly fast but you have to move your mouse a lot.

For those of you struggling with the theme connection: I think it's going for literally shifting shapes off of a platform.

StrayCat says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:12am

Really addictive game!

JohnnySix says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Fun stuff, and challenging in the later levels with all the buttons and bouncing walls. I may not have playe far enough, but a range of projectiles would have been fun , something to incorporate the theme maybe, with heavy cubes , bouncy spheres, triangles that slice like a ninja star etc.

fin_nolimit says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:27am

I think I've played your game the longest out of all the LD games I've played these past two weeks! Fantastic job!!!

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 7:30am

Nice one. Simple mechanic, like angry birds, but great fun. And lots of levels always a win in Ludum Dare - well done! I hope mobile version is coming soon, right?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]