Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ChickLife

by Nodari Kobakhidze - Jam Entry

Name: ChickLife
Developers: Nodari Kobakhidze (codder) & Luka Nadirashvili(Art)

About Game:
This game is about chick, from life to death. Game contains 5 Levels (Only 2 of them have been developed, more in future). Every next level you play as more progressed chick (For example, you are egg in first level and small chick in second). The game is really funny and small. I'll be adding more levels in future.

The game have been developed by 15 and 16 years old young game developers (Me, Nodari Kobakhidze 15 years old and my partner, Luka Nadirashvili, 16 years old) , in 24 hours, in Georgia (country). Thanks to Ilia State University for letting us use their place to develop our game.

Everything you see in game have been created by us, whole asset have been created by us (except Background Music). We even made animations but hadn't enough time left for controllers to control animations.

Hope you'll like our game and please leave us feedback (what should we improve).
Also we included source code, so if you're begginer and interested how we made this game then download source code and test it yourself.

For any questions contact me on this email: nodarikobaxidze11@gmail.com

Thank you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#71Humor(Jam)3.78
#502Mood(Jam)3.15
#583Fun(Jam)3.07
#623Graphics(Jam)3.18
#776Theme(Jam)3.00
#842Overall(Jam)2.93
#1021Innovation(Jam)2.34

Comments

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:31am

Funny stuff! Loved it!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:04am

Could not run it on OS X. Downloaded the source, but Unity unfortunately shows a compiler error.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:13am

I don't see any compiler errors.. Hmm interesting, I'll upload OS X build too

jk5000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:35am

Hysterically funny. Great choice of music.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:46am

You can't see the chick in the Dessert level.
Graphics/Animation no words.
Funny Idea, Don't give up

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:39pm

I got it running from source now, after updating Unity.

Unfortunately, at this point the game does feel a bit unfinished.
I like the idea and it fits into the shapeshifting theme.
A few decorative ( and/or moving, e.g. leafs, tumbleweed, etc.) items along with the character animations (for which you ran out of time I understood) would probably improve the visuals a lot.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Thank you, I'll improve it for sure!

qikcik says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:16am

Good Game :D I had a great time :D

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:50am

Haha, I was smiling the whole time I was playing this, due to the funny art and chicken dance music. I liked that it was fairly forgiving with the checkpoints, because some parts were difficult to get past.

varuns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:44am

lol

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:49pm

I liked the simple graphics!

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:56pm

I was laughing the whole time that I played this. The music was a really nice touch and I like the art. My only complaints are that the movement is very slide-y, you get stuck on walls when falling, and I wish the chicken was animated. Overall, though, great job!

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:01pm

Yay i passed 2 levels!

Nicely done for 24 hours. You guys are going to make some great things if you keep at it!

The only problem I have is the collisions. The fact that you get stuck on obstacles is frustrating. Though there weren't that many obstacles.

Overall, fun little game. Great job for your first time!

Hope to see you again for the next ld =)

ekx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Had a great time. Keep making games.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Nice idea and theme of the game. Keep working on it!

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:49pm

Good job and very good graphics :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:32pm

Definitely a fun little runner game and the minimalistic sprite graphics I loved! Although certain parts clipped a bit too much which made a few jumps a bit too awkward. Not to mention the checkpoints are quite far away in certain harder areas, which ultimately led to me quitting.

I lasted about 5 minutes and then had flashbacks to the 90s where we were forced to do the chicken dance every 10 minutes at school discos. 10/10 - IGN

Arvydas says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:20pm

the graphics are funny and the mood is good, the game mechanics not so, i find too much clipping and the game itself is pretty repetitive, this game needs some hard polishing to be enojyed enough

ragnta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:04pm

I like the chicken graphics :) Good job! :)

Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:05am

Great game! Liked the graphics :)

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Djapz30 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:40am

Just 24hrs? Whoa!

Don't worry! Both of you will get better with time!
Keep developing!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:08pm

Nice little game with good graphics :D

schw3de says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:51pm

You could have given the chicken an skateboard, then it would fit to the movement. :D
Keep on creating games!

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:59am

Such a cute game :D And dat music :D

Your art style is beautiful, too bad there wasn't much more to do than running forward with an occasional jump. In the first level I was once caught by the hen, in the second level I never saw a real threat.

Those half-visible holes were very sneaky :-p

You should take the whole 72 hours next time if you can manage that somehow. I would have loved to play the finished game!

Swynfel says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Good job for a 24h hour game !

The game feels unfinished (and it is apparently, since it's missing 3 levels).

Two very important things I think you should rework to make the game more enjoyable :
The collisions - You should have chose a square or circle shaped collider for you chick. Sometimes it feels as if it follows the shape of the sprite : that's not really good for performance (for a small 2D game that's actually not really a problem) ; and for game play : when I missed my jumps, I sometimes stayed stuck on the edge on a platform, surviving thanks to my belly, but couldn't jump or go any further (I had to commit suicide).
The horizontal movement - Your chicken doesn't know how to slow down! Once you pressed left or right, you chicken will keep on running for a while. You should add a faster "slow-down" when no key is pressed : on each update, if the chicken is on the ground, and no horizontal key is pressed, divide the speed by a value close to one (1 + updatetime*something) /or/ set the horizontal speed to (rightKeyPressed-leftKeyPressed)*speed (a bit too violent I think). Do something like that, because right now it feels like the chicken is on very slippery ice.

Some other things that could make the game better :
Add animations (you planned on doing it but couldn't, I understand), effects (particle effects following the chicken, hen, or egg for example), and visual indicators. I don't really know where I re-spawned most of the time because all the platforms look identical. Add a palm-tree here and there, dry grass, etc... Could be cool.
More graphics in general would be could. Be careful of not-so-compatible colours. (I'm thinking of the desert level where the chicken's bright yellow, the orange of sand in the background and the platforms' brown don't go so well. Try taking either colours that are far enough from each other, or take colours with the same "hue" and close "saturation".
Reduce the length of the not difficult parts. Sometimes you have to get from one "puzzle" to another, and you have empty horizontal platforms : remove some of them. It will make the game more dynamic. It's also true for the end of the second level, where you have to run for a month (measured it) to reach the end.

I felt like you had a lot of very good varied idea, but it wasn't correctly executed. I saw variation in gameplay (the hen part for example was very good) and it was cool.

Good job to you two ! I wish you good luck on your future projects ! I hope you'll be able to spend a full 72h for the next ludum dare.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:04am

second game im playing with an egg evolving, great idea, i should have it :)

gelisam says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:28am

Crashes immediately after the unity logo on OS/X 10.10.5.

May 10, 2016 @ 11:14am

Try running from source file. OS/X build is untested sadly. I don't have mac

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]