Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

PsychoShift

by Ratmena - Jam Entry

The story of a ball and his mind who gone mad. Everything used in this game is ours except of audio,

music link-----> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B7xai5u_tnk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#162Audio(Jam)3.64
#232Graphics(Jam)3.91
#243Theme(Jam)3.72
#274Humor(Jam)3.04
#348Innovation(Jam)3.28
#369Mood(Jam)3.32
#469Overall(Jam)3.31
#730Fun(Jam)2.88

Comments

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:16am

Oh god that soundtrack is wonderful <3
Took me a moment to figure out I had to swap in mid-air to jump and move! It's a nice game though, I played a few times

Saymon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:19am

Loved the introduction, nice work !

notime4games says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:20am

I think you nailed the shapeshifting part, it feels like the main feature of the game.
It was a bit hard to control and not obvious what to do and the camera kept killing me because I couldn't see what was ahead of me.

Ratmena says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:22am

tx bro, that soundtrack is not ours, here is the link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B7xai5u_tnk everythimg else is made by us bros men use Q W E to swap shapes \m/

zugende says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:26am

omg, just awesome! Loved the introduction and the overall style of the game. Well done!
This soundtrack fitted perfectly!!

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:28am

Very beautiful! Controls are a bit hard/mushy, and sometimes the game requires you to switch really quickly which is a bit too much to learn for a 5 minute game. The story is pretty cool, the characters are cute and the game mechanic is interesting.

ziege says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:33am

It looks great, it sounds great, but it's extremely hard to control.
Also I somehow managed to fall through water without dying at first jump with water and crates.

Red15 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:36am

Found the controls hard, rebinding to numpad 1/2/3 helped for me.

Kudos on the drawing style

Juin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:39am

The Controls felt a bit weird i sometimes could not move/figure out how to move.

studdert249 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:45am

Took a little while to work out the controls and switch to the sphere mid jump felt a little funny, for lack of a better word.

On the other hand, the music is great and the cardboard box cut out look of the level was even better!

ConorOD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:51am

Controls and shapeshifting implementation were great. Presentation and sound were also top notch. But the camera made it almost unplayable - it was constantly lagging behind so building up any sort of speed (necessary for a lot of jumps) left me way off the side of the screen.

cheesewhiz999 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Amazing graphics and sound, but controls were stiff and the camera did not stay centered on the character.

iMer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:04pm

Only thing I can complain about is either camera/lack of checkpoints
Got quite annoying to restart every time you fell to your death cause you couldnt see

Ratmena says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:19pm

TX for comments really appreciate it, We'll consider all of your Notes. iMer Inspired by Dark Souls :D :D :D :D :D :D

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:12pm

That games is amazing.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:13pm

The controls are not very good. One game design tip, would be to put the camera a little bit forward from the player, so you could the level better. But nice use of the theme and good graphics.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:20pm

Great game, hard controlling

mightymarcus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:27pm

Very nice.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:59pm

Nice graphics and music, great job!

RyanMan56 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:18pm

Really fun game! Perfect soundtrack choice and challenging but fair controls!

KodingNights says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:51pm

I could not unpack this game, is the zip file packed correctly? I've downloaded and tried to unpack it 3 times now...

Javabot says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:01pm

Bloody love this game, bloody hate the slippery floors!

varuns says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Good visuals and soundtrack :D

11Schotter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:21am

GREAT audio design, and GREAT graphics, too.
I really like the idea of an intro that explain the controls AND tell a funny story. But the controls are pretty hard to learn - it´s pretty difficult to reach the first goal.

RetroSpecter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:20am

This game really fit with the theme and it was pretty fun to play. The game was pretty straightforward and easy to understand. Nice job!

Adipson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:22am

nice soundtrack of theratfat ! yes ! and original graphics ! thanks ! good job

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:42am

Cool music and graphics and very difficult! Nice story

goost says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Nice, good thing that there is only one ability per shape and even has a small story. Adds a lot.
Also, great graphics.

Pecolyte says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:32pm

Once get used of the controlling, its much easier.
But it takes some time to get used of it.
And I like the art style, though.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:15pm

The soundtrack is really nice but doesn't fit that well in the game.
Really nice graphics though!

Clever mechanic where you have to pick up speed as the ball then change to the cube!

Overall - awesome but a little too hard!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:44pm

The soundtrack is amazing. I left the game running for a while just to listen. The controls are hard to get a hang of. It took me a while to figure how to combine them and move around.

apalade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Cool graphics, nice story but the mechanics need more work. It's really hard to control and kinda frustrating that you can only jump up and then have to switch.

Small UI tip: When you put a sequence of Next, Next, Next buttons, like you do in the introduction, don't put the "Exit" button in (almost) the same place on the last screen.

Really cool to see a story though. I haven't seen many games with a story in the Ludum.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:55pm

It reminds me a bit of Little big planet :) controls are hard, I spend five good minutes on the first jumps. But with a bit of polishing it should be very good

masterkrepta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:02am

Great game. I think with some tweaking to the controls this would be perfect. the movement does take some getting used to but once you get the hang of it i really go into it.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:47am

Nice concept, changing mid-jump totally threw me for a loop at first!

amras0000 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:53am

The texture work here is really impressive. Solid effort there. Unfortunately the gameplay doesn't really match that quality. The sphere movement is waaaay too sensitive, and I can't tap my way along because taps don't actually move the sphere. The early levels have far too much empty space on top of that, which means that half the time I'm barelling through the level until I fall right into an obstacle and have to restart.
I will say, having the player shift shapes to jump or attack does make for some really interesting platforming dynamics. If the controls were tighter I think I'd enjoy that much more, but the concept is pretty solid.

ohmaigawd says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:00am

I loved the graphics, especialy the intro. I got a bit confused with the controls :)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:43pm

Nice soundtrack!

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:01pm

great intro, great graphics, a bit hard to jump (maybe more inerty?)

AnaGF says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Idea is good, and graphic style is pretty. However it is hard to control. But nice work.

Patomkin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:01pm

Ooh, really dig the art style. Yet it is very difficult to quickly switch mid-air to move or mid-run to jump :/

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:31pm

The visuals are great!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Awesome Game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:43pm

The controls are hard to get used to but I think in a good way. I started to get the hang of it. Really nice game!

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Liked the parts of the graphics that had the cardboard look a lot!

JiiHoo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:46pm

I was having some trouble with the controls, perhaps the shapeshifting controls could be like j,k and l. Current controls are asking too many inputs from my left hand. But a nice looking game, and a good execution of the theme.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:24pm

The art, music, and idea are really nice, but the controls are just too frustrating (specifically jumping). I'm not sure how to improve them exactly, but maybe keeping more inertia when switching from circle to square.

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:44am

Not enough view. Too small time to react. But idea nice. Good luck with game!

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:16am

Nice game! Controls a bit difficult to master which is great. Challenging.

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:33am

Nice Game:)

djfariel says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:52am

The controls we're pretty frustrating. Having to move your fingers off the movement keys to shift was pretty inefficient.
It's a shame, because it seems like a pretty well done game.

kikishniki says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:27pm

Thanks for comments. djfariel You don't have to move your fingers off the movement key for shift.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:18pm

I've seen similar games like these this jam using shapes to determine platforming physics but this one stands out with its simple, silly narrative and intriguing cardboard world.

blaclegi says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Really good job! The graphics and concept where really good, although sometimes it was a bit difficult to change shapes really quickly, but apart from that, well done!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:13am

Pretty fun and interesting concept (loved the use of the intro screens to explain what each shape can do) although the key mapping for swapping shapes felt a bit awkward when using ASD to move.

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:54am

Cool story and amazing artwork

davidB says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:02pm

I love the GFX and the intro, but very hard to play on keyboard (espially azerty, including with qwerty remap), maybe gamepad support for a post-compo.

derr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:07pm

Great quality entry! It's a bit tricky to get the jumping down but once you got that mastered, it's fun to blast through the halls and walls. :)

drazil100 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:33pm

I like your cardboard!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]