Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Golden Fold

by Ibzy - Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare, and shared a weekend with kitchen painting - please be gentle, its my first time.

The Golden Fold follows an origami fox collecting paper folds to unlock the ability to transform into other animals.

Use each animals special skill set to collect all the folds, then combine the skills to collect the three Golden Folds to become the mystical Golden Crane.

Controls:
Fox - A and S to move, Space to Jump
Fish - WASD to move (water only)
Elephant - A and S to move, no jump (too heavy!)
Crane - WASD to move
Click unlocked shape to transform.


***Update***
I have just uploaded a new version to fix 2 minor bugs pointed out by you kind people. The camera now shows area in front and moves a little quicker, and you can no longer shapeshift before unlocking the animal.


**Porting**
If anybody wants to play this but cant because they're not on Windows please let me know and I'll try to create Mac/Linux builds. As I don't use Mac ot Linux I will be unable to test them I'm afraid.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#353Graphics3.30
#358Theme3.52
#534Humor2.00
#548Innovation2.97
#627Overall3.03
#655Mood2.62
#783Fun2.61

Comments

ccglp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:58am

The art is one step close to be very well baked, but seems odd. Controls are Ok, but can use some work on the feels. But it seems pretty solid. Nice work!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Managed to get far enough to get one Golden Fold. I definitely like the origami character designs and how each form can be used. Level design looks a bit rushed though.
Great work!

MrMegawatts says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:07pm

looks good!

tanis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:12pm

Controls are a bit odd. The camera could use some work so that it follows you faster and shows more of what's ahead of you instead of lagging behind you.

I like the characters and how you used the shapeshifting. It's indeed an interesting game that could develop into something bigger.
Well done!

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:15pm

This is a great little game, it was really fun to explore although I only found one golden fold. The mood is very relaxing, even in spite of there being no sound. It was a little bit confusing at first because I seemed to be able to switch to the elephant and bird as often as I liked and then I lost the ability and had to go swimming for more folds. The background/terrain textures seem a bit out of focus, you can maybe sort this out as a bugfix? Really enjoyable game though. Origami and shapeshifting is one of the best uses of theme I've seen.

Ibzy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:39pm

Hi goffmog, thanks for pointing out the ability to shift early on - this is a bug which I will shortly fix. I hoped to provide more origami-esque environment graphics but ran out of time.

Thanks for your kind feedback (and everybody else too :) )

jdselsor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:32am

The art is really nice. The only thing is the controls. Good job.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:45am

Interesting idea and the general feel of the game is nicely peaceful seeming, even though there's no sound or music.

The dirt background seems just too blurry or something. Next time try using a hard-edged brush instead of soft. The clouds are nice and crisp, and better fit with the great origami style characters.

Ibzy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:55am

@wg_phancock The dirt backgrounds are blurry due to low dpi. Unfortunately I didn't have time to recreate them as they looked fine in the editor (small window) and I didnt even think to check it live. Try running it at 800x600 haha.

Thanks for playing :)

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:03pm

Wow, for you're first ludum dare it's great!

Couldn't find the 15th star, after walking/ swimming through the map for minutes. :/

The art for the animals are great. The environment art could use a little work though!

Overall, great job and a nice little game!

Hope you had a fun LD experience =)

brainybeard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:49pm

Really awesome concept, works nicely when it changes automatically, feels smooth. Origami characters are really cool too! Nice entry.

Ibzy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Thanks glaze, I'm glad you like it - I'm sorry you couldn't find the 15th fold, did you find all 5 underwater? I agree about the environment art, I really wish I'd had the time to make it more uniform with the character design :(
LD has been a blast, so hope I better plan the August Dare.

Beard - thanks for the encouraging words, was so nervous uploading this being such a perfectionist it was torture haha.

Allthebees says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Impressive for the amount of time you had to make it! Personally, I got stuck after I reached 11 as I couldn't figure out how to change in to the elephant and all paths were blocked by trees, unsure if it was a bug or not. Other than that it was good, liked the origami animals :)

Ibzy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Thanks allthebees (how many bees?)
You should be able to click on the elephant icon at the bottom once hes unlocked. I guess I should highlight it a bit more maybe?

muraisama says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Great job :)
Origami for the win!!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:05pm

Nice little game. Great job on the level design, I managed to find the 3 golden folds without much struggle yet with enough challenge. Definitely needs some work on the speed of the controls and of the camera. Controls are a bit confusing, it took me a while to figure out that you had to click on the elefant to transform into it. Graphics are amazing despite some blurry terrain textures. Awesome job!

luckyy says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:18pm

The graphics look really cool (especially the fox) but unfortunately it plays way too slowly in my opinion! Still well done :)

nickavv says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:26am

I liked it and think it has a lot of potential. The character graphics are nice, but the animations are pretty crude, and the level artwork definitely doesn't match the quality of the animals. Gameplay is basically good, floor detection for jumping felt a little off sometimes. Nice work overall

Xanjos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:00am

There was one star I wasn't able to get properly but the game itself was pretty interesting to play plus I liked the origami art style.

bigbuggames says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Metroidvania with origami animals, cool concept, good implementation of the theme. The camera doesn't follow quick enough, that's what makes the control seem clumpsy, I think they are solid, it's just the camera making it feel slow. Good entry!

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:00pm

Definitely a fun little platformer, and really good for being your first time :)

The graphics were awesome, one slight problem I had was the terrain. It was very blurry, but there's a way to fix that in Unity. Click on the images in the unity file browser, and change their filter options (in the import dialog) to "point" instead of "linear" or whatever it is already. All in all, a fun game :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]